We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No frills but comfortable”
Review of Harbour City Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harbour City Motel
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Gladstone
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Recently spent three nights at this motel. Accommodation is expensive in Gladstone and you don't get what you pay for; that's just how it is. This motel is perfectly adequate. I had a family room which was spacious and also had a spa bath. Complimentary bottled water and toiletries were provided. The room had a small bar fridge, tea/coffee amenities with separate sink and toaster and cutlery was provided. The decor is dated and the room was quite dark but I wasn't there to spend all day in the room. There is a restaurant attached to the motel however I did not eat there. The motel is close to all amenities (albeit there's not a lot of amenities in this town). My only criticism was that there were a lot of ants in the bathroom.

Room Tip: Family room was large and had a spa bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CareerGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 39 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was a reasonable place to stay - the location is good but I was a bit disappointed with the room. It was quite large but in my opinion the furniture is pretty sad. The foam in the chairs has gone flat, no mini bar,horrible shower. I would not rate this 4 stars by any means but if they spent some money modernising the rooms it could possibly deserve its current rate. It seems that this hotel is mainly used by miners whom are very noisy especially early morning.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank imanaussie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We arrived in Gladstone after being cut off by the floods when heading north, so had to stay in this town. Unfortunately, due to the mining boom, accomodation is very overpriced. We noted this was one of the town's 'budget' options at 160AUD a night, so decided to give it a go. We had also noted previous poor Tripadvisor reviews of the place. On arrival we parked up and could see the door to one of the rooms was open and it looks tired and dingy inside.

We arrived at reception and asked them if we could see a room before booking. We were told "It's not hotel policy to show guests the room before they stay in it", as "it might dirty the carpet and the rooms aren't inspected before guests stay". She then advised if we wanted the room we would need to pay right now. Presumably if you then say you don't like it, there is no refund.

I have stayed in 5AUD a night rooms in Asia and the proprietors there have enough pride in their rooms to show them to guests before they stay. I have never heard of such a policy before anywhere. I can only assume the rooms are as bad as receptions attitude. For 160AUD a night, you would expect this most basic element of service.

We decided to give the place a miss. On leaving the rude receptionist said in a sarcastic voice "Good luck finding somewhere else".

Well we did find somewhere else - Harbour Sails Motor Inn. This place is slightly more expensive, but with normal people at reception and reasonable standard of accomodation. Hopefully others will choose to try their luck and find somewhere better that this. We did.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank AmazingSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

This was booked for an overnight stay and for $165 included free wifi, comfortable room with modern bathroom and CBD location. As it is only for the one night, you can overlook the unfriendly (confrontational) lady on reception and dwell on the positives already mentioned.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
3  Thank Brissiegurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed here as a stop over before heading out to Heron Island. Staff were wonderful! Very helpful and gave great advice and tips. (as we arrived on a Sunday afternoon, all the local shops were shut but they suggested a lovely walk to the marina, which we enjoyed.)
Clean rooms, comfy bed. Would have preferred the air con to be on before we got there but it cooled down quickly enough.
Also had a nice dinner across the road at Queens.
Breakfast in the restaurant was satisfactory. Lovely decor.
Overall, a well priced stopover. Staff were wonderful!! Thanks.

Room Tip: Room 15 was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MW162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

I stayed in this hotel as a stop over for traveling to and from Heron Island. I arrived around 3pm and was provided a key to a room - upon entry found it was not cleaned, was given another key and again, that room was not clean, finally the 3rd key appeared to be a clean room. However, there was a used soap, trash in trash can and a wet towel in the small frig that was not cold. I was tired of dragging my suitcase from room to room so just accepted this one. The room was very hot and it took several hours before it would cool down. The frig needed to be turned on as well. We were so hot we could not stay in the room so we stuffed some cardboard in the room key slot so the airconditioner would continue to work while we went out for a walk. The room was very average no frills (except for the frig once it cooled off). We felt like we didn't have much of a choice of rooms in this town due to the lack of hotels - it is a "seller's market". When we returned from Heron Island, we stayed here again and the first room was clean. This hotel was approx. $150 US per night which was overpriced for what we got. Would not stay here again.

Room Tip: all seem to be the same view and layout
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 85Kim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I recently stayed at the Harbour city motel and found the rooms very nice and quite. Had a meal in the restaurant which was very lovely. The staff was very friendly and the managers were very helpful. I would reconmend to anyone to stay and i will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank K j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gladstone hotels
0.1 mi away
Oaks Grand Gladstone
Oaks Grand Gladstone
#1 of 22 in Gladstone
304 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mercure Gladstone
Mercure Gladstone
#2 of 22 in Gladstone
288 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rydges Gladstone Hotel
Rydges Gladstone Hotel
#13 of 22 in Gladstone
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Metro Hotel & Apartments Gladstone
0.3 mi away
Harbour Sails Motor Inn
Harbour Sails Motor Inn
#7 of 22 in Gladstone
66 reviews
10.2 mi away
Reef Adventureland Motor Inn
Reef Adventureland Motor Inn
#11 of 22 in Gladstone
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour City Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour City Motel

Address: 20 - 24 William St, Gladstone, Queensland 4680, Australia (Formerly Harbour City Motel)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gladstone
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Gladstone
Price Range: $64 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbour City Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Harbour City Motel you can enjoy free Wifi in our standard, family and spa rooms. Our motel is situated just around the corner from the city centre with an easy walk to numerous eateries. We offer room service breakfast and packed lunches seven days a week. All rooms are air conditioned with a refrigerator, electric jug, telephone, flat screened tv, clock/radio and iron. The ensuite bathroom has a shower, hairdryer and toiletries. Free parking in front of your room for easy unloading from your car. Our seasonal outdoor pool is available for a cool dip after a long drive. Refreshments are available to purchase at reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Harbour City Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing