We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend at Calypso Resort. Acess to the beach, restaurants, coffee shops, rainbowbay massage and music.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Coolangatta
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Good hotel, cool pool, right opposite beach. Good restaurants all through town. Good position for the Cooly Rocks on rockandroll festival. Plenty of Massage therapists to choose from.The best massage therapists were at RainbowbayMassage at Tweed Heads Coolangatta state border on Flagstaff Hill overlooking Duranbah Beach. Check rainbowbaymassage.com- we had a sports and remedial massage there. The coffee shop on top of the hill has excellent food and coffee also. The resort was in the best position in town to acess all shops and services. Close to the local rsl and surf clubs and pubs.

Room Tip: rooms on the north side face the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCalypso, Manager at Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

We hope you enjoyed The Cooly Rocks on Festival last weekend in Coolangatta. Thank you for responding to Trip Advisor regarding your stay with us, we do hope that you will come and stay with us again in the near future .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (681)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

486 - 492 of 681 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here over the Easter break. The room was a little on the small side but overall it was clean. The walk to the room was quite long and the corridor was very outdated and the carpeting terrible. However I believe they might be in the middle of refurbishing the hotel so will reserve my opinion for another visit. Our room faced the main street but there was no traffic noise when the door was closed. The view from our balcony was nice - wand also had a couple of rainbow lorikeets come visit. Overall the stay was enjoyable. The location is perfect - close to shops and transport to either Tweed Heads or up towards Surfers Paradise. Plenty of eateries and restaurants and Twin Towns was only 5 minutes walk away.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TNM_MAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCalypso, Manager at Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

All of the Staff and Management were happy to hear you enjoyed your Easter Break with us at Calypso Plaza Resort, as mentioned we are centrally located to all shops and the beach, we hope that you will come and stay with us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed a week for work. It's in a great location but just a bit dated. Our room was suffice, however didn't like the fact rooms are only serviced for an additional fee. We weren't aware of that.

In saying that staff are nice, great spot near shops and the beach. Centro shopping complex with Woolworths etc is only a 10-15 min walk (in NSW...lol). Loved the tacky games room near the lobby with pinball machines etc lol.

For the price, would stay here again :)

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aussieflyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCalypso, Manager at Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

All of the Staff at Calypso Plaza would like to thnak you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor, the rooms are all due for a refurbishment in the near future where I am sure we will be able to update our furnishings. I do hope that we can all welcome you back again to stay with us at Calypso Plaza soon this time for a holiday instead of a working stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We have stayed here many times over the last 5 years and have enjoyed it every time. We stayed for 2 nights last week in a 1 bedroom executive apartment and enjoyed our short break. However, the cleaners need to be more thorough and check everying more carefully when cleaning. All the glasses in the kitchen needed to be washed, it looked like the previous occupants didn't bother to use the dishwasher and just rinsed the crockery and put it back in the cupboards. On our previous stay 6 months ago, there were a few shards of glass on the kitchen floor and the bed mattress had springs poking out the side which wasn't picked up by the cleaners when they changed the sheets. Apart from cleaning, the Calypso is located in a great spot across from the beach with good restaurants nearby. The staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank viaggio14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCalypso, Manager at Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding Calypso Plaza Resort. I appreciate the feedback regarding any cleaning issues and I will ensure that this area is revisited with all staff concerned. I do hope that you will come and stay with us again in the near future where I am sure you will find the facilities and cleanliness much improved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed here recently and were very impressed with the service, location (close to the beach restaurants and the airport), cleanliness and the hotel/ apartment we had and the beautiful pool. We had a 2 bedroom executive suite on the 4th floor (Rm 464). Its actually a 2 story apartment with a 5th floor, with all the living area upstairs and a small bacony with table and chairs. The weather was a bit wet when we arrived and we could not use it as it had no cover but the next morning was beautiful. It all looked recently renovated but the carpet was looking a little worn in places (thats the only fault that I could find).The kitchen is well appointed and the beds were really comfy and even though it was Friday the first night, very quiet at night also . I would highly recommend this hotel and would most certainly stay here again !

Room Tip: Choose any room facing the ocean. Our apartment faced NE would be protected in Southerly winds. Beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RAVCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCalypso, Manager at Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

We were all very happy to hear your enjoyed your stay with us in unti 464, this is a beautiful unit with a great outlook, this room was refurbished around three years ago. All rooms at Calypso Plaza are due for a refurbishemnt this year which we are all looking forward to. We do hope that you will come back and stay with us in the future at Oaks Calypso Plaza.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I have to say that this is one of the nicest apartments we have ever stayed in, and for $144 a night, why would you go anywhere else? This is a four story block in the centre of town. There is parking space out front, and overnight parking with a boom gate in the basement. Reception is friendly and helpful. Our apartment is on the top floor with a pleasant balcony with chairs. We have an inland view, but it is an interesting urban landscape - spread out and dotted with high rise. The layout is fairly conventional with kitchen/dining/living, bedroom, and ensuite. There is central air conditioning plus a ceiling fan in the bedroom, and a separate air conditioning unit in the living area. All the rooms are spacious. The full kitchen is extremely well equipped, with cupboards of crockery and saucepans, and drawers of cutlery. Also a fridge with freezer, microwave, and small flat top cooking top. The lounge has a dining setting for four, a comfortable lounge and a flat screen TV. The bedroom has a comfortable Queen sized bed, another TV, a double wardrobe with mirror doors, excellent lighting, and floor to ceiling windows looking out over the balcony. The bathroom is also large and contains a washing machine and dryer. The shower - bracing and with instant hot water - is over the bath with a shower curtain. There is a pull-out clothes line too. There are plenty of soaps and shampoos etc. The whole apartment is light and bright and attractive, except for the two paintings hanging on the walls: blobs of abstract colour, but perhaps I'm a Philistine when it comes to art! We'd come here again. A week later ... And we did! For a small premium we now have a pool side room facing the sea. The apartment is a mirror image of our previous unit, but this one has a larger balcony. The enormous free form pool in its landscaped setting with a hot spa pool alongside is a delight - at least to behold! I thought it would be nice listening to the sea, but traffic noise is intrusive during the day with sliding doors open, and at night we feel the need to keep the doors closed for security reasons. It would by good if they could be locked while open a fraction. Sitting on the balcony in the evening is pleasant, and even better in the morning sunshine. A bad discovery this time: there is no free wifi! After a week staying in a variety of local motels all with free wifi, I assumed this was universal practice, and have come to expect it. So would I stay here again? This time I'm not quite so sure!! But on balance, probably.

Room Tip: A beach side room on Level 4 might be a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCalypso, Manager at Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stays with us at Calypso Plaza Resort , we do hope we can welcome you back again in the future . Please feel free to request the room of you choice if you book with us again, of course we cannot guarantee a specific room however we do our best to accomodate all guests requests at all times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Family of two adults stayed in the family suite with two rooms adjoining. Good location close to shops, cafes and beaches. Room was clean with kitchenette and two bathrooms with two separate rooms. Secure parking onsite. Perfect location and rooms. Highly recommended for any stay in coolangatta

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank DellA2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCalypso, Manager at Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort recently. All of the staff were happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our Two Bedroom Dual Key Apartment they are the perfect family room . We all hope that you will come back and stay with us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coolangatta
0 mi away
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
#4 of 12 in Coolangatta
1,208 reviews
0.3 mi away
Greenmount Beach Resort
Greenmount Beach Resort
#10 of 12 in Coolangatta
128 reviews
0.8 mi away
Nirvana By The Sea
Nirvana By The Sea
#2 of 12 in Coolangatta
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
0.1 mi away
Mantra Twin Towns
Mantra Twin Towns
#3 of 12 in Coolangatta
4,532 reviews
15.5 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort

Address: 99 Griffith Street, Coolangatta, Gold Coast, Queensland 4225, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Coolangatta
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Coolangatta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Coolangatta
Price Range: $134 - $436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks Calypso Plaza is a 4.5 star resort centrally located in the heart of Coolangatta, minutes from the airport and a variety of Gold Coast attractions and is located opposite the beautiful Coolangatta Beach. The resort features one and two bedroom self-contained apartments with full kitchen and laundry facilities, most with sheltered balconies that provide ocean or hinterland views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Oaks Hotels and Resorts, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Calypso Plaza Hotel Coolangatta
Oaks Calypso Plaza Coolangatta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing