We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Sebel Coolangatta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We have now stayed twice at Grand Mercure this year. The location is perfect for us. The views from the higher floors are unbeatable.
The two apartments we have stayed in have been very well appointed, lovely design and size. They are also very close to the fantastic beaches and walkways in this area.
The staff are very friendly and welcoming, and sorted out our one little glitch promptly, professionally - and with a smile!
Free parking a plus.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllyAussie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluec29, Manager at The Sebel Coolangatta, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Many thanks for your review. I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the near future.
We pride ourselves on attending to any matter which will enhance a guest's stay with us and are pleased we were able to assist you promptly and efficiently.
Thanks once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (338)
There are newer reviews for The Sebel Coolangatta
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 338 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2012

Lovely staff, A+++ so helpful and friendly. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment which was clean and stylish. Everything in working order. Great kithcen!! Close to the beach, restaurants and shops. Great views from the bedroom and balcony. Thoroughly enjoyed our short stay!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluec29, Manager at The Sebel Coolangatta, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review Grand Mercure Coolangatta on Trip Advisor. We are very lucky with our wonderful staff at the moment and are pleased you enjoyed your experience with us.
Hopefully we see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

great view. location fairly good also ( however considerable distance to Tweed Heads supermarkets, etc - staff very helpful and courteous. well located in relation to beach and airport 9 however fairly noisy at night time, due to trucks and traffic )

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank p_muzza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluec29, Manager at The Sebel Coolangatta, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Many thanks for your review. We are really pleased you enjoyed most aspects of your holiday. Yes Marisa and Lisa are wonderful on Reception. We are very lucky.
We hope to see you again one day in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We have stayed in Coolangatta several times and this time we got a really great rate on the Accor website. Our apartment was on the 12th floor and the views were just fantastic. The apartment had plenty of room and the two bedrooms and two bathrooms were very handy. The balcony was a good size and the staff were always helpful. We will stay here again if we can get a good rate.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank naga1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Checked in, given a low floor even though I requested a high floor even though the place was empty (had a letter through the door offering another night for just $125). The dishwasher did not work and had a broken power container, the oven did not work as the element was broken, toilet kept blocking and overflowing, cleaning was appalling. On checkout I tried to voice my concerns and the receptionist could not have cared less, did not even write anything down... shame, Mantra are normally good quality!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wilrc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluec29, Manager at The Sebel Coolangatta, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Thank you for your review. We do appreciate all feedback and try to act on the negative to ensure these experiences do not occur again.
We are extremely disappointed you did not experience our usually high standards at Grand Mercure Coolangatta and it sounds like you had a series of mishaps which we usually take immediate measures to rectify at the earliest possible time.
In relation to your lower level apartment, I am not sure what happened in your particular case, but sometimes when booking comes through via a third party, we are not always aware of your requests. However, if we are aware, we always try to provide guest preferences, because we pride ourselves on the high level of guest satisfaction experienced at Grand Mercure Coolangatta. In relationed to not being moved to another apartment, August occupancy was at 85 per cent throughout with many periods during that month booked out. I am surprised that you weren't relocated if it was at all possible as this is our usual practise. Again many thanks for taking the time to review your not so satisfying experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We booked 3 days in Coolangatta to get away from Canberra's winter and were very pleased with our choice of Grand Mercure, guided as usual by TA. Staff were friendly and helpful, and free parking is a nice bonus.
Our apartment was well appointed and spacious overall, though the bedroom's not large. Views from the rooms and from large balcony were spectacular; all along the coast from Surfers, to surfers and dolphins at Rainbow Bay.
Coolangatta itself was a pleasant surprise. It's clean and tidy with an attractive coastal walk, and a good selection of reasonably priced restuarants.
Highly recommended especially at low season rates.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oztraveller61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lai_nicole
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coolangatta hotels
0.3 mi away
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
#5 of 12 in Coolangatta
1,114 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nirvana By The Sea
Nirvana By The Sea
#3 of 12 in Coolangatta
417 reviews
0.6 mi away
Greenmount Beach Resort
Greenmount Beach Resort
#11 of 12 in Coolangatta
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Beach House Seaside Resort - Classic Holidays
0.5 mi away
Mantra Twin Towns
Mantra Twin Towns
#2 of 12 in Coolangatta
4,084 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort
Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort
#6 of 12 in Coolangatta
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Coolangatta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Coolangatta

Address: 3 McLean St, Coolangatta, Gold Coast, Queensland 4225, Australia (Formerly Grand Mercure Apartments Coolangatta)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Coolangatta
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Coolangatta
Price Range: $173 - $809 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Coolangatta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sebel Coolangatta offers our guests luxury accomodation with ocean views from each of our air conditioned, spacious 1, 2 or 3br apartments and a fabulous lagoon swimming pool. The Sebel Coolangatta is perfectly positioned opposite Coolangatta Beach, close to shops, restaurants,cafes,clubs,cinemas and only a few minutes drive to the Gold Coast Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sebel Coolangatta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing