We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great property with friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Sebel Coolangatta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 2, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Hld1177
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sue Mike B, Manager at The Sebel Coolangatta, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (344)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 344 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2014

This was another return visit (Oct 2013 and Jan 2014). This time my family (myself and my three children 16, 14 and 13) spent 10 days in apartment 405. Well appointed apartment with two lovely bedrooms and bathrooms, great workable kitchen and lounge (all with modern appliances), great balcony and setting overlooking the beach and ocean and free secure car parking.

We had a great time with perfect beaches, lovely pool for our customary afternoon swim, great BBQ area and so many other activities in close proximity (Theme parks and surfers paradise easy half hour drive to the north with Byron Bay, Bangalow markets and hinterland 30 mins to the South).

Receiving lovely smiles and genuine greetings each day from the reception staff (Sarah and Layla) gives your day a lift!

Management (Mick) was great, insisting on security and safety of guests and residents.

Will be back again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DFRAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sebelcoolangatta, Manager at The Sebel Coolangatta, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Hello DFRAT
We really appreciate your comments and that you chose to return to The Sebel Coolangatta. Our staff all pride themselves in the way they engage with our guests and we look forward to the opportunity to host you again in the future.

Regards

Mike & Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

This was our second visit to The Sebel Coolangatta (Jan 2013 & Jan 2014) and both stays were memorable. The apartments are modern and spacious...not too small, not too big. The views are spectacular...Greenmount (Coolangatta) Beach directly in front and out to Snapper Rocks to the South and Kirra Beach to the North, and beyond to Surfers Paradise. There is ample security parking for peace of mind and the swimming pool and surrounds are always kept clean and tidy. Considering that we were there during peak and the property was fully booked, it was relatively quiet. The staff were extremely friendly and responsive to our requests...from the booking process and all during our stay. Compared to other properties that we've stayed at, The Sebel Coolangatta is value for money. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rui V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue Mike B, Manager at The Sebel Coolangatta, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Hello Rui V

Thank you so much for your response. It is always nice to get great feedback and most importantly know that you have enjoyed your stay and that our staff have been friendly and helpful.

We look forward to seeing you again soon

Mike and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We loved our stay at The Sebel Coolangatta and will definitely return. Perfect location and a fantastic apartment that suited our family. There were a few issues - light bulbs not working and a bit of a smell in the bathroom - all of which were attended to as soon as we raised them. There was a noisy party upstairs on our last night and when we reported to the manager the next day they said we should have called (even at 1am) and they would have gone to the apartment and dealt with the issue. Would definitely recommend to any family looking for a beach getaway.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue Mike B, Manager at The Sebel Coolangatta, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Hello Jan S

Thank you for your review. We pride ourselves in our commitment to give you the best holiday we can offer and yes that does mean the 1.00 a.m. call outs. We look forward to you visiting us again.

Have a fantastic 2014

Mike, Sue and the Sebel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Having stayed previously decided to stay for 9 days. My impression was that things had changed but not for the better.
For a stay of 9 days one would expect more than one cursory clean. Provided with only 3 towels, one face cloth and one tea towel. No cleaning material - soap, dishwashing or laundry and no toilet rolls. It is expected these days that free wifi should be available at least in the foyer. The list of do's and dont's was irritating to say the least. Found that the door closers were excessively fierce - was told by another guest that she had been trapped in the rubbish disposal area by the the strong door closer. Wont bother to stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sebelcoolangatta, Manager at The Sebel Coolangatta, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Hello Peter N
It was nice to meet you personally and learn that you were also in the hospitality industry. As we settle into the business we look to ensure that as a minimum the service is not affected in any way. Accordingly we have addressed the issue you outlined with our team and can assure our incoming guests that the service is certainly up to par+.
As the properties are strata title our house rules are there to protect our investors. As we experience the high winds at this time of year you may better appreciate the need for firmer door closers. I am aghast to hear that someone was trapped and have no record of anyone having to be released.
It is a real shame you will not stay again however you are welcome to pop in and say kiaora when you next stay in our hidden paradise.


Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for 4 nights on the 10th floor in December. It was a wonderful stay. Wonderful, spacious apartments, plenty of facilities. Large, comfy bed, a good shower with good pressure. The best thing of all was the beautiful view from the 10th floor over Coolangatta beach. A truly excellent location.

Just a couple of things that would have made the place almost faultless: better black out curtains, oven trays for baking food and a bath tub.

Nonetheless, it's well located, plenty of eateries and activities around to do. Very friendly staff who are helpful and all around a really great stay. Thanks Sebel!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Micoaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank travelforevermore
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
sebelcoolangatta, Manager at The Sebel Coolangatta, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coolangatta hotels
0.3 mi away
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
#4 of 12 in Coolangatta
1,191 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nirvana By The Sea
Nirvana By The Sea
#3 of 12 in Coolangatta
423 reviews
0.6 mi away
Greenmount Beach Resort
Greenmount Beach Resort
#11 of 12 in Coolangatta
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mantra Twin Towns
Mantra Twin Towns
#2 of 12 in Coolangatta
4,429 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort
Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort
#6 of 12 in Coolangatta
657 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kirra Surf Apartments
Kirra Surf Apartments
#3 of 27 in Coolangatta
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Coolangatta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Coolangatta

Address: 3 McLean St, Coolangatta, Gold Coast, Queensland 4225, Australia (Formerly Grand Mercure Apartments Coolangatta)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Coolangatta
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Coolangatta
Price Range: $162 - $557 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Coolangatta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sebel Coolangatta offers our guests luxury accomodation with ocean views from each of our air conditioned, spacious 1, 2 or 3br apartments and a fabulous lagoon swimming pool. The Sebel Coolangatta is perfectly positioned opposite Coolangatta Beach, close to shops, restaurants,cafes,clubs,cinemas and only a few minutes drive to the Gold Coast Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sebel Coolangatta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing