We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Monday night take-away”

Little Malaya Restaurant
Ranked #28 of 153 Restaurants in Coolangatta
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Subshine Coast
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Monday night take-away”
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in to get some take-away and was pleasantly surprised at the quality apart from a couple of minor flaws. The marinated wings were crispy and tasty, the Malay pork ribs were small pieces of pork deep-fried in batter and with the most moreish sauce which was sweet with a touch of garlic. The Penang chicken curry was very good. My only criticism was the very basic Chinese fried rice and though it was a family size, the rice was bland, lacked the ingredients you would expect to find, and was $15. It was a shame as the rest of the food was tasty, filling and enjoyable.

Helpful?
Thank CasualDiner1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    54
    11
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Cold and disappointing ...”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We arrived and were seated under an air conditioner vent and we were freezing! We asked the waitress to adjust the temperature, which she did, but we were still cold! Hence, when our food was delivered, it went cold very quickly. The entree was greasy and the main meal below average. Five very disappointed customers who won't be coming back ...

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terese14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Disappointing.....”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We came to this restaurant after reading some of the rave reviews. However, we were disappointed with the quality of the food - mostly fried. We ordered about 3 entrees - roti, calamari dumplings and chicken spring rolls &, 5 mains to share - honey prawns, char keuh teow, chow mein, green curry, sweet & sour pork. We found that the kueh teow was inedible and not what we are used to. The noodles were limp and very oily. The rest of the meals were a little more palatable and the entrees were quite nice.
The wait staff were polite and pleasant, although they did forget to cook one of our dishes and needed to be reminded.
Coming from an Asian background, we were quite disappointed overall with what was supposed to be authentic chinese food.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 13Traveller2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolangatta, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Best salt and pepper prawns ever”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We had my husbands birthday here last night and it was fantastic!!. BYO is great..there is a low corkage on wine and the food was sensational and the service attentive.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank heatheraussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent & cheap takeaway”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

On our first night in Coolangatta we stumbled across Little Malaya & decided to have a take away meal. The food was delicious & very reasonably priced. The restaurant was book out so that's a good sign of the quality of the food, the service & prices.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Malaya Restaurant also viewed

 
Coolangatta, Gold Coast
 
Coolangatta, Gold Coast
 

Been to Little Malaya Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing