We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Calypso is 100% RBT proof (as long as you don’t drive), and who needs to!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Coolangatta
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“The Calypso is 100% RBT proof (as long as you don’t drive), and who needs to!”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The very best holidays are so memorable because we’ve had so few problems and at Calypso Coolangatta, there are so few problems, you’ll think you’ve died and come back as an angel. I loved it. The self catering units are reasonably priced and even better if you seek out late rooms. I really could live there.
Everything worked as it should. Sound proofing is exquisite as it should be. The Calypso is well run, has efficient friendly staff who can’t do enough for you. The only problems I found were that the pool does get quite busy. Plenty of kids and all well behaved of course! I did love the gym too, and sauna. I had the place to myself for 4 days. Parking is hassle free, secure and close to the lifts.
The beach is less distance than it takes to throw a haggis. The surfing is terrific, if you like that sort of thing. But the walks along the beach side are very nice. Oh yes, and do try all the surf clubs, as they are all fantastic value for food and the odd beverage.
The High Street begins at the front door. It is ultra close to everything. It is staggering distance from everything and 100% RBT proof. There’s a brilliant choice of restaurants all within a few hundred metres.
All in all I loved it. I could live there!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCalypso, Manager at Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review on Trip Advisor, we were thrilled to hear your thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on your praise to all staff converned on the Front Desk , we hope that you will return and stay with us agin in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    227
    131
    41
    30
See reviews for
200
214
30
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here exchanging my time share ..had a dual key 2 bedroom 2 bathroom with full kitchen 3 TV and view over pool and ocean.

Staff are great beds comfortable ideal pool for kids.

Only down side was they don't seem to enforce pool rules ..on weekend saw adults with glass bottles and wine glasses.

Other then that great position and good facilities.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JenniferD66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCalypso, Manager at Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor regarding your stay with us at Calypso Plaza Resort.
I will pass your comments on to the Front Office Staff concerned, we do hope that we can welcome you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We came for 1 night to use the pools and water slides before heading home to melbourne, and were completely disappointed with some of the facilities. We checked in at 240pm, unpacked and headed to the pool only to find that the water slide only operates between 10 and 3. How ridiculous. We are here for one night, check in was from 2pm, checkout 10am. So if u check on exactly at 2pm, throw on your bathers and head to the pool, you get one hour to use the water slide. Completely unsatisfactory given it was a Saturday, in spring. We had stayed here because of the water slide facility, but unable to use it at all. Apparently it needs a lifeguard to operate, fine, and oaks calypso plaza are too tight to spend the $25 per hour or so, to have a lifeguard on duty to operate some reasonable hours. I of course was very upset given we had checked out of the georgous sea temple in surfers to stay at this place. So I had to tell my 5 and 6 year olds that yes there is a water slide but no they can't use it at all during our stay. Just crazy. Pull your finger out. Otherwise great location, rooms a bit old, windows filthy, but the number one reason for our stay has left us disappointed and a bad taste in my mouth. I will be following up this further with management. There are any other resorts with great kids facilities- I would suggest booking somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Merryn1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCalypso, Manager at Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
I would like to apologise to your family regarding the amount of time that we are able to have a "Pool Attendant' on duty for the pool slides at Calypso Plaza, I know it is very disappointing to the children when the slides are closed down in the afternoons. I will pass your concerns on to Body Corporate regarding possibly extending the hours of operation during the weekends.
I do hope that we can welcome you and your family back to Calypso Plaza Resort in the future for a more enjoyable stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Coolangatta hotels

Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We had a two night stay on our way home in a very tired one bedroom unit which was grubby, old blood stain on doorway, something greasy on the bathroom mirror, dirty curtains & was generally smelly. On the positive side the place was quiet and they supplied plenty of towels.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCalypso, Manager at Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
I am so sorry that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us at Calypso Plaza . It is not Oaks policy's at all to provide rooms that are not up to cleanliness standards, I will address this with all staff concerned . We will be refurbishing apartments over the next 12 months and I hope that we may welcome you back to a more modern apartment at Calypso Plaza in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Booked everything online through Agoda.com, with 3 teenagers needed 2 independent rooms with beds for each and a queen for parents, sizable living room, 3 TVs, microwave, stove, dishwasher, washing machine and a dryer. Cross 1 road to get to a great Beach and a choice of restraunts Chinese, Thai, Spanish, Italian , Mexican and good ol Aussie food ! Got a Holden omega from Red Spot, and best of all Oaks is just 8mins drive from Gold Coast Airport ! A great place to stay .. away from the hustle and bustle of city life at surfers paradise.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Imbert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCalypso, Manager at Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort, we were happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us , we are very centrally located and the surrounding shops are in abundance.
We hope that you will stay with us again in the near future as we would love to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I decided to go on a last minute trip last week and got the two bedroom executive apartment for the weekend. The apartment was great, spacious bedrooms, balcony and how could I forget the pool! The people at the service desk were a pleasure to deal with and the location of Oaks was perfect, right next to the beach, shops and restaurants! I was truly satisfied and will definitely stay here again in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vison T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCalypso, Manager at Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor, all of the staff at Calypso Plaza were happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent short break with us and we hope that you will come and stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We just needed one night and it was great to find such a good spot that was ok with a one night stay. The kids loved the pool and slide and our dual key apartment was basic but clean and had everything you want/need. Good value, great location, lovely beach and loads of restaurants etc nearby. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CherylCBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCalypso, Manager at Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
All oft he staff and management at Calypso Plaza Resort were happy to hear you enjoyed your short break with us, we hope that you will come back in the near future and enjoy a longer stay with your family. Thank you for taking the time to write a reveiew on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coolangatta
0.0 mi away
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
#4 of 12 in Coolangatta
1,042 reviews
0.8 mi away
Nirvana By The Sea
Nirvana By The Sea
#1 of 12 in Coolangatta
404 reviews
0.3 mi away
Greenmount Beach Resort
Greenmount Beach Resort
#11 of 12 in Coolangatta
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
#1 of 21 in Broadbeach
7,595 reviews
12.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,626 reviews
13.8 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort

Property: Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort
Address: 99 Griffith Street, Coolangatta, Gold Coast, Queensland 4225, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Coolangatta
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Coolangatta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Coolangatta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks Calypso Plaza is a 4.5 star resort centrally located in the heart of Coolangatta, minutes from the airport and a variety of Gold Coast attractions and is located opposite the beautiful Coolangatta Beach. The resort features one and two bedroom self-contained apartments with full kitchen and laundry facilities, most with sheltered balconies that provide ocean or hinterland views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Calypso Plaza Hotel Coolangatta
Oaks Calypso Plaza Coolangatta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing