We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely renovated rooms and friendly hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Off The Lane Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 8 Gladstone B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Driving into the B&B I was a bit put off by the surrounding street as it is lined with unattractive houses and light commercial but once I was inside the building I was pleasantly surprised. The B&B is newly renovated with lovely furnishings. Hosts Shirley and Denis were so friendly and welcoming. I was on a work trip and when I arrived Shirley was out on the verandah having a drink with guests and offered me a drink and bought out some nibbles. Up to you if you want to join in or just go to your room. My room and ensuite were tastefully decorated and clean. I have stayed at the Auckland Hill B&B before and although their rooms were larger I preferred staying here as the rooms were cleaner and had nicer furnishings. Breakfast was good too. It is very close to some pubs and restaurants for dinner. I would recommend staying here.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
Thank Yvettesaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (16)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 16 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2013

I arrived in Gladstone on a Sunday evening and this place seemed like a good late option. I highly recommend Off The Lane. Lovely people, great atmosphere, comfortable lounge and bedrooms. Breakfast is delicious and perfect for a tropical morning. I only really review places that I enjoy and this is up there with the best. If you would like something a little different from the standard hotel experience than give this lovely place a try.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

A lovely stay, if too short. Very welcoming, well appointed rooms and an excellent continental breakfast. I couldn't have asked for anything more. The house was well situated for getting around Gladstone.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed overnight on our trip back to Victoria from Heron Island. The host is extremely approachable and very friendly. The house is clean, modern inside. The room and the bed were very comfy and spacious, and the ensuite facilities were great. In the morning we had fresh fruit, yogurt, coffee and toast. The big dog Boof was the highlight for our girl! Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TankArmada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Lovely old home. Close to everything in Gladstone. Very welcoming and comfortable. Off street parking. The room was lovely with timber floors, beautiful ensuite and with French doors on to verandah. Lounges to relax on. Beautiful breakfast included.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petersueturner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We ended up staying at Off the Lane because our flight was cancelled at the last minute and we were stuck in Gladstone. The owner Shelly was away and her delightful sister Fiona and her husband Doc were running things while Shelly was on holiday. Fiona picked us up from the airport (!) because she'd heard cabs were scarce - it was such a sweet thing to do after our nightmare with Virgin. Boof the beautiful bull arab great dane welcomed us when we arrived. The place has a great vibe - it's clean and immaculate and has charm and character (as did its temporary hosts!) - so much more relaxed, homey and lovely than a clinical hotel or motel. Loved our fruit salad/yoghurt breakfast on the balcony. Then Doc offered to drive us BACK to the airport when our booked taxi didn't turn up! We had such a delightful experience staying at Off the Lane, I've never bothered to comment on Tripadvisor before but our stay here was a really positive experience. Thanks Fiona and Doc for going out of your way for us! It was great to meet you both!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJByron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed at 'off the lane' last night. What a great find in Gladstone, We loved the house, great rooms with hot showers and comfy big beds, all spotlessly clean and modern. We had the pleasure of meeting Fiona and Doc, who were taking great care of the place for Shelly in her absence. We had a lovely warm welcome and felt immediately at home. The house is great, wide cool verandahs and sunny aspect with beautiful hanging baskets and squishy lounges on which to relax. Fiona was lovely and we very much enjoyed her company and easy manner. The breakfast was perfect, fresh fruit and yogurt with good coffee and toast, plenty and just right in the heat. We will be back for sure, and hope to meet Shelly too. Thank you Fiona and Doc for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatylouLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gladstone hotels
0.7 mi away
Mercure Gladstone
Mercure Gladstone
#2 of 22 in Gladstone
285 reviews
0.7 mi away
Oaks Grand Gladstone
Oaks Grand Gladstone
#1 of 22 in Gladstone
290 reviews
0.4 mi away
Siesta Villa Motor Inn
Siesta Villa Motor Inn
#9 of 22 in Gladstone
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mid City Motor Inn Gladstone
Mid City Motor Inn Gladstone
#21 of 22 in Gladstone
27 reviews
0.7 mi away
Park View Gladstone
Park View Gladstone
#4 of 22 in Gladstone
52 reviews
9.6 mi away
Reef Adventureland Motor Inn
Reef Adventureland Motor Inn
#11 of 22 in Gladstone
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Off The Lane Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Off The Lane Bed & Breakfast

Address: 51 Off Lane, Gladstone, Queensland 4680, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gladstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Gladstone
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A loverly restored Queenslander,Queen rooms,ensuite, air/con,ceiling fans,tv/dvd,bar fridge,clock radio,free wireless internet rooms open out onto open veranda with fresh fruit salad is served with yogurt, cereal , 4 different kinds of bread ,juice,tea& plunger coffee . Also book & dvd library, loverly loung to relax on the veranda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Off The Lane Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing