We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well presented rooms and friendly helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Toolooa Gardens Motel and Apartments
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Gladstone
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Well presented rooms and friendly helpful staff”
Reviewed May 24, 2012

I was most impressed when I recently stayed with my grandaughter at Toolooa Gardens. Last year I booked my daughter and grandaughter for a 2 night stay into one of the apartments and because she was extremely happy I made the decision to give it a try. It is not always easy to find accommodation in Gladstone, particularly accommodation that is well priced. Our room was spacious and well set out with a queen bed on one side and a large single on the other. There was a comfortable sofa and lounge chair, a microwave, small fridge, toaster, kettle and crockery & cutlery and plenty of bench space which is quite often lacking in hotels and motels. There was also an iron and ironing board and a large wardrobe for guests having an extended stay and who want to unpack their suitcase. The TV could be viewed from both bed positions. My grandaughter took lots of activity items and even when these were strewn on the floor there was still plenty of room to move around them. There is a BBQ for guests to use. The grounds are lovely.
The bathroom was old and definately in need of updating but is was clean and complimentary toiletries were provided so I would not really call this a negative. The fan over my bed did not work and because I do not like airconditioning I found this annoying.
On one morning I was woken up very early by the sound of vehicles leaving the premises and a petrol tanker filling the tanks at the petrol station accross the road. There would be few accommodation facilities in Gladstone these days that do not have workmen with trucks and utes staying at them and who leave for work early - not much that can be done about this situation unfortunately.
The room was nicely decorated and modern. It was also very clean. All staff were extremely helpful and friendly.
I will definately stay here again and recommend it to others.
P.S. My sister booked into a very well known hotel chain and paid much more and received a lot less. She too will now be staying at Toolooa Gardens.

Room Tip: Ask for a room further away from the car park and road. It is hard to find budget accommodation in G...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank noelmaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    32
    13
    7
    7
See reviews for
43
25
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

I have recently stayed at Toolooa Gardens Motel & Apartments and was very pleased with my room allocation. I think it might be a case of you get what you pay for. My bedroom was the one displayed on the trip advisor. Overall, the accommodation was excellent and the gardenswere beautiful. I stayed in a two bedroom apartment where the patio overlooks the
pool area. The apartment was upstairs & and downstairs and very
spacious. Huge patios, plus kitchenette, lounge area and a washing machine
Thank you Toolooa Gardens I will be coming again.

A very happy customer

Alice Macdonald

Room Tip: Choose the 1 or 2 Bedroom Apartment as they are the rooms featured on the website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

This place is foul. So old fashioned and so expensive. Looks like it hasn't been updated since the '60s. Just painted brick walls, pokey little shower with broken soap dish, a/c leaked onto old carpet, the whole place just very depressing. Came ome covered in bites........bed bugs anyone??! Agree with previous reviewers way over priced, DO NOT STAY HERE.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank shivsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2011

We booked a two bedroom unit at toolooa on a family trip at our gladstone stopover. Was only booked as there weren't any other options with rooms for four people in gladstone at such short notice. The place itself was very nice; two large bedrooms upstairs with a bathroom, and kitchen/living room downstairs. Very clean and large. However, for the price paid you might expect something grander. In addition, you were required to wash and dry and utensils used yourself before checking out. Location is okay, not really central Gladstone but not too far to go. Overall it was above adequate but next time I might try something else for less.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fraussie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2011

What else can I say other than peaceful, chic, polished and boutique. My partner and I enjoyed every aspect of Toolooa Gardens. We had a luxurious spa suite that was fitted out with air con flat screen tv tea coffee kitchenettes good quality beds and was set in private leafy surrounds and a complimentary brekky ... The staff were so friendly and this hotel truly is a luxury home away from home with a relaxed welcoming charm u do not get with large hotel chains! Def would go back again so much - Jodie and Mark

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Woodsy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Have stayed at this property on a few occasions and have found the accommodation to be clean, and well presented. The villas are 2 bedroom and do not have the televisions in the bedrooms, but situated in the lounge living area. The villas also have small balconies and are surrounded by garden areas. They are fully airconditioned and accommodated the four of us quite comfortably, bedding configuration was 1 queen bed and 2 single beds. There is a small kitchenette and dining table and sofa lounge. The villas were given a general tidy by the cleaning staff on a daily basis except for Sundays, but that wasn't a problem. Coffee/tea and biscuits were provided on a daily basis as well as fresh towels and linen if needed. We stayed for 3 days and would stay again. We paid upfront but that is no different to when you book through Wotif, so I wasn't really concerned about that. The staff were friendly and I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darcee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Rented 3 rooms for a week, rooms were old tiles falling off dirty, black dust grime on the floors, they demanded the $ 3,460.00 up front before we got the keys UNHEARD OF IN ALL MY YEARS OF HOTELS, Rude owners, no tea or coffee in my room, rooms not made up or cleaned during entire week's stay, No meals, No Breakfasts, No Snacks, Uncomfortable beds, Pillows were waifer thin, no power points in seperate bedroom, no TV in seperate bedroom, Prices dearer than the Hilton or Shearton, and the place was a DUMP....DO NOT STAY THERE.

Room Tip: Book ElseWhere...This PLace Is a Dump
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarkZ4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria M, Owner at Toolooa Gardens Motel and Apartments, responded to this review, October 8, 2011
Unfortunately, we find it very difficult to take on board the comments you have made re our property. We pride ourselves in the upkeep of the accommodation and provide a general tidy service for guests daily except for public holidays and Sundays. The general tidy does also include refreshment of tea/coffee and biscuits, fresh towels and linen as required. There is also a Coles Express where guests can purchase any snacks they require. We do not have a restaurant but we do have optional breakfast packs available to our guests for a minimal charge. All of the studio apartments, 1 and 2 bedroom apartments have kitchenettes allowing guests to cater for their own needs. We are also close to eateries and the local sports club which has 4 restaurants to choose from. We do require payment on arrival as part of our policy, but that is standard practice within the industry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gladstone hotels
1.1 mi away
Oaks Grand Gladstone
Oaks Grand Gladstone
#1 of 22 in Gladstone
262 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Gladstone
Mercure Gladstone
#2 of 22 in Gladstone
275 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rydges Gladstone Hotel
Rydges Gladstone Hotel
#12 of 22 in Gladstone
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Metro Hotel & Apartments Gladstone
1.2 mi away
Park View Gladstone
Park View Gladstone
#4 of 22 in Gladstone
49 reviews
0.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Rusty's
Econo Lodge Rusty's
#5 of 22 in Gladstone
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toolooa Gardens Motel and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toolooa Gardens Motel and Apartments

Property: Toolooa Gardens Motel and Apartments
Address: 79-83 Toolooa St, Gladstone, Queensland 4680, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gladstone
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Gladstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Toolooa Gardens Motel and Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Toolooa Gardens Motel and Apartments is centrally located in Toolooa Street on the southern entrance to the beautiful harbour city of Gladstone. Toolooa Gardens Motel and Apartments consists of modern air-conditioned rooms and self-contained apartments located in a tropical garden setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Toolooa Gardens Motel and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing