We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Fox and Hound

Fox and Hound
Ranked #921 of 2,582 Restaurants in Gold Coast
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Very nice English style pub: very nice decoration, nice music, good typical English food, at an affordable price.
A nice place to visit, and if it is raining, even better to feel like in England :-)

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bambi1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    27
    16
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Traditionally British”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

What a fabulous place to stumble on after a pleasant drive up and over Mount Tamborine.The Fox and Hounds Country Inn and Restaurant where Her Majesty the Queen,complete with a uniformed Buckingham Palace guard greeted us as we approached the quaint white building with a red phone box outside. Inside the British pub brought over from the UK brick by brick you'll find artifacts, humour, good service and good food and British beers. Above the door it says: Humour, wealth and fame may desert us, but thirst is eternal. Mine certainly was that hot Sunday afternoon when I came across it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Brilliant... And the beer!!! Wow!!”
Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

You HAVE to try the ginger beer. I'm usually not a fan, but a friend told me to try his and I think it may just be the best drink I have ever had. We were introduced to the restaurant by close friends, and then took my father and partner up there a couple of months later as they had completed a trip around England the year before and we thought it would be a cute surprise. We loved both visits, and they loved it too, if you take the time to appreciate the decor and tiny touches, you will really enjoy this little hidden gem. We will be returning very soon!

Helpful?
3 Thank Carrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolum Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Group Event”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I organised a themed dinner here with a large group where we had the entire venue. The restaurant was very accommodating to our needs and everyone had a great time.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Erin4573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An authentic touch of Britian at Tamborine”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We are currently staying at Tamborine and were recommended to try this little British Gem. With some friends down from Brisbane and very keen English pub advocates we headed in for a Sunday lunch with a British flair. The diamond jubilee in full celebrations with many decorations celebrating this event. However, this only added to the many other decorative and fun items of
interest.

The service was very friendly and welcoming. Our lunch was a true reflection of its heritage. Delicious ! Try the beef and Guinness pie!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank swagmen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fox and Hound also viewed

 
North Tamborine, Tamborine Mountain
North Tamborine, Tamborine Mountain
 
North Tamborine, Tamborine Mountain
 

Been to Fox and Hound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing