We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, great friendly service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Beachcomber International Resort
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Coolangatta
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Our family enjoyed a great holiday at the Beachcomber International Resort. Staff were very friendly and helpful (Gloria, Jenny, Keith). The resort and its facilities were well maintained and spotlessly clean. Our apartment had everything we needed for a self-catered holiday; it made us feel like at home. We enjoyed the family fun day activities organised by the resort on Tuesdays and Thursdays (special thanks to Marty, Kate and Michael). We had a great time feeding the fish, canoeing, kayaking, wind-surfing, sailing on the catamaran, egg-throwing - all for free! We were in 10B and the sea view from our balcony was magnificent, especially the view of Greenmount headland on a fullmoon evening. The resort is only three minute walk to a patrolled beach. Aldi supermarket and Tweed Heads Centro shopping centre are within walking distance, as well as a range of restaurants and cafes. Public bus stop is 50 metres from the resort and one can catch the Express Theme park bus (1X) to/from any of the theme parks, or Bus 761 to/from Collangatta Airport. We would have no hesitation staying there again and would definitely recommend this resort to everyone.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank hoa n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
There are newer reviews for Beachcomber International Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 253 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

Great start with a friendly welcome. No need to drive anywhere as there were malls, shops, restaurants, beaches everywhere. We used the free bikes everyday to go sight seeing, swimming etc. great BBQ area, spa was nice, sauna for the adults, free DVD and board game hire for the kids. Loved the location, the staff who rang our room on the second day to see if everything was ok and if not they will tend to it asap, we couldn't fault the place for anything! Well priced and they can take up to 8 people! We had a 2 bedroom plus a fold out couch for our use and there was only the 4 of us. Clean apartment with all that you need. Will definitely return. Thank you for a great experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I took my 9 yo son and parents to this resort for the second week of the school holidays. Initial impressions were good, staff were helpful, check-in easy and facilities well maintained. I requested an apartment with ocean views and was pleasantly surprised when we were allocated a 2 bedroom apartment on level 9. The apartment although on the small side was clean, comfortable and contained everything we needed for a self-catered holiday.

My son and I took advantage of the resort's free bike and boogie board hire and enjoyed the family day water and beach activities at Jack Evans Boat Harbour, Tweed Heads (a short walk up Griffith Street).

The pools were well maintained but only a metre deep and quite small - more like adult wading pools! The fact that Greenmount and Rainbow Bay beaches were both within an easy short walk of the resort compensated for any disappointment.

I'd definitely recommend this resort to families seeking a relaxed holiday close to some great beaches, restaurants and cafes and would have no hesitation staying here again.

Room Tip: Apartments higher up have ocean views and those at either end of each floor appear to be much larger...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Christine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We paid for an upgrade to a 1 bedroom apartment. Classic holidays invited us up here to try to get us to invest in this resort. There is not a chance in hell would recommend this resort! We stayed on the 1st floor, not view of ocean or mountains as it says in the brochure. The apartment was very dated, furniture warn and stained, tiles cracked and damaged, spa bath had the hose exposed across the front. We had no privacy, our apartment was next to the exit for everyone going to the half tennis court and the cold outdoor pool. Our balcony was on the same level as the main thoroughfare as the people going back and forth to both amenities. We couldn't leave anything on the balcony because people could just reach over and steal our towels. We caught plenty of cockroaches, so I started to take them down to reception, so they were also made aware and mentioned we were not happy with our accommodation...they didn't care! Nothing else was offered. So for 7 days our view was the kids and running noisily back and forth in front of us and the drunks yelling out at the bar across the road and also the auto doors to the entrance opening and closing under our apartment as well. Coolangatta is a beautiful place with plenty of nice places to eat, walk and visit. But Do NOT STAY AT THIS RESORT,! We travel a lot up here, for the same money you can get an apartment at many much nicer places! Be warned! Not even the pinball machine worked in the games room!

Room Tip: Don't stay here. Very old and noisy!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Debbi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Beachcomber International Resort is an absolute gem. We stayed there as part of our Timeshare exchange and loved it. Everything is so clean and well maintained and the location is ideal. We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment on one of the higher floors and had magnificent Ocean views.
We love Coolangatta, and would certainly holiday there again, it's so much more relaxed than Surfers Paradise and in my opion a much better beach. The location of the resort is fabulous easy access to shops, restaurants and the Clubs in Tweed is a five minute walk away so there is always lots to do both day and night.
We will most definately stay at Beachcomber International Resort again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Den-Ern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Had not stayed in Coolangatta before but was very happy with our choice of accommodation. We requested a low floor as my friend is not happy with heights, so knew we would not get sea views. We wre given a first floor 2bed apartment on the same level as the outdoor pool and garden area, so we looked out onto beautiful lawns and palm trees, instead of the noisy street. We spent a very happy week in our roof garden apartment! We had 2 bathrooms and a well stocked kitchen and everything was spotless. Service from all the staff was excellent. Only downside was there is no heating or aircon, and despite the fan heater borrowed from staff, the apartment was quite cold at this time of year. Other than that, great place!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dinkydi26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed at the Beachcomber Cooloongatta for 1 week using our timeshare exchange. Check in was painless and quick. We requested a high floor with ocean views and fortunately our request was met as we got the highest floor which was level 12 with great ocean views. The balcony was a great place to take advantage of the ocean views.

Our 2 bedroom 2 bathroom apartment was quite small and compact but had all the necessities such as a dishwasher, washing machine, dryer, 2 TVs including pay TV on each, fully equiped kitchen, microwave etc.You have the option to cook yourself or dine out. Whilst the apartment has bedding for 6 I think this would be quite cramped. A pleasant surprise was the corner spa bath in our ensuite.

Great place to stay for a family as there are activities organised, two pools, spa, games room and a half court tennis.

A small quantity of tea and coffee, a sachet of detergent for washing was supplied which does not get replenished during the stay. There is an additional cost to get these replaced. With the weekly timeshare stays no free housekeeping is provided. The apartment was tidy but cleanliness could be improved as if one looked closely there was a build up of dust in areas e.g. along skirting boards.

Wifi internet is not included but there is a computer downstairs where you can pay for the internet and there are several internet cafes nearby. I opted to hire the rather expensive wifi from the resort but I had a lot of reception issues due to being on the 12th floor. My payment was refunded.

Location is excellent and one block away from the beach. The place is not beachfront for those looking for a beachfront hotel or apartment. Beachfront timeshare properties in the area are Beachhouse and Calypso. Many restaurants to choose from in the surrounding area and an Aldi Supermarket and Coles a short walk away. Many establishment have great lunch specials from Monday to Friday where you can get a meal from $10-$12. We enjoyed the lunches at the Cooloongatta Hotel on the beachfront.

Bus services are very good and one can get to and from the Airport, Surfers Paradise, Harbour Town, Theme Parks or the Rail Link into Brisbane quite easily and inexpensive.

Room Tip: Request a high floor for great views and minimal noise
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank tommomelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coolangatta hotels
0.3 mi away
Beach House Seaside Resort - Classic Holidays
0.1 mi away
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
#4 of 12 in Coolangatta
1,115 reviews
0.8 mi away
Nirvana By The Sea
Nirvana By The Sea
#3 of 12 in Coolangatta
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Greenmount Beach Resort
Greenmount Beach Resort
#11 of 12 in Coolangatta
118 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra Twin Towns
Mantra Twin Towns
#2 of 12 in Coolangatta
4,102 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort
Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort
#6 of 12 in Coolangatta
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachcomber International Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber International Resort

Address: 122 Griffith St, Coolangatta, Gold Coast, Queensland 4225, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Coolangatta
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Coolangatta
Price Range: $124 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beachcomber International Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Experience the ocean to the hinterland" Beachcomber International Resort overlooks the magnificent Coolangatta beach and the spectacular hinterland and is located only minutes from cinemas, shopping centres, restaurants, clubs, Gold Coast theme parks and Coolangatta airport. The resort offers a host of leisure facilities including a fully equipped gymnasium, half court tennis, swimming pools, spa and sauna. Activities staff organise daily tours and activities to exciting destinations all over the coast making your holiday as action packed or relaxed as you like. Whether it's a much needed getaway, a family holiday or a romantic weekend, you can be sure your holiday will be one to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beachcomber International Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachcomber International Hotel Coolangatta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing