We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our most Favourite Holiday Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rainbow Place

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coolangatta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rainbow Place
Certificate of Excellence
Cowra, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
“Our most Favourite Holiday Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

My hubby and I have been holidaying at Rainbow Place Apartments for a number of years now and we love it. The apartments are all beautifully decorated with fantastic views. Managers Vicky and Mark are beautiful people who always remember your first name. The apartments are located within walking distance of Coolangatta and Tweed Heads shopping Centres, as well as all the lovely beachside cafes and coffee shops. This is our favourite holiday spot and always spend at least 2 weeks a year there. Actually we are heading up again in August, problem is we never want to come back home.

Room Tip: all the apartments are beautiful and all have balconies are facing the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank val123_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainbowPlace, Manager at Rainbow Place, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Hi Val & Tony, Thanks for your great review. We appreciate it so much and look forward to seeing you guys soon. Today is just a typical June day, with beautiful clear blue skies, light breeze and crystal blue water at 21 degrees. There has been some changes in Rainbow Bay with coffee shops & deli and the café has had an upgrade. See you both up here soon and you can check it all out. Bye for now Mark & Vicky Gregory Resident Managers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    12
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
22
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
BondiAustralia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed here many times, and simply can't fault the location and ambience of Rainbow Bay, very quiet at night compared to its rowdy neighbour at Coolangatta. The apartment is easy to live in and the carport downstairs is a bonus. Vicky and Mark are very welcoming and always remember your name and are very helpful with directions and shop locations.
Rainbow Bay is the best beach on the Gold Coast as it faces north with great views up to Gotham City, its protected from the winds and has the best surf that I could watch all day from my balcony. Make sure you get a higher floor above the Norfolk Pines for that extra special uninterrupted view of the great surfers in action.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a higher floor above the Norfolk Pines for that extra special uninterrupted view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TimmyTonsil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainbowPlace, Manager at Rainbow Place, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Hi Tim, Great to hear from you and thank you for your tremendous review of Rainbow Place. Yes we do agree Rainbow Bay is a very special holiday destination with 1000's of people visiting us each year. We are extremely proud of our building as a huge amount of work has gone into apartment renovations over the last 6 years. A lot of people comment on how modern our building is and are extremely surprised when we tell them it's the oldest high rise in Rainbow Bay. Being on a corner block our building has best views in Rainbow Bay all the way up to the northern end of the Gold Coast and south down the Tweed Coast. Look forward to catching up with you on your next holiday with us. All the best Mark & Vicky Gregory Resident Managers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stayed at Rainbow Place in February in a top floor apartment which was spotlessly clean, large and comfortable. The view was absolutely fantastic with apartments directly opposite the beach.The location is the best in Rainbow Bay. Short walk to Griffith Street shops, movies and restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mimistella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainbowPlace, Manager at Rainbow Place, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Hi Mimistella, thank you for taking time to write a review. As you discovered Rainbow Bay is a very special place. As we are right in front of beach we have total uninterrupted beach views all the way up to the northern end of the Gold Coast. Although your stay with us was only short we hope to see you again at another time, hopefully longer. In your review your mentioned how spotlessly clean the apartment was, however you rated us a 3 out of 5 for service, value and sleep quality. Over the last 6 years we have worked very hard to bring our apartments up to a modern standard with a extensive renovation program. We would appreciate any further feedback you may wish to over on how we can improve our offer to you. Regards, Mark & Vicky Gregory Resident Managers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

I have been visiting Rainbow Bay , staying at Rainbow Place since I was a small child . My whole family hold it as our "special place".
I was lucky enough to share it with my partner this March for his 40th birthday and he was impressed but the beautifully renovated apartment 17 but the fact that he had live sport that he could watch from the balcony , in the Quicksilver Pro, just topped it off for him.
I am glad he fell in love with the place as much as I did years ago.
Mark and Vicky are inviting and helpful.
We can't wait to come back soon

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jennim45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainbowPlace, Manager at Rainbow Place, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Hi Jen, thank you for taking the time to write your review of your holiday experience with us. Yes Rainbow Bay is a very special place as you yourself discovered years ago and now along with your partner. We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay so much and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Regards, Mark & Vicky Gregory Resident Managers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donvale, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Just had 10 wonderful days at Rainbow Place with some good friends of ours. This was our second stay, their third. The location right on the beach with all that you need just a short walk away is fantastic. Mark & Vicky make sure the place always looks its best & everything is well maintained. The apartments are all privately owned so the decor differs from one to the next but the majority have been renovated in recent years. Normally we stay in 19 on the 6th floor but due to an extra visitor my wife & I spent a few days in one of the standard apartments, 13 on the 4th floor. This apartment was as good as what we experienced in 19, just needed a bi of updating. Check out the web site for images of all the apartments so you can see what you are getting before you book.

Room Tip: Centre apartments are better for winter months, outer apartments have better natural ventilation
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainbowPlace, Manager at Rainbow Place, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Hi Ross thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was great that you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to experience a couple of different apartment types during your stay. As per your experienced the apartments are different which in some way showcases the varying tastes of our owners. When we first took over the business back in 2006 a lot of the apartments had fallen into neglect and along with it we started to loose a lot of our repeat guests.

What we did to arrest the decline in business was to renovate our own apartment and use it to showcase what can be achieved. This proved to be a big winner and it convinced owners to renovate their apartment. During the next 5 to 6 years all of the apartments in our holiday rental pool have been renovated or had a major makeover. Not to sit on our laurels we have convinced owners that renovated their apartment several years ago that is time to give it a makeover, which we are currently in middle of doing. We are extremely grateful to the owners for the investment in their apartments and for the patience of our guests who may have been holidaying with us when we were renovating, however the benefits to owners and comfort to holiday makers has been worthwhile.

Again Ross thank you for the time you took and hopefully you have a better understanding of what goes on behind the scenes. All the best and hope to see you again soon Mark & Vicky Gregory Resident Managers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

Every January for the past 6 years I make rainbow place home for myself and my family. Not only is rainbow bay the best location on the Gold Coast but rainbow place is the best possible accommodation. In fact the more I come here the more I want to stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thebigdaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainbowPlace, Manager at Rainbow Place, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Hi Guys, thank you for your review. We really appreciate positive and ecouraging comments. Like yourself many of our guests see Rainbow Place Apartments as their home away from home. It is true that it is difficult to find any other location to holiday like Rainbow Bay. We too have difficulty in finding a holiday location that matches Rainbow Bay. See you all next time. Thanks Mark & Vicky Gregory Resident Managers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed there for two weeks over New Year on the ground floor and loved every minute of our two weeks. As Queenslanders, we love holidaying in Queensland and have booked the same unit for three weeks next Dec/ Jan. Thanks to Vicky and Mark for keeping up up the good work. See you next year.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BillJaneH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainbowPlace, Manager at Rainbow Place, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Hi Bill & Jane, Thank you for your very kind comments. Once people experience our 1 bedroom apartments on the ground floor they are definately impressed. We only have the two 1 bedroom apartments that are very heavily booked. People love having the direct access to the beach and pool with it's own balcony and grassed area out front. Thank you for booking with us again and extending your stay. We look forward to seeing both again. Regards Mark & Vicky Gregory Resident Managers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coolangatta hotels
1.2 mi away
Nirvana By The Sea
Nirvana By The Sea
#1 of 12 in Coolangatta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.2 mi away
Greenmount Beach Resort
Greenmount Beach Resort
#10 of 12 in Coolangatta
3.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
#4 of 12 in Coolangatta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mantra Twin Towns
Mantra Twin Towns
#2 of 12 in Coolangatta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rainbow Bay Resort
Rainbow Bay Resort
#11 of 26 in Coolangatta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.0 mi away
Columbia Apartments on Rainbow Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Place

Property: Rainbow Place
Address: Rainbow Place 180 Marine Pde, Coolangatta, Gold Coast, Queensland 4225, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Coolangatta
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Coolangatta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rainbow Place is situated on the beach in Rainbow Bay Coolangatta on the Gold Coast. All fully self contained apartments have full ocean views and are walking distance to clubs, restaurants and shopping centres. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing