We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive & very dated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rydges Gladstone Hotel
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Gladstone
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I have stayed here on many occasions.
It is way overpriced (so is most everything in Gladstone). The rooms are very dated. Bathrooms are pretty average.
Restaurant is redicuously expensive as are drinks.
I have stopped staying here except as a last resort.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephen r, General Manager at Rydges Gladstone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay here at our hotel. We have now completed a full refurbishment of our CBD Restaurant, reception/foyer and hotel rooms.
Our hotel room rates are based on a dynamic rate and are in ratio with the regional accommodation providers along with the current demand in Gladstone. We have also based our restaurant menu on our guest feedback of what style of cuisine they would like and priced it accordingly in line with the food suppliers market.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 199 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2013

paid $200 for our one night stay, whilst the room was refurbish in modern decor the bathroom had been neglected. My is a little taller than avg. and had to duck under the shower rose and couldn't raise his hands above his head in the shower. The facilities are avg also customer service was fine. Next time we will look somewhere else as $200 is ridiculous for what you get (breakfast not incl.)

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rachelcooke11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephen r, General Manager at Rydges Gladstone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Your feedback is greatly appreciated as it allows us to identify issues within our hotel and action or change them. We will look into the height of our shower roses as they are fixed to the wall and see if anything can be done to adjust the height.
Our room rates are dynamic and are based in ratio with the regional accommodation providers along with the current demand in Gladstone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at rydges on our way back to townsville from a holiday at the Gold Coast. At the GC we paid over $800/night for the worst accomm ever! I'm not sure how much our stay was as the rydges because we used out priority points but I would absolutely stay here again. In all my travels I haven't NEVER stayed in a bed so comfortable. I don't care that the rooms maybe a bit on the small size or the restaurant meals are over priced, a good nights sleep on a great bed with plenty of fluffy pillows is all I needed to make any other issues with the accommodation insignificant!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catcoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephen r, General Manager at Rydges Gladstone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Thanks for your feedback it was very appreciative & we are glad you liked our beds.....all our rooms now have the Rydges Dream Beds which are definitely very comfortable and allow for a good nights sleep!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We did a road trip from Port Douglas to Sydney staying at many hotels along the way. Gladstone rydges was one of the most expensive hotels we stayed in and it didn't match up to any of the others we stayed in. Gladstone Rydges is overpriced. the room was minute. I wondered if they actually realised that we had booked in for 4 people as there was only provision for 2. My harbour view was most distressing as it was a view of the city, not a pleasant view by any stretch of the imagination. Ridiculous that we had to use the lift to get anywhere. One lift was not working. Besides that, people should be given the choice of whether or not they want to use stairs or lifts. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone and definitely will not book in to any Rydges hotel in the future

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vlamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephen r, General Manager at Rydges Gladstone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Rydges Gladstone. Your feedback is important as it allows us to provide higher levels of customer service moving forward.
It was a human error on our behalf with the mix up of your room allocation and we do sincerely apologize for any Inconvenience this caused. Unfortunately the booking we received from your booking agent did not state 4 people travelling together.
Due to the nature and set out of the hotel building the only access to the upper level floors is via internal lifts. We do have external stairs mainly used in case of emergency.
Our room rates are dynamic and in ratio with the regional accommodation providers along with current demand in Gladstone. Our internal room refurbishment has been completed along with the CBD restaurant and foyer/reception area.
Your feedback is appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We Recently had our wedding reception at Rydges Gladstone in the International room. We would highly recommend Rydges to any body that is looking for a function room that has a lot of flexibility, excellent view, a lot of space, and best of all staffed by helpful, cheerful people who were happy to be there.
The Sales & Marketing Manager was outstanding in helping in every way to make sure our special night went without a hitch.
The chef were also very accommodating, changing the menu to meet our requests. The food on the night was amazing.
Ourselves and our guests can't get over how great everything went, we are still talking about what a wonderful time we had on the night and how much more special the evening was because of the venue, the staff and the amazing food.

Room Tip: Excellent View of Gladstone
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephen r, General Manager at Rydges Gladstone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Thank you for your feedback pertaining to your wedding held here.....at our weekly food & beverage department brief the following Monday all the team members involved in the servicing of your wedding commented on what a great function it was as well!
I have passed your comments on to all the team including our Sales & Marketing Manager who where all very appreciative of your feed back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Whilst I travel to Gladstone on a regular basis in recent times I have tried to avoid staying overnight due to the difficulty and costs in securing accommodation as a result of the current LNG developments going on.
Unfortunately on my last visit I could not avoid an overnight stay and once again stayed at the Rydges which for many years was my hotel of choice in Gladstone.

Their room prices could only be justified on the basis of they are what they are because they can charge what they like and get away with it!!
The rooms are small and whilst they have appeared to have had some "upgrading" the bathrooms are well and truly in need of a revamp as are indeed the public areas of the hotel.
The staff were disinterested at best and the facilities very basic.

As a Rydges Platinum Priority Guest Rewards member I stay at many of their hotels but this is definitely not one of their better offerings and I would avoid staying here in future.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank morobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephen r, General Manager at Rydges Gladstone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Thank you for providing us with feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Rydges Gladstone. Your feedback allows us to ensure that any issues are addressed to ensure we provide high levels of guest satisfaction. I have discussed your concerns regarding our service staff to our Front Office Manager and these issues have now been addressed.
Our room rates are dynamic and in ratio with the regional accommodation providers along with the current demand in Gladstone. Our internal room refurbishments have been completed and our outside terrace areas are in the middle of completion.
Once again, thank you for providing us with your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Gladstone has hotels/motels on every street corner, and is a high-priced accommodation town, but Rydges is ridiculous - the rooms are of minimum size, furnishings are modern, amenities are few, the room phone doesn't work, and for a five-star price they don't even have anyone to assist with luggage - just an (apprentice?) receptionist.
As mentioned, there are plenty of alternatives.

Room Tip: The rooms are all the same and are small but adequate - it's everything else that's missing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melbourneonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephen r, General Manager at Rydges Gladstone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Your feedback is greatly appreciated as it allows us to identify issues within the hotel and enables us to action them to increase guest satisfaction.
Our room rates are dynamic and in ratio with the regional accommodation providers along with the current demand in Gladstone.
Our internal room refurbishment has now been completed in all hotel rooms.
As we are a smaller hotel, we do not offer a porter service, however we have Reception staff that are always willing to assist when they can. Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gladstone hotels
1.3 mi away
Mercure Gladstone
Mercure Gladstone
#2 of 22 in Gladstone
285 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oaks Grand Gladstone
Oaks Grand Gladstone
#1 of 22 in Gladstone
290 reviews
0.1 mi away
Metro Hotel & Apartments Gladstone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Harbour City Motel
Harbour City Motel
#17 of 22 in Gladstone
38 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour Sails Motor Inn
Harbour Sails Motor Inn
#8 of 22 in Gladstone
65 reviews
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Rusty's
Econo Lodge Rusty's
#6 of 22 in Gladstone
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Gladstone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Gladstone Hotel

Address: City Plaza 100 Goondoon St, Gladstone, Queensland 4680, Australia (Formerly Country Plaza International)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gladstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Gladstone
Price Range: $72 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Gladstone Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Rydges Gladstone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Hotel Gladstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing