We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Corporate Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rydges Gladstone Hotel
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Gladstone
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We probably would not have stayed here ordinarily because the rates are usually quite high.However, we took advantage of an Easter special accomodation/breakfast deal and were not disappointed.
This hotel is one of the better ones in Gladstone and is obviously focused on the corporate traveler. Having said that, we felt welcome and everyone was very friendly and helpful.
Location is great and parking is very easy. You have to be quick to get an undercover park though.
I found the restaurant to be a little on the expensive side for what it offered but that goes with the corporate territory I guess. There are other restaurant/hotel choices just outside or within a block or two though.
This was my second time in this hotel and I'll be back again, but only when it is on special.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gazz63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephen r, General Manager at Rydges Gladstone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Thank you for providing us with your feedback regarding your recent stay. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your experience at Rydges Gladstone and are very happy that you enjoyed your stay. I have passed your comments on to our team at the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Regards,
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 205 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2013

The long trek back to Wellington NZ, each year via Gladstone to visit parents. Stayed in Rydges Gladstone ($279AU, 14 day advance rate, regular city room), Intercontinental Hanoi on Westlake, Vietnam ($152 USD/$145AU, club room ie. free booze and food) and Intercontinental Wellington ($261NZ/$209AU, regular room). It's absulutely amazing this rural hotel charges that much for a room when you can stay in a 5 star hotel in capital cities around the world. Management talk about a "dynamic rate" wow, that's dynamic alright! Most of the reviews here comment on it being so expensive for what you get, I should have checked first! They need to start matching their price with the service offering, so guests can justify in their heads the cost charged. I've stayed in more expensive hotels but thought "wow it was expensive but boy was it worth it, right from the moment the conceirge parked the car, bellboy took our luggage, the receptionist had an amazing restaurant recomendation, they helped with our cancelled flight, the room was roomy and spotless, the food service excellent". After our 14 hour long haul, 2 domestics flights from Melbourne, exhausted, the taxi dropped us out the front, no help from anyone with our luggage, went to reception no-one there (we could hear her out the back on the phone), a gruff hurried welcome to Australia. The rooms were OK, fairly modern. Room service in the morning was the routine expensive and cold. You sort of know you're being had, the hotel is trying to make as much money out of companies and guests are coming second. Fair enough if you want to charge 279 for a room which is worth around AU160 but make it up with you service, so people walk away with a happy face. It would be OK to say you're a dynamic local pricer if Gladstone was in a bubble from the rest of the world, but guests are from all over the world and like me are leaving bewildered, thinking "what the heck did I just pay 279 bucks for?"

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SumoDoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephen r, General Manager at Rydges Gladstone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback from your recent stay with us. Receiving feedback allows us to identify key opportunities to increase guest satisfaction. Thank you for commenting on our rooms as we are very happy with the recent refurbishment that took place in October 2012.
I have followed up regarding the room service breakfast being cold and have identified the issues mentioned for follow up at the hotel level.
In regards to our rate, we have dynamic rates that are in ratio to the demand within Gladstone.
Once again, thank you for taking the time to respond.

Regards,
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I have stayed here on many occasions.
It is way overpriced (so is most everything in Gladstone). The rooms are very dated. Bathrooms are pretty average.
Restaurant is redicuously expensive as are drinks.
I have stopped staying here except as a last resort.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephen r, General Manager at Rydges Gladstone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay here at our hotel. We have now completed a full refurbishment of our CBD Restaurant, reception/foyer and hotel rooms.
Our hotel room rates are based on a dynamic rate and are in ratio with the regional accommodation providers along with the current demand in Gladstone. We have also based our restaurant menu on our guest feedback of what style of cuisine they would like and priced it accordingly in line with the food suppliers market.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

paid $200 for our one night stay, whilst the room was refurbish in modern decor the bathroom had been neglected. My is a little taller than avg. and had to duck under the shower rose and couldn't raise his hands above his head in the shower. The facilities are avg also customer service was fine. Next time we will look somewhere else as $200 is ridiculous for what you get (breakfast not incl.)

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rachelcooke11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephen r, General Manager at Rydges Gladstone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Your feedback is greatly appreciated as it allows us to identify issues within our hotel and action or change them. We will look into the height of our shower roses as they are fixed to the wall and see if anything can be done to adjust the height.
Our room rates are dynamic and are based in ratio with the regional accommodation providers along with the current demand in Gladstone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at rydges on our way back to townsville from a holiday at the Gold Coast. At the GC we paid over $800/night for the worst accomm ever! I'm not sure how much our stay was as the rydges because we used out priority points but I would absolutely stay here again. In all my travels I haven't NEVER stayed in a bed so comfortable. I don't care that the rooms maybe a bit on the small size or the restaurant meals are over priced, a good nights sleep on a great bed with plenty of fluffy pillows is all I needed to make any other issues with the accommodation insignificant!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catcoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephen r, General Manager at Rydges Gladstone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Thanks for your feedback it was very appreciative & we are glad you liked our beds.....all our rooms now have the Rydges Dream Beds which are definitely very comfortable and allow for a good nights sleep!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We did a road trip from Port Douglas to Sydney staying at many hotels along the way. Gladstone rydges was one of the most expensive hotels we stayed in and it didn't match up to any of the others we stayed in. Gladstone Rydges is overpriced. the room was minute. I wondered if they actually realised that we had booked in for 4 people as there was only provision for 2. My harbour view was most distressing as it was a view of the city, not a pleasant view by any stretch of the imagination. Ridiculous that we had to use the lift to get anywhere. One lift was not working. Besides that, people should be given the choice of whether or not they want to use stairs or lifts. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone and definitely will not book in to any Rydges hotel in the future

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vlamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephen r, General Manager at Rydges Gladstone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Rydges Gladstone. Your feedback is important as it allows us to provide higher levels of customer service moving forward.
It was a human error on our behalf with the mix up of your room allocation and we do sincerely apologize for any Inconvenience this caused. Unfortunately the booking we received from your booking agent did not state 4 people travelling together.
Due to the nature and set out of the hotel building the only access to the upper level floors is via internal lifts. We do have external stairs mainly used in case of emergency.
Our room rates are dynamic and in ratio with the regional accommodation providers along with current demand in Gladstone. Our internal room refurbishment has been completed along with the CBD restaurant and foyer/reception area.
Your feedback is appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We Recently had our wedding reception at Rydges Gladstone in the International room. We would highly recommend Rydges to any body that is looking for a function room that has a lot of flexibility, excellent view, a lot of space, and best of all staffed by helpful, cheerful people who were happy to be there.
The Sales & Marketing Manager was outstanding in helping in every way to make sure our special night went without a hitch.
The chef were also very accommodating, changing the menu to meet our requests. The food on the night was amazing.
Ourselves and our guests can't get over how great everything went, we are still talking about what a wonderful time we had on the night and how much more special the evening was because of the venue, the staff and the amazing food.

Room Tip: Excellent View of Gladstone
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephen r, General Manager at Rydges Gladstone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Thank you for your feedback pertaining to your wedding held here.....at our weekly food & beverage department brief the following Monday all the team members involved in the servicing of your wedding commented on what a great function it was as well!
I have passed your comments on to all the team including our Sales & Marketing Manager who where all very appreciative of your feed back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gladstone hotels
1.3 mi away
Mercure Gladstone
Mercure Gladstone
#2 of 22 in Gladstone
304 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oaks Grand Gladstone
Oaks Grand Gladstone
#1 of 22 in Gladstone
335 reviews
0.1 mi away
Metro Hotel & Apartments Gladstone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Harbour City Motel
Harbour City Motel
#15 of 22 in Gladstone
39 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour Sails Motor Inn
Harbour Sails Motor Inn
#7 of 22 in Gladstone
68 reviews
10.2 mi away
Reef Adventureland Motor Inn
Reef Adventureland Motor Inn
#17 of 22 in Gladstone
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Gladstone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Gladstone Hotel

Address: City Plaza 100 Goondoon St, Gladstone, Queensland 4680, Australia (Formerly Country Plaza International)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gladstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Gladstone
Price Range: $72 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rydges Gladstone Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rydges Gladstone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Hotel Gladstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing