We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NOT AS GOOD AS IT USED TO BE”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Garlic Clove Restaurant - CLOSED

Garlic Clove Restaurant
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Award-winning French cuisine, stunning water views and colourful European architecture, complete with private function room, the Garlic Clove is a family friendly dining experience open 7 days for lunch, dinner, weddings and functions.Awards:* 2012 – Finalist Best European Restaurant* 2009 – Winner Best European Restaurant* 2009 – Finalist Best Family Restaurant* 2009 – Finalist People’s Choice Award* 2008 – Finalist Best European Restaurant* 2006 – Finalist People’s Choice Award for Excellence* 2005 – Finalist Best European Restaurant* 2005 – Winner Best European Restaurant* 2002 – Finalist Best Family Restaurant* 2000 – Finalist Best BYO Restaurant* 1999 – Winner Best BYO Restaurant
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“NOT AS GOOD AS IT USED TO BE”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

We used to frequent the Garlic Clove regularly but after the last two experiences I don't think we will be going back. The food is just average but the service is atrocious and the staff don't seem to care at all. It took over 45 minutes for our entrees to arrive and trying to attract a waiter's attention to top up our wine was almost impossible. We kept topping it up ourselves. Pity as this was a great little restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FASTPETE328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarlicClove, Manager at Garlic Clove Restaurant, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Pete,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we really appreciate your time and feedback.

As a standard all entrees are served to the table within 15-20 minutes of ordering, we would very much like the opportunity to look into this for you. We pride ourselves on providing enjoyable dining experiences with excellent food and service. If your service was not up the high standards you have come to expect as a repeat diner of the Garlic Clove, please contact us so we can look into the staff who interacted with your table and use the outcome to improve our policies and training where required.

Once again thank you for taking the time to provide feedback, please don't hesitate to contact us if you would like to discuss your dining experience further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    19
    16
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
234 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“The best Lamb Shanks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

I travelled from the west to surprise a friend for her birthday and her husband booked us in to this restaurant along with 5 of her closest friends and family.
I along with the others were not dissapointed. The service was very good and the meals were just beautifully presented and tasted divine, I would have to say that this is the best Lamb Shanks I have ever had, the meat just fell from the bone.
Could not fault this restaurant and if we went back to teh Gold Coast, would definately go back here for sure.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FordyPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarlicClove, Manager at Garlic Clove Restaurant, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear FordyPerth,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review, we are so glad you enjoyed your dining experience and our tender lamb shanks, and look forward to having you return to the Garlic Clove again soon! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arundel, Queensland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A shocker!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

This was the worst experience I have had at any restaurant in Australia, the food and service was a huge disappointment. It was a farewell celebration for a colleague and was meant to be a special occasion, there were 11 of us and after arriving at 12, then ordering, our entrees were not served for almost 2 hours. When it arrived, the dishes were bland and presented without any flair at all. There were no apologies from staff on the delays or any offer to discount this horrible experience until it was highlighted. This is a restaurant that cannot handle a small group booking and its menu is a failure, we could NOT RECOMMEND for a dining experience at all - it is an embarrassment to the GC.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer59_31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarlicClove, Manager at Garlic Clove Restaurant, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Jennifer,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we really appreciate feedback and pride ourselves on providing enjoyable dining experiences with excellent food and service.

We find it very hard to comprehend your entrees taking two hours to arrive to the table, as a standard all entrees are served to the table within 15-20 minutes of ordering, we would very much like the opportunity to look into this for you. Please contact us with the date and time of your visit, and we can cross reference your comments with our video cameras.

Our traditional French menu has been a hallmark of the Garlic Clove for 15 years with continued success with new and repeat clientele, with our Chef's Suggestions changing daily and providing varied meals with the best seasonal ingredients to enjoy. If you have a suggestion to improve our menu we would love to hear your feedback on how we can provide a better experience for you.

Once again thank you for taking the time to provide feedback and if you would like to discuss your dining experience further please don't hesitate to email or phone us at Garlic Clove Restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“French Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Fantastic fare, dished up by fanatic management. Always gr8 service, good food & good wine list. These people know how to deliver. Overlooking Emerald Lakes. Gr8 place to be!!!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarlicClove, Manager at Garlic Clove Restaurant, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Mark,

Thank you so much for the fantastic review and for your patronage, we really appreciate it. We're so glad you enjoy dining with us and look forward to having you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Dinner is better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

We go here quite a lot for dinner but when last mothers day for lunch and it was wonderful. Today went for lunch and it was just ok. My steak was well done when I asked for rare and they are right - the good chefs are on for dinner and special lunches but the food at these times was wonderful. Don't think we would go back for just lunch but we will for dinner!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joshtherock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarlicClove, Manager at Garlic Clove Restaurant, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Josh,

Thanks very much for your feedback, we will certainly look into this. Glad you enjoyed your dining experience on mothers day Josh, and apologise if your steak was over cooked on an occasion. Please advise our friendly wait staff straight away in the instance that you are not 100% satisfied with your meal and we will happily provide a replacement for you.

Look forward to having you dine with us at the Garlic Clove Restaurant again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garlic Clove Restaurant also viewed

 
Paradise Point, Gold Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing