We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, location great, noise levels variable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Points North Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good value, location great, noise levels variable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

4 night stay. Check in easy, Good security parking. Extremely handy to a wide variety of restaurants, cinemas, twin towns, grocery shopping. Living area and kitchen spacious, but a little tired but clean and reasonably maintained. Bathroom looked like it had been redone recently. Lots of cupboard space. Views great and straight across road to park and beach. Tennis court and pool amenties good. Games room a little light on activities.
Some negatives though - airconditioning in living area only, balcony small and would be concerned with exploring children and apparent climb points. No airconditioning in bedroom which means leave window open and get street motorbike car noise from the main road ( marine parade), party noise and street cleaner noise at early hours as well as sunrise coming in at 5am or close everything up and hope that it is not hot and humid.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    143
    34
    10
    8
See reviews for
176
98
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

It's not a 5 star resort by any means. It has a worn, faded glory which they are only just starting to correct 20 years later (Oct 2011) by big renovations. When we visited they were working on corridor and foyers and the indoor pool. Unfortunately the serviced apartments are privately owned so it's a roulette deal as to whether the owner of the apartment you are allocated has dumped all their own crap furniture into the apartment, taken all the new tvs and appliances - or not. Luckily in this case the owner (of North Xanadu tower apartment 105) had recently purchased a new furniture package (sofa, beds, dining setting, 47" LCD tv etc) so we did fine. The furniture closely matches the publicity shots so hopefully all owners have had to shell out and buy this package (and not take it home).

The apartment itself is big compared to most Gold Coast apartments. We got a 2 bedroom (2 adults 2 kids) - the living area was very large. Previous reviews had mentioned poor reception service - I tested them out on some slightly 'annoying' requests but they dealt with them fine.

Room Tip: Bring tea/coffee/washing powder/dishwasher tablets if you are staying for more than a few days.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tm007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011

Loved our stay here! The location was perfect for our young family - directly across from Coollangatta Surf club and beach. The apartments are in the heart of town, a short stroll away from cafes and shops. The apartment we stayed in was beautifully fitted out, with enough space to spread out and relax. Our children loved the pool facilities and and mad us visit them every day. Will definitely choose to stay here again!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maree K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batemans Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
164 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

Reception: Good reception by counter staff, pleasant and informative.
Car parking: Takes a while to get into the carpark via underground shopping car park, but is secure.

Unit: Had a one bedroom unit, very spacious with big new tv, fantastic views over Coolangatta/Kirra Beaches. Comfortable lounge and bed, but really the kitchen and bathroom needs an urgent refurbish/update, probably has not been touched in the 20 years since the apartments were built. Very poor shower pressure as well. Good supply of kitchen stuff and big fridge. No a/c in bedroom, which would make it hot in summer, although there are ceiling fans. A split system a/c in lounge area.

Good pool/spa/tennis area downstairs.

Location: Fantastic location, shops, restaurants underneatth and walk across to Surf Club for great meals. Discounts there to Points North inmates!.

I would stay here again if the units were modernised.

Room Tip: Get a room up high for fantastic views from your balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LesMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

My family of four just returned from Holiday on the Gold/Sunshine coasts, and loved out stay at points North. Our room was large, modern and spotless. We had an amazing view, and feel asleep to the sound of the surf each night.
Having the grocery, fruit market and all the shops and cinema right down stairs was so convienent. We loved our time there, and it was by far nicer than the expensive sheraton Noosa we stayed at for twice the cost.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pixiecatlulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2011

We recently spent 5 nights at Points North Apartments with our two young children. The location was AMAZING and we absolutely loved our time in Coolangatta. Restaurants were close by and we only had to cross the road to visit the beautiful beach below. The room was a good size with a fantastic view out across to the Tweed River and ocean. This is an older resort but we were very happy with the quality and cleanliness of our room. There is also a secured carpark downstairs.
The pool is a good size and heated. The baby pool was simply too cold for our kids to enjoy but they were happy enough playing in the large pool anyway.
The only real negative we had regarding our stay was that the locks were changed and this was never communicated directly to us. We returned 15 minutes prior to reception closing for the day from a day out. I am not certain how we would have been able to access our room if we had been delayed at all. Also, there was a rubbish smell that was quite strong at the beginning of our stay. Our room was next to the garbage chute so this could have been the reason. It did go away around mid week (perhaps the garbage had been collected). We found this smell very strong throughout the carpark as well. As a result, I would highly recommend requesting a room away from the garbage chute. Book directly with the hotel as their prices are competitive and you are more likely to have your requests looked at (we got exactly the type of room we requested).

Overall, this was a great place to stay and good value for money. The reception staff were happy and friendly, and the rooms very well cleaned and roomy. We did not want to leave Coolangatta and are already planning a return trip.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2011

We stayed at Mint Coolangatta in January this year and found the apartment to be pretty good. A bit dated and tired in places (the taps are still circa 1980) and the pool is pretty basic, but overall it was a good stay and the resort was well managed.

Top location across from the beach. Great views.

Don't expect excellence, but it was good, reliable value for the price paid.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coolangatta hotels
0.2 mi away
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
#4 of 12 in Coolangatta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nirvana By The Sea
Nirvana By The Sea
#1 of 12 in Coolangatta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach House Seaside Resort - Classic Holidays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Greenmount Beach Resort
Greenmount Beach Resort
#10 of 12 in Coolangatta
3.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra Twin Towns
Mantra Twin Towns
#2 of 12 in Coolangatta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,336 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort
Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort
#7 of 12 in Coolangatta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Points North Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Points North Apartments

Property: Points North Apartments
Address: 66 Marine Parade | (Cnr Marine Parade & Dutton St's), Coolangatta, Gold Coast, Queensland 4225, Australia (Formerly Mint Coolangatta Points North Apartments)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Coolangatta
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Coolangatta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Points North Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each fully self contained apartment features spacious balconies with stunning ocean or hinterland views and the resort features a choice of recreational facilities including a heated pool & spa, children’s wading pool, full size tennis court, games room and a choice of restaurants located right at your doorstep.The open plan living room provides space for everyone and the dining area opens onto balconies overlooking the beach or foreshore. Large bedrooms, a modern self contained kitchen and an internal laundry will provide guests with all the necessary facilities to make the apartment feel like it is a home away from home.The 4 bedroom penthouse also includes it’s own private rooftop pool, spa, sauna and BBQ. Each apartment has the following standard facilities:Spacious modern designLarge balconies with ocean viewsSecurity swipe accessIndividually controlled heating/coolingFully Self Contained Kitchen & LaundryCable TV including 20 Austar channels and DVD playerLarge bathrooms with shower and bath ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Points North Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Points North Apartments Hotel Coolangatta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing