We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful beach”
Review of Currumbin Beach

Currumbin Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$120.27*
and up
Currumbin Valley and Coastal Scenic Helicopter Flight from the Gold Coast
More Info
$241.35*
and up
Gold Coast Scenic Helicopter Experience
More Info
$221.98*
and up
Full-Day Small-Group Byron Bay and Crystal Castle Day Tour from Brisbane
Ranked #48 of 234 things to do in Gold Coast
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Just beautiful here with nice sand and turquoise sea color! Nice place for surfing and relaxing as its not crowded at all!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jullie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    31
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lunch out”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We took the bus down to Currumbin for lunch & a walk on the beach. What an amazing view down the coast in both directions. The food was nice too

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“God I wish I was back there now”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Just south of Surfers Paradise is Currumbin Beach. There is a rocky headland and on one side its sheltered on the other is open to the ocean. Bathing is allowed on the sheltered side, where the Lifeguards are based and honestly I can't recommend the place highly enough.

There is lots of free parking as well a sheltered BBQ area. Toilets are across the coast road from the carparks. Interestingly there was also a guy with a small truck renting surfboards out to anyone that wanted one. It wasn't very expensive and as my daughter who is 11 years old wanted to have a try we hired one and took it for paddle. First time I had had a go and its harder then you might think. The experts make it look so simple paddling out to catch the next wave, but I can assure you that its knackering. The guy who was renting them out was locally based and could not have been both nicer and trusting. He was just leaving for the afternoon but as he could see that my daughter really wanted to have a go, he suggested that he would let us have the board and we could then drop it back to his shop. No deposit, just trust which is a welcome attitude in these times.

The sheltered side of the headland is perfect for kids and when the tide is out, rock pools appear and whose kids don't like spending hours investigating these? Its a perfect place to sunbathe and bring a picnic. Keep in mind that there is a reasonable tide so if you sit near the water when its out, you will have to move at some point.

The other side of the headland, the "open" to the elements side, is a complete contrast but just as amazing. We went here a few times and each time it was pretty windy. The beach is wide and the sea was rough but it was still one of the most gorgeous beaches that I have seen....anywhere. I would though suggest you don't go for a swim on this side unless your either an Olympic swimmer or you don't mind landing up in NSW 30 miles away, if your lucky.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rinkydinkpinkpanther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamborine Mountain, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
614 reviews
279 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
“Spectacular views”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

A really nice beach to visit, the surf club and other venues offer meals but its just as nice to take a picnic lunch, be early to get a good spot though.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gaile1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Currumbin Surf Club breakfast delicious”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We went as a group with a small child, everyone said their breakfast was very tasty except one who was disappointed with the omelet. I have been there a few time for breakfast, lunch & dinner and have not been disappointed. The outlook over the surf & beach is wonderful & very relaxing.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank susi61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Currumbin Beach also viewed

Currumbin, Gold Coast
Tugun, Gold Coast
 
Tallebudgera, Gold Coast
 

Been to Currumbin Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing