We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best places to stay on the Gold Coast”
Review of The Bay Apartments

The Bay Apartments
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Bay Apartments
Whangarei, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the best places to stay on the Gold Coast”
Reviewed November 19, 2011

We had a 2 bedroom apartment for 7 nights and it was a very enjoyable stay. Alison and Keith Manage the property and everything is spotless. The pool area, Barbeque, and grounds are immaculate. We have stayed in several apartments on the Coast and this would be one of the best and the tariff is very competitive.

George Rhodes
Whangarei NZ

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    7
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
16
4
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Our family really enjoyed The Bay Apartments. We stayed for 10 nights and it was very relaxing - the quiet location makes you feel almost like a local rather than a tourist in this very touristy area. It's a great value for money option and felt like a bargain considering the clean and spacious apartments. We travelled in a large group so I saw several other apartments and some were more modern than ours but all were similar and clean and tidy with similar size balconies. Our unit was also lovely and sunny with lots of natural light. Some of the units on the ground floor do have direct access to the footpath via a back courtyard which was handy with kids etc not having to walk through the reception area every time you left.
The only problem we had was that the pool is not heated. The spa is very hot and lovely but it just makes it even harder to get into the cold pool and unfortunately it was just too cold for our son who was a bit upset that he couldn't go swimming. We did use the bbq facility near the pool with our friends and that was good too.
One other couple we travelled with were disappointed that the rooms weren't air conditioned but to be honest we didn't even notice this and they had fans and we were fine.

Room Tip: I think the higher floors might be sunnier but some of the lower floors have a 'back door' o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank m_and_r_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2011

I recently stayed at the Bay Apartments which i needed to accommodate for my elderley parents and my sister. Alison (The Manager) was absolutely wonderful in helping me chose a 2 bedroom apartment which would be suitable for both my aged parents, myself and my sister. The apartment was immaculate, it had everything i needed. Keith (The Manager with Alison) was extrememely helpful when i needed a little help. The whole place was extremely relaxing.. my booking was made so simple..the stay was much more than i expected.. right up until my departure. A taxi is quite easily arranged to travel to lovely local restaurants in Coolongatta and a supermarket, pharmacy is in easy walking distance, nothing seemed to be much trouble for Keith & Alison.. i found them to be more than accommodating. A lovely relaxing place to stay ( a little like a home away from home) I will definately be returning !!! I would stay at the Bay apartments with my husband or girl friends just for the simple fact that its lovely and quiet, relaxing and so clean. Nothing seemed to be too much for the Management which is something you dont get in even a 5 star hotel these days !!!!

Room Tip: Ask Alison what your needs are and she will help you select a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wamberal, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2011

We stayed at the Bay Apartments Rainbow bay in June 2011 and had a great time!
The apartment was immaculately clean and there was no negative experiences during our stay.
Alison was very helpful to us as one night at midnight when an clock radio went off in the next empty room which was next to our bedroom she answered our call and very happily went in there to turn it off, which I think was very selfless! :)
Apartments are in a great location and the spa was very nice!
Will be back next year!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarinaandDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2011

We recently stayed at the Bay Apartments and from the initial booking till completion of our stay was thoroughly enjoyable

Initially there was some confusion with the dates of our stay but Alison (facility manager with Keith) sorted it out and no worries or problems (or additional charges!)

The location is superb, 1min walk to Snapper surf, 2mibutes to Dbah and only a couple minute walk to the north to numerous shops and cages

We had a 2bed room/2 bathroom unit which was immaculate, fully equipped & self contained, wide screen tv, DVD, cable.

We would highly recommend these units, the only possible limitation would be no AC during the Summer months (although we hd a nice sea breeze from the balcony). There are ceiling fans in each room.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jboardsonly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Mountains
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2011

My wife and I stayed with friends in a two bedroom apartment earlier this month. Location is great and Rainbow Bay and Coolangatta are within easy walking distance. Good secure parking. Our unit was booked through and managed by a local Real Estate agent who were sparse in thier provision of information.The on site managers of the complex were very helpful and made beach equipment available free of charge.They made sure the pool and BBQ area were always clean

The Unit was reasonably furnished but there was an old TV and no CD or DVD or internet. We had no air conditiong and the ceiling fans were ineffective, especially at night. From conversations with other guests, and inspection of other units, it would appear that the quality of furnishing and fittings in each apartment varies. Future guests are advised to confirm before booking what they are getting for their money.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bjones45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2010

The website looks awesome, the apartments not so. Pool is no bigger than a decent backyard pool. Damn good photographer worth his weight in gold for every photo. Most of the balcony furniture broken. No water pressure. Very rude and belligerent owners who say one thing to guarantee your money and do the complete opposite once they have your money. A simple request due to allergies and asthma to not paint the doors until after we left was promised on arrival then they painted two days before we were leaving anyway. Would never stay here again purely based on zero customer service and straight out nastiness when questioned on why they were painting when they said they wouldn't. Never again

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Douwantthetruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bayapartments, Manager at The Bay Apartments, responded to this review, January 11, 2011
We are disappointed that this guest did not enjoy his stay at The Bay and are surprised that he felt the pool was small as this is one of the reasons many enjoy this complex. We believe our furniture is generally well maintained and we would have happily replaced anything broken if it had been brought to our attention. We have not received any other complaints with regard to water pressure but again would have happily investigated if we had been told of a problem.
As a courtesy we advised all guests of the intended painting of unit front doors (in a low fume water based paint) and when the guest informed me of his wifes allergies I immediatley agreed to defer the painting of his unit and other units in his stairwell until his departure (another week). Unforutnately due to a misunderstanding of dates between myself and the painter, one door -the exit door in the basement (4 floors down) was painted the day before the guests departure. Our apologies that if this affected your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coolangatta hotels
0.2 mi away
Greenmount Beach Resort
Greenmount Beach Resort
#10 of 12 in Coolangatta
102 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
#4 of 12 in Coolangatta
1,012 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra Twin Towns
Mantra Twin Towns
#3 of 12 in Coolangatta
3,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Komune Resort
Komune Resort
#20 of 27 in Coolangatta
279 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rainbow Bay Resort
Rainbow Bay Resort
#12 of 27 in Coolangatta
79 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carool Apartments
Carool Apartments
#23 of 27 in Coolangatta
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Apartments

Property: The Bay Apartments
Address: 243-253 Boundary St | Rainbow Bay, Coolangatta, Gold Coast, Queensland 4225, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Coolangatta
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Coolangatta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bay Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The Bay Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing