We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for 1 night”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Harbour City Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harbour City Motel
Ranked #20 of 24 Hotels in Gladstone
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect for 1 night”
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

It's a simple place but very friendly. Free wifi. Got a discount upon arrival wich was nice. The room was quite big and the bathroom was it up date. Clean as well and travelers amenities as toothbrush, sewingkit, razor etc were all in place. The reception guy was nice enough and gave good advice in where to eat and drink. Didn't really like Gladstone though. More a place to travel through and than to travel to.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TripTripTrip333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    8
    6
    4
    8
See reviews for
4
14
1
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I stayed in an executive deluxe room, except there was nothing executive or deluxe about it. When I had a shower the pipes were so loud I thought they were going to explode, neighbouring rooms complained to reception about the noise and I was told a plumber was going to be organised for the next day. That never happened.
There was hair in my shower when I arrived, the toiletries were not restocked, I had to ask for more shower gel and sanitary bags. The bin in the bathroom wasn't emptied, so my sanitary bags piled up. The bed wasn't made properly each day.
Food was tolerable but better options elsewhere. Internet was shoddy, sometimes connected ok, other times not at all. Beds are quite hard and pillows too soft, I had a sore neck after the second night. Location Ok.
I had to stay here as work paid but I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yamharas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gladstone hotels

Biloela, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We were very happy with our stay at this motel. The room was lovely and big with modern furnishings. Shower was great and bed was comfortable. The rate we received for the room was very reasonable. We will return to this motel when we need to stay in Gladstone again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sskj5bw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Recently spent three nights at this motel. Accommodation is expensive in Gladstone and you don't get what you pay for; that's just how it is. This motel is perfectly adequate. I had a family room which was spacious and also had a spa bath. Complimentary bottled water and toiletries were provided. The room had a small bar fridge, tea/coffee amenities with separate sink and toaster and cutlery was provided. The decor is dated and the room was quite dark but I wasn't there to spend all day in the room. There is a restaurant attached to the motel however I did not eat there. The motel is close to all amenities (albeit there's not a lot of amenities in this town). My only criticism was that there were a lot of ants in the bathroom.

Room Tip: Family room was large and had a spa bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CareerGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was a reasonable place to stay - the location is good but I was a bit disappointed with the room. It was quite large but in my opinion the furniture is pretty sad. The foam in the chairs has gone flat, no mini bar,horrible shower. I would not rate this 4 stars by any means but if they spent some money modernising the rooms it could possibly deserve its current rate. It seems that this hotel is mainly used by miners whom are very noisy especially early morning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank imanaussie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We arrived in Gladstone after being cut off by the floods when heading north, so had to stay in this town. Unfortunately, due to the mining boom, accomodation is very overpriced. We noted this was one of the town's 'budget' options at 160AUD a night, so decided to give it a go. We had also noted previous poor Tripadvisor reviews of the place. On arrival we parked up and could see the door to one of the rooms was open and it looks tired and dingy inside.

We arrived at reception and asked them if we could see a room before booking. We were told "It's not hotel policy to show guests the room before they stay in it", as "it might dirty the carpet and the rooms aren't inspected before guests stay". She then advised if we wanted the room we would need to pay right now. Presumably if you then say you don't like it, there is no refund.

I have stayed in 5AUD a night rooms in Asia and the proprietors there have enough pride in their rooms to show them to guests before they stay. I have never heard of such a policy before anywhere. I can only assume the rooms are as bad as receptions attitude. For 160AUD a night, you would expect this most basic element of service.

We decided to give the place a miss. On leaving the rude receptionist said in a sarcastic voice "Good luck finding somewhere else".

Well we did find somewhere else - Harbour Sails Motor Inn. This place is slightly more expensive, but with normal people at reception and reasonable standard of accomodation. Hopefully others will choose to try their luck and find somewhere better that this. We did.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AmazingSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

This was booked for an overnight stay and for $165 included free wifi, comfortable room with modern bathroom and CBD location. As it is only for the one night, you can overlook the unfriendly (confrontational) lady on reception and dwell on the positives already mentioned.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Brissiegurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gladstone hotels
0.1 mi away
Oaks Grand Gladstone
Oaks Grand Gladstone
#1 of 24 in Gladstone
247 reviews
0.2 mi away
Metro Hotel & Apartments Gladstone
0.1 mi away
Rydges Gladstone Hotel
Rydges Gladstone Hotel
#14 of 24 in Gladstone
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Harbour Lodge Motel
Harbour Lodge Motel
#12 of 24 in Gladstone
23 reviews
0.3 mi away
Siesta Villa Motor Inn
Siesta Villa Motor Inn
#11 of 24 in Gladstone
21 reviews
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Rusty's
Econo Lodge Rusty's
#7 of 24 in Gladstone
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour City Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour City Motel

Property: Harbour City Motel
Address: 20 - 24 William St, Gladstone, Queensland 4680, Australia (Formerly Harbour City Motel)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gladstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 24 Hotels in Gladstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbour City Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Harbour City Motel you can enjoy free Wifi and Foxtel in our standard, family and spa rooms. Our motel is situated just around the corner from the city centre with an easy walk to numerous eateries. We offer room service breakfast and packed lunches seven days a week. All rooms are air conditioned with a refrigerator, electric jug, telephone, flat screened tv, clock/radio and iron. The ensuite bathroom has a shower, hairdryer and toiletries. Free parking in front of your room for easy unloading from your car. Our seasonal outdoor pool is available for a cool dip after a long drive. Refreshments are available to purchase at reception or you can sit down at Treasures Bar and enjoy a cold drink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Harbour City Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing