We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Curtains, crokery and clean rooms would be nice!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bella Mare Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Curtains, crokery and clean rooms would be nice!!!!”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Great location. But that's it. The room was dirty when we checked in. Had to ask for the floor to be mopped ... sand and grease everywhere. Went to use the chopping board and it had food on it! No curtains (useless vertical blinds) so kids woke up at 4am every morning. Only one a/c unit in living room, totally inadequate for a two bedroom apartment. Too noisy at night to have windows open so in christmas time heat we slept (or didn't) in muggy hot bedrooms. No matching plates, odd chipped glasses. Lamp lightbulbs blown. We had ground floor apartment, totally unsecured from street. No railing our 4 and 1yo kept escaping onto busy road! Could not use balconey. It was tiny anyway but had to have door closed the whole time. Permanent resident's kids/grankids took over pool unsupervised - we were there for 7 nights and it was like it every day.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kateste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamara K, Owner at Bella Mare Apartments, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank-you for taking the time to post a review about Bella Mare Apartments and we are upset that your stay was less than perfect. We have addressed your cleaning concerns with the housekeeping staff and we are hopeful that we can improve. On your arrival you did mention the floor and we sent staff immediately to rectify the issue, we assumed it was all fixed as we didn’t hear back from you either way. Any other concerns that you had could have been mentioned to the staff while they were in your unit and they would have been rectified also. I know it is not an excuse, as the apartment should have been spotless in the first instance, however it would have been nice to get a second chance. We are working towards not making the same mistake again.

When you made the booking you requested a ground floor apartment and we were more than happy to ensure that is exactly what you received. All apartments on the ground floor have lockable security screens (which are explained on check-in) and are therefore totally secure from the street. All apartments have air-conditioning units located in the lounge area that are large enough to service the whole apartment when used correctly.

You must also understand that this is the busiest time of the year, as it is Christmas and school holidays, and being so we are always full with families, like yours, over this time. They all are able to enjoy the pool area, as you were. It does make for a lively, family friendly atmosphere that all should be able enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    50
    18
    9
    4
See reviews for
76
24
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
hidden valley, victoria
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We have stayed at this location twice now with friends, this is the last time!!!. The location, gardens, bbq, and small pool areas are clean. Alternatively, the room was not the cleanest, we stayed for 9nights and the room was not cleaned once, the remote control was held together with an elastic band, the main ceiling fan initially didn't work, the flyscreen sliding door continually came off its hinges, just to name a few issues we had. (have photos to prove this too.)

The main reason I'm writing this review is when we checked in, we were treated to a tirade of verbal abuse from the temporary manager during our stay in October, 2013. There was a misunderstanding with our room which was booked 7 months prior, when asked for a reason for the room change; Kay the temporary manager yelled at me in front of our friends and family she then threw the bell and maps towards me. I was stunned at this disgusting behaviour. (obviously the school holidays and her age was beginning to take its toll on this lady.) There was simply no reason or apology from the temp manager. I would not stay at this location again given the disgraceful conduct of a women who should know better than to treat people in this manner. Upon our return to home, I was still quite stunned at this unprofessional behaviour, so I wrote a letter to the actual manager (who was on holiday at this time.) she basically dismissed both mine and the independent witness' recollection of the incident. Its times like this that you wish they had cctv footage to show what happened. Therefore, don't waste your time staying here; there are so many other cleaner, friendlier places to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chuckyfromvalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poppett22, Manager at Bella Mare Apartments, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
I am disappointed but not surprised that you have decided to air your unfounded grievances on a public forum. It is unfortunate that you have failed to mention that it was a misunderstanding on your behalf that resulted in the upset that you caused our relief manager and for you to personally attack and age discriminate against our relief managers is inappropriate and unprofessional.

Your concerns were not dismissed; they were answered comprehensively via email. You requested a reason as to why you were room changed. As was explained in great detail in the email sent to you, you requested the room that you were booked into when you confirmed the booking with a deposit.

Apartments are serviced half way through a stay of 10 days or more, or on a weekly basis of stays 3 weeks or more. Your previous stay was also 9 nights and also didn’t receive a service, so you were well aware of this. Generally it takes 1 cleaner 1 hour to do a departure clean on a unit. On your departure it took 2 cleaners 2 hours to clean because of the disgusting mess that you left in that apartment.

Your friend, and I assume the independent witness you are referring to, has rebooked for next year. If she was so disgusted with the behaviour of our relief manager why would she do so? She didn’t mention any problem on her departure (I preformed her checkout and took her booking for next year at her request) and her room was left in a most satisfactory manner, unlike yours.

It is a shame that you feel the need to disparage our good name when you made the initial error.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Nice quiet location within close walking distance to shops, cafes and beach. Lovely sunny pool area and beautifully kept gardens.surf club directly across the road and walking track to Rainbow Bay and Point Danger short stroll away.
A very pleasant comfortable stay in a spacious two bedroom apartment.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamara K, Owner at Bella Mare Apartments, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank-you for taking the time to write such a nice review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again some time soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This is a fabulous, family friendly resort in a great location. I don't agree with previous reviews about the cleanliness because our room was spotless. The pool and BBQ area was a great relief from the beach and very relaxing.
The beds were comfortable and there was good water pressure in the shower.
All the staff were very professional and friendly. We will definitely stay at this lovely resort next time we are in Coolangatta.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susie_3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamara K, Owner at Bella Mare Apartments, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
What a lovely review, thank-you very much for taking the time to write it. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We often stay at Bella Mare apartments with our children. The apartment sizes are large and some are double story. It is low rise and handy to the surf club which serves a good cheap meal with great views over the beach. It is not modern but the pool area is nice and protected and it has a nice bbq area , it is good value though, and you can let the kids come and go from the pool on their own (depending on age of course). We will return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nomads5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamara K, Owner at Bella Mare Apartments, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank-you for taking the time to write a review for us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We spent 10 days in a 1 BR apartment and enjoyed our stay in lovely surroundings and have already booked another 10 days next year.
If I would have to find fault with anything I would say that in a sizable bathroom , the shower is a bit squeeze for a big girl .

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jazz44hm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamara K, Owner at Bella Mare Apartments, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We've just returned home from an eight night stay at Bella Mare. We were previously there for a week in 2011. We really enjoy our time there. The apartments are a good size and well equipped. The grounds are very well maintained and the pool/spa area is just lovely. But the big plus for us is the location. There's nowhere better at Coolangatta, in terms of having fantastic access to great beaches (across the road from Greenmount and between Kirra and Rainbow Bay). Greenmount hill is lovely to walk over. There's a great park for kids at the Jack Evans Boat Harbour and everything you need is in walking distance. We didn't use our car at all. We had a two bedroom apartment, but we're thinking of booking a two bedroom villa for our holiday there next year. The only negative is that the apartment wasn't as clean as it could have been - in fact, I think we probably left it cleaner than we'd found it. But it certainly wasn't dirty enough to complain about (in my opinion). If it had been, I am confident that the management would have been happy to sort it out. I think cleanliness is an issue with cleaning contractors generally. I've stayed in expensive hotels that have been left dirty too. It's unfair to judge accommodation on cleanliness UNLESS management is unwilling to address it when it's pointed out to them. While it would probably be a good idea for management to do spot checks of apartments after the cleaners have been through, it's probably not possible for them to check EVERY apartment after it's been cleaned. We will certainly be back next year.

Room Tip: Rooms that face the courtyard are quieter, but we preferred our room that faced the harbour. A bit n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jo g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamara K, Owner at Bella Mare Apartments, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Your review is very much appreciated and we are glad that you had a great stay. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coolangatta hotels
0.1 mi away
Greenmount Beach Resort
Greenmount Beach Resort
#10 of 12 in Coolangatta
112 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
#4 of 12 in Coolangatta
1,072 reviews
1.1 mi away
Nirvana By The Sea
Nirvana By The Sea
#2 of 12 in Coolangatta
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mantra Twin Towns
Mantra Twin Towns
#3 of 12 in Coolangatta
3,943 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort
Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort
#6 of 12 in Coolangatta
571 reviews
0.5 mi away
Points North Apartments
Points North Apartments
#6 of 27 in Coolangatta
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Mare Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Mare Apartments

Property: Bella Mare Apartments
Address: 5 Hill St, Coolangatta, Gold Coast, Queensland 4225, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Coolangatta
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Coolangatta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Italian for “Beautiful Sea”, Bella Mare Holiday Apartments are an attractive Star Ratings Australia 3.5 star Mediterranean style complex conveniently located just across the road from picturesque Greenmount and Coolangatta Beach and a short stroll to the restaurants, clubs and shops of Coolangatta and Tweed Heads. Popular Rainbow Bay beach is also within easy walking distance and the fun and excitement of Twin Towns Services Club is just across the road from our Coolangatta Accommodation. Buses to Surfers Paradise and the major tourist attractions depart from right outside our door and the onsite tour desk can organise all your tours for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bella Mare Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing