We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and relaxing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beachcomber International Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beachcomber International Resort
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Coolangatta
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice and relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed in october, lovely place overlooking coolangatta town, but that was good having a nosy. Nice room had everything. Had days for kids to do things, had free bikes. The reception was lovely and very helpful. Would definately stay again. Good place for families.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Classic H, Manager at Beachcomber International Resort, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Hi Louella M,

Thanks so much for taking the time to share your review. Look forward to having you come and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    76
    20
    1
    8
See reviews for
80
51
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Whangarei, Northland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Had a wonderful time in Coolangatta, so many things to do and the beach is magnificent.
Staff at Beachcomber were very helpful and our trip to Byron Bay was outstanding!
Besides that the weather couldn't have been better , no rain and lovely sunny days.

Room Tip: Above 7th floor has best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Val_AlanMills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Classic H, Manager at Beachcomber International Resort, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Hi Val_AlanMills,

How nice to hear that you had a wonderful trip to Coolangatta! Glad you made the most of the beach, and the wonderful views on offer. It really sounds like you had the perfect holiday! We can’t wait to welcome you back next time, please let us know if we can help with your next booking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Great place to stay, with great views from the higher level floors - no views from low levels floors. Loved the balcony, a bit narrow for eating, but does get the sun... and we were on the 14th floor, so had a fantastic view...
Rooms are basic and fairly old style, but certainly comfortable - even the bed was enjoyable. Kitchen supplies excellent. Just be careful when asking staff to book tours, the staff do not book direct with the tour operators so we had to pay an extra $20 each for whale watching.
Otherwise very pleasant, lots of amenities. do not think the spa baths in the rooms are worthwhile, would be better (and use less water) to have a normal bath.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Classic H, Manager at Beachcomber International Resort, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Hi Heather H,

We're glad you thought the Beachcomber International Resort was a great place to stay. Thanks for taking the time to leave your review, and we hope to see you again next time your visit the Gold Coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor Harbor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Just had a month at Beachcomber - What a delightful stay. Friendly staff, close to everything,and whale watching from the balcony. Above 7th Floor is a bonus and couldn,t complain about a thing. Left feeling very satisfied.

Room Tip: Above 7th Floor, you can,t go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Classic H, Manager at Beachcomber International Resort, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Hi Pam,
We are so happy to hear that your month with us was a great experience. Looking forward to you coming to stay with us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
94 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

This resort is part of the Classic Holidays holiday share business. We looked at buying into the scheme last year but the numbers didn't stack up for us, but we won a weeks stay at one of their resorts. My review is based on the expectation of acting for a place and won't give extra points just because we won the stay. Our first impression was not great, the reception staff were not welcoming, it was as if we had interrupted their conversation, they didn't warm up very much during the check in process although it was efficient. The resort itself is pretty basic and quite dated, while it had everything an apartment needs there were no additional features to make it stand out from other resorts. The big negative was the street noise, you could hear every little sound from below, we were on the fourth floor, it was so bad we purchased earplugs after the first night. If you want views of the ocean you need to be on at least the eighth floor or all you will see is the building across the road. You would be better getting an apartment at one of the many other resorts that look straight out onto the beach. The place had a restaurant, but on the night we went to eat there it was shutting and it was only 8.30pm! Also we wanted to have an evening swim on the roof top pool and spa, but it gets closed at 9pm! I'm not sure who they were targeting as their market, but it must be people who eat early and go to bed early. There were a lot of older people (over 60s) so that must be who they cater for.

Room Tip: Book at least 8th floor if you want a decent ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TerryMcKenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Classic H, Manager at Beachcomber International Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Hi TMM-MAM,

Thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback on the Beachcomber International Resort. We have passed your comments on to the appropriate department for further discussion. We certainly hope your stay with us was enjoyable, and we wish to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Currimundi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Our stay was nothing but amazing. We had room 11A The 180 degree views are breathless. Check in was simple & all staff we met during the stay where great. The rooms are a little old but have modern kitchens & bathrooms(our master bedroom had a spa. Location is so central to everything. The comment below regarding the position is nonsense. No property in Coolangatta are beach front without crossing at least one road. The resort can't move haha. Do your research a bit better, if not a 50c phone call is simple. Will be back thanks :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Classic H, Manager at Beachcomber International Resort, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Hi James,
We are so happy to hear that your visit with us was “nothing but amazing” and would like to thank you for your very complementary review of the resort. We look forward to you returning back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We arrived with our 2 very excited grand children only to find out that this resort isn't across the road fom Coolangatta beach but another block back. When I researched the location indications were that it was positioned on the beach side of Griffiths Street. Not so and not happy. Next we are told that the heating in the heated pool isn't working but we could walk 500 mtrs up the road to their sister resort and use their heated pool. Come on, it is the middle of winter, do you think we are going to traipse 500 mtrs up the road to use another resorts pool! Next we get up to our apartment which is very well laid out but on the third floor it is very noisy from constant traffic in Griffiths Street. Next time to put the children to bed and the beds are made up with NO blankets. They are in the wardrobes but I'm on holidays and not happy about having to remake 3 beds before I go to bed. Then I find out that the 1 blanket provided is too small for a queen sized bed. IT IS WINTER and the final insult is NO AIRCONDITIONING (or heating). This resort is a tired and in need of a makeover. No walk-in shower in the en-suite rather a spa bath with a shower over the top. No shower curtain and quite outdated tap ware. We did check out the rates which seemed pretty good for school holidays at $168/night but now we know, you get hat you pay for.

Room Tip: Certainly not on the 3rd floor. If you want a quite room and you would need to be much, much higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lorriewiiido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Classic H, Manager at Beachcomber International Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear lorriewiido
So sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your visit with us. We have noted your concerns and have passed your information onto the appropriate department to investigate further. We’d like to thank you for your feedback and do hope that you will come and visit us again in the future.”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coolangatta hotels
3896.8 mi away
Beach House Seaside Resort - Classic Holidays
3896.8 mi away
Nirvana By The Sea
Nirvana By The Sea
#1 of 12 in Coolangatta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
3896.8 mi away
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
#4 of 12 in Coolangatta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3896.7 mi away
Greenmount Beach Resort
Greenmount Beach Resort
#10 of 12 in Coolangatta
3.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
3896.9 mi away
Mantra Twin Towns
Mantra Twin Towns
#2 of 12 in Coolangatta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,197 reviews
3896.9 mi away
Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort
Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort
#8 of 12 in Coolangatta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachcomber International Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber International Resort

Property: Beachcomber International Resort
Address: 122 Griffith St, Coolangatta, Gold Coast, Queensland 4225, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Coolangatta
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Coolangatta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beachcomber International Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Experience the ocean to the hinterland" Beachcomber International Resort overlooks the magnificent Coolangatta beach and the spectacular hinterland and is located only minutes from cinemas, shopping centres, restaurants, clubs, Gold Coast theme parks and Coolangatta airport. The resort offers a host of leisure facilities including a fully equipped gymnasium, half court tennis, swimming pools, spa and sauna. Activities staff organise daily tours and activities to exciting destinations all over the coast making your holiday as action packed or relaxed as you like. Whether it's a much needed getaway, a family holiday or a romantic weekend, you can be sure your holiday will be one to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Beachcomber International Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachcomber International Hotel Coolangatta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing