We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“adam h” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bay Apartments

The Bay Apartments
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Bay Apartments
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“adam h”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

we have stayed at the bay apartment twice, both times the complex manager was rude in fact this time , he was disgusting. be yelled abused at everyone in our party and when we pointed out that we had paid good money to stay there a, he response was '' i dont care you didnt pay me that money''
his whole manner was so poor , a number of our group will-not stay there ever again. if you have teenagers who surf dont stay there cause this guy will make your life hell
his customer service are 1 out of ten and ill be reporting him and telling anyone i can , just how bad this guy was, instead of maki git a warm place ,he walked around yelling at anyone he could

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank adam h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    6
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
15
4
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

I booked into the Bay Apartments in a group of 4. We were backpacking Australia and were looking for a place to stay along the Gold Coast. We booked in for a week but wished it could have been more!

The pricing is excellent, especially in relation to Hostel pricing in Brisbane, Melbourne and Perth (our other destinations). It worked out a lot less per person, per night than any hostel in any city. Their is great facilities on offer within each apartment; Washing machine, dryer, ironing board, oven, grill, microwave, dishwasher, etc. The bathrooms are great and their is ceiling fans in all major rooms. Their is a pool/hot tub on offer, along with a poolside BBQ.

It is roughly a 10min (max) walk into Coolangatta town. And the bus stops their will be used to get to all the major parks very easily. The beach is right behind the apartments, just a 3 min walk from the front door. The staff are extremely friendly and you never feel as though you can't approach them over any query.

The Bay Apartments was one of the best highlights from my stay in Australia.

Room Tip: The ground floor apartments all have a balcony maybe two times the size of any off the ground.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

As a family travelling with a 5 and 7 year old we would highly recommend The Bay Apartments.
The 2 bedroom apartment (room 11) has everything you need.
Kids loved the spa and would have loved the pool in warmer weather. The grounds, pool and bbq area are very neat and tidy.
Short walking distance to Supermarkets, Beaches, Playgrounds, Restaurants.
Fish and Chip shop, Newsagent, Butcher and liquor shop very close.
Airport is a 5 minute drive away, but you don't hear any planes.
Managers are very helpful and friendly
Would definately go back!
Some minor negatives:
Cleanliness of the rooms was good, but could probably do with a detail clean as the sliding door in our bedroom had mould spots all over it and things like dusty fans and cobwebs could be attended to.
Could only get mobile phone reception by standing right next to the front window.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vg1071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

Kia Ora ...! Having spend 5 days in rainbow bay staying at the bay apartments its was 5 days of bliss.... A lovely spacious two bedroom apartment that had all we could ever want... Absolutely SPOTLESS (big ups to the cleaner!!) .... Alison and Keith .... Such lovely on site managers where nothing was ever a problem ... Keith, what a man...........Such extensive knowledge of the area and a great tour guide... The grounds were immaculate and I felt like a local ... !!

Would highly recommend The Bay Apartments to all!!. Perfect team.. keep up the good work!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Becs06666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney aust
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

We stayed at the bay apartments over easter for a week in a 2 beedroom apartment [unit 19]the unit we stayed in was very well kept and clean,it had plenty of room for our family of 4, the kids love the pool and spa.The pool,bbq and grounds are well care for by the freindy on site managers.The location is only a block from the beach and a 10 minute walk to all the shops you will need. over all I would heighly recommend a stay at the bay apartments.We had a great time.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Burgess4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2011

We had a 2 bedroom apartment for 7 nights and it was a very enjoyable stay. Alison and Keith Manage the property and everything is spotless. The pool area, Barbeque, and grounds are immaculate. We have stayed in several apartments on the Coast and this would be one of the best and the tariff is very competitive.

George Rhodes
Whangarei NZ

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

Our family really enjoyed The Bay Apartments. We stayed for 10 nights and it was very relaxing - the quiet location makes you feel almost like a local rather than a tourist in this very touristy area. It's a great value for money option and felt like a bargain considering the clean and spacious apartments. We travelled in a large group so I saw several other apartments and some were more modern than ours but all were similar and clean and tidy with similar size balconies. Our unit was also lovely and sunny with lots of natural light. Some of the units on the ground floor do have direct access to the footpath via a back courtyard which was handy with kids etc not having to walk through the reception area every time you left.
The only problem we had was that the pool is not heated. The spa is very hot and lovely but it just makes it even harder to get into the cold pool and unfortunately it was just too cold for our son who was a bit upset that he couldn't go swimming. We did use the bbq facility near the pool with our friends and that was good too.
One other couple we travelled with were disappointed that the rooms weren't air conditioned but to be honest we didn't even notice this and they had fans and we were fine.

Room Tip: I think the higher floors might be sunnier but some of the lower floors have a 'back door' o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank m_and_r_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coolangatta hotels
0.2 mi away
Greenmount Beach Resort
Greenmount Beach Resort
#10 of 12 in Coolangatta
3.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
1.3 mi away
Nirvana By The Sea
Nirvana By The Sea
#1 of 12 in Coolangatta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
#4 of 12 in Coolangatta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mantra Twin Towns
Mantra Twin Towns
#2 of 12 in Coolangatta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rainbow Bay Resort
Rainbow Bay Resort
#11 of 26 in Coolangatta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort
Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort
#8 of 12 in Coolangatta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Apartments

Property: The Bay Apartments
Address: 243-253 Boundary St | Rainbow Bay, Coolangatta, Gold Coast, Queensland 4225, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Coolangatta
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Coolangatta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bay Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Bay Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing