We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Nights Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rydges Gladstone Hotel
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Gladstone
Gladstone, Australia
1 review
“Great Nights Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed at Rydges Gladstone on the weekend and had a fabulous stay, the staff where extremely friendly and the hotel refurbishment looks outstanding !!!!! We will definately be staying again at Rydges Gladstone....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpencerFamily00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephen r, General Manager at Rydges Gladstone Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Great to hear you had a fabulous stay with us & we are looking forward to your next visit!
We are very proud of our new refurbishments. I have passed your comments onto the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    49
    54
    30
    23
See reviews for
20
46
11
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

The entrance to the hotel is not inspiring, the reception is not much better. It has the feel of a cheap country hotel, barely 3 star. The young lady at reception was unable to give us information about basic things such as where to find out ferry times to the islands, one of the main reasons anyone would stay at Gladstone overnight. There was no attempt to find out or ask anyone else who might know.
The room was fine but the bathroom was....something out of the 70's. This hotel is not worth the money they charge.
The restaurant food is ok for breakfast (coffee not great) but poor for dinner, which was also overpriced. I had a terrible pasta dish with far too much mustard in it and they served my child mash potato made with milk and butter just after I told them he was allergic to dairy. I had asked for chips instead and was told it would be fine to have those instead of the mash potato but was served potato anyway because "that's what comes with vegetables". Right.....let's send him to hospital instead then....
The location is good in that its right in town, altough sadly there was nothing to see or do in town. Its very quiet. Its a short drive to the ferry if you want to get the boat to Herron Island. Its about a 15min walk to major supermarket, noodle shop etc.
Housekeeping was good, brough towels up quickly as there was only 2 towels for 4 guests.
Check out took some time.
Overall quite disappointing.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that has been refurbished, although the bathrooms appear to have stayed the same:(
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissMG28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephen r, General Manager at Rydges Gladstone Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us.
Since your stay we have had a full refurbishment of the CBD restaurant, reception/foyer and hotel rooms. I have also passed on your feedback regarding the helpful housekeeping staff who assisted you during your stay. I have also discussed the dining issues you have explained in your feedback with the food & beverage staff within the hotel to ensure this does not happen again. Once again, thank you for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gladstone hotels

Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

Very odd service maybe I arrived at a bad time. Internet connection was very slow and could not work with it. When I questioned the $18 charge they told me well that's it nothing we can do and they would not refund anything . Well luckily I have a choice and will stay someplace else next trip. Maybe if you require Internet to work find another place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wantbetterservice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephen r, General Manager at Rydges Gladstone Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Rydges Gladstone.
We have recently had wi-fi internet connected throughout the hotel and studio apartments. This has greatly assisted with the speed and connectivity.
Our hotel has also gone through an extensive refurbishment including the restaurant, hotel rooms and foyer/reception areas. Once again, thank you for your feedback as this enables us to identify potential issues and use the information to improve guest satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
511 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 558 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stopped here for a couple of nights for a work related visit to Gladstone. I was in a studio over the road from the main hotel.
The bed was comfy and clean, bathroom could do with sprucing up a little really.
Elsewhere you would expect a lot more for you money but with the high prices here, I guess it’s all about supply and demand!
Some of the hotel looks to be in the process of a refurb, hopefully this will extend to the rooms too.
Only had breakfast once and while there wasn’t a massive choice what there was was tasty and covered the usual hot and cold options.
Would stop here again with work, but not somewhere I’d take the wife!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yorkie_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephen r, General Manager at Rydges Gladstone Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Rydges Gladstone. We value all feedback as it gives us the opportunity to identify potential issues and allow us to increase guest satisfaction immediately and in the future.
Our refurbishment of the restaurant, foyer/reception and hotel rooms has just been completed. Thank you for mentioning our Rydges dreambeds, they ensure a very comfortable nights sleep so you can get a good start to the day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

The breakfast was absolutely disgusting it was cold and a very small meal, we weren't even given any salt to cover up the taste of the food, very very big let done for gladstone rydges. The air-conditioning didn't even work, now shouldn't these things be checked on a regular basis? So basically me and my other half paid $300 for the spa bath in our room

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marky_Sammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephen r, General Manager at Rydges Gladstone Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay with us. It is important to receive feedback that ensures we can make the relevant improvements to increase customer satisfaction in the future.
Our usual standard within our food and beverage department was noticeably not met during your visit....this has been addressed with both the F&B Manager and our Executive Chef to ensure these standards are kept.
Our hotel has recently had a refurbishment completed of our restaurant, foyer/reception and hotel rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Whilst I appreciate that Gladstone's LNG Boom causes Accommodation prices to rise, it is nevertheless worth to note now and then that this Hotel is overpriced. The Service was excellent but the rooms require a refurbishment in order to justify the room rate. We stayed just overnight on our way from Mackay to Brisbane and booked a Chain Hotel and were happy to pay a bit more to ensure we have a comfortable bed. We did not had any food but I can recomend the little Breakfast Cafe directly in front of the door..

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephen r, General Manager at Rydges Gladstone Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for your feedback of you stay at Rydges Gladstone. We have recently had a refurbishment completed of our restaurant, foyer/reception and hotel rooms. Thank you for acknowledging our comfortable dream beds, a peaceful nights sleep makes a huge difference to your day! Our room rates are dynamic and in ratio with the regional accommodation providers along with the current demand in Gladstone. Once again thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back should you make another visit to Gladstone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockhampton
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

we stay here quite often, just as a weekend getaway. its definitely gotten better quality over the years. We are quite happy when they improved all their mattresses (listen to this all other hotels), the mattresses are actually comfortable, they didn't go with the cheapest like most hotels seem to. My only gripe is how expensive its gotten, c'mon its Gladstone, not Sydney, where its actually cheaper there.

Room Tip: spa room is great, tv in bathroom. don't get the bottom floor rooms, as they haven't been u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheree h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephen r, General Manager at Rydges Gladstone Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thanks for your comments in regards to our Rydges Dream Beds....better quality does assist with a good nights sleep!
Our room rates are dynamic and in ratio with the regional accommodation providers along with the current demand within Gladstone, we also offer discounted packages over the weekends for our leisure market clients.
Our internal room refurbs have now been completed on all levels of the hotel and our restaurant refurb is nearing completion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gladstone hotels
0.1 mi away
Oaks Grand Gladstone
Oaks Grand Gladstone
#1 of 24 in Gladstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.1 mi away
Metro Hotel & Apartments Gladstone
1.3 mi away
Mercure Gladstone
Mercure Gladstone
#2 of 24 in Gladstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Barney Beach Accommodation Centre
0.2 mi away
Park View Gladstone
Park View Gladstone
#3 of 24 in Gladstone
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour Sails Motor Inn
Harbour Sails Motor Inn
#10 of 24 in Gladstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Gladstone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Gladstone Hotel

Property: Rydges Gladstone Hotel
Address: City Plaza 100 Goondoon St, Gladstone, Queensland 4680, Australia (Formerly Country Plaza International)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gladstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Gladstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Gladstone Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Gladstone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Hotel Gladstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing