We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst Hotel Experience Ever!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Metro Hotel & Apartments Gladstone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Metro Hotel & Apartments Gladstone
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Gladstone
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Worst Hotel Experience Ever!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

I travel alot around the world and was astounded at the condition of this hotel in comparison to what we were charged. We had a suite on the second floor that was filthy.The window ledges were dusty, bathroom tiles mildewed, the gasket on the fridge door was literally black with grime, there were crumbs in the utensil drawers, utensils were dirty, stains on the bedspread, Marks on the walls that easily could be washed off, tops of baseboards dirty and to top it off the patio door would not lock. As we had been driving all day and were to tired to go on, we stayed the night but would never recommend this hotel. I told the front desk about the problems and it was shrugged off. My email to management thanked me for letting them know and as I included pictures they were hard-pressed to deny the facts. They said they would rectify it. Hopefully they did. At $230. a night, I expect at least cleanliness.

Room Tip: My tip to others is if you want a nice, clean room, go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, Manager at Metro Hotel & Apartments Gladstone, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thankyou for your feedback. We are continuously responding to all comments in efforts to improve the property. Recent changes include increased checks of rooms by supervisors, all guest comments are passed onto staff, and staff are regularly reminded to immediately report inadequate or malfunctioning equipment and facilities. It is hoped that this will assist in promoting a better awareness of guests needs and expectations. A bathroom regrouting programme is ongoing. The rates are set relative to the current high demand associated with ithe large scale construction of LNG plants and the port expansion. Once again thankyou. David (Manager).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    24
    11
    1
    5
See reviews for
8
17
3
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

We booked into the Metro because we had a one night stop over in Gladstone before catching the boat to Heron Island. The hotel is conveniently located for that purpose and does have some shops and places to eat within walking distance. When booking, I was shocked at the prices for all of the hotels in Gladstone, I never did figure out why it was so expensive - but we did end up getting this room for a reasonable rate. The front desk staff was lovely - very nice and very helpful. The room was fine, it wasn't fancy - but for one night we really couldn't complain. A tip though - especially for those who are going out to Heron..... things close early in Gladstone. So if you roll in at 5pm and expect to run to the store for wine or to the chemist for something - you will find everything closed. We actually found this in many areas in Queensland - it's just something to keep in mind as you're planning. It was more than adequate though for the purpose and the price.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jennyv526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2011

Don't turn up in Gladstone and expect to find a room, Metro is old, but clean and that is what matters to me when I am away from home. Very friendly staff and manager that makes it easy to stay here. Just remember to book in well ahead. Everything in Gladstone gets booked out due to the mining and gas boom.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

We have been to this hotel several times and were, in the past, fortunate to get an upgraded room. This trip we were placed in one of the old, tired and rather ordinary rooms. The price of the room did not reflect the standard.

Hotels in Gladstone are now at the price level of Sydney. I feel the hotel owners are taking advantage of the local LNG plant construction. Personally, I don't mind paying the money IF I get value for my money. The hotel room we had was NOT worth the money. In addition, the kitchen was missing many basic tools and what was there was of very poor quality.

Fortunately the hotel has a good location and is just down the street from the Library Brasserie, a wonderful new restaurant in Gladstone. In addition, the marina is close by and there are wonderful walking paths in the area.

Next time I will insist on an upgraded room or will go elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shasza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2010

It was a shock. The apartment and its fittings was at least 30 yrs old and that applies to the amount of dust and grime (and possibly mould??) accumulated in the apartment. Some of the appliances provided was very old, the socket on the wall was not working and the unclean kettle did not look usable (frankly, i did not even want to try) and the hair dryer was filthy to touch. I felt very unwell throughout my stay there. The only saving grace is the helpful manager. But then, I never stay in another Metro hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HeloK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gladstone hotels

Calif.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2009

Gladstone is the launching point to get to Heron Island. We didn't spend too much time there. The motel was comfortable and the price was fair. The location was convenient to the airport and the Ferry. I would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank j9calgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2009

stayed for business - it was very average don't think it would be 4 star.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chooseySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gladstone hotels
0.0 mi away
Oaks Grand Gladstone
Oaks Grand Gladstone
#1 of 24 in Gladstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rydges Gladstone Hotel
Rydges Gladstone Hotel
#13 of 24 in Gladstone
3.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mercure Gladstone
Mercure Gladstone
#2 of 24 in Gladstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Barney Beach Accommodation Centre
0.1 mi away
Park View Gladstone
Park View Gladstone
#3 of 24 in Gladstone
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour Sails Motor Inn
Harbour Sails Motor Inn
#9 of 24 in Gladstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Hotel & Apartments Gladstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Hotel & Apartments Gladstone

Property: Metro Hotel & Apartments Gladstone
Address: 22-24 Roseberry St, Gladstone, Queensland 4680, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gladstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Gladstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Metro Hotel & Apartments Gladstone 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Metro Hotel & Apartments Gladstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel Apartments Gladstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing