We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommodation”
Review of Rainbow Place

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coolangatta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rainbow Place
Certificate of Excellence
Dandenong, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stay regularly at Rainbow Place and have so for many years now and have never had reason to complain. The apartments are fabulous and extremely well fitted out. The view is breathless !!
One year we couldn't get in and stayed else where which was not up to the standard of care that we are use to at Rainbow place. Thank you Vicky, Graeme & Marg.

Room Tip: In winter stay in the middle rooms, lovely and cosy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ange W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainbowPlace, Manager at Rainbow Place, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Hi Graeme & Marg, thank you for you kind words and excellent review. Yes we agree Rainbow Bay is like a tranquil seside village, with a beautiful beach, close to all facilities, shopping centres, clubs, restaurants, cafes, cinemas. Sometimes our regular guests like yourselves do try out other buildings much to their dissapointment. As you know our we have spent the last six years renovating the apartments to a modern standard, so that our guests have a quality and enjoyable stay. Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year and we look forward in seeing you again soon. All the best Mark & Vicky Gregory Resident Owner Managers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    12
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
22
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mothar Mountain
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This was our first stay at Rainbow Place. We usually stay up at Burliegh heads, but decided to go further south this time. Our apartment was number 42 on the 13th floor, and the views went on forever. The unit was clean, although we had to run most everything in the kitchen through the diswasher as it was not as clean as it could have been. The bed was firm but comfortable (let's face it, it will never be as good as your own!). The local surf club put on a good meal, and there are numerous places to eat within a 10 minute walk. We will be back to stay again soon.

Room Tip: High up and on the eastern side
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cuckooman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainbowPlace, Manager at Rainbow Place, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Hi Guys, Thank you for your favourable comments. We apologise for you having to put the dishes through the dishwasher. That was our fault for not having checked the cleaners work a littlle more thoroughly. As you discovered Rainbow Bay is a very Special Place which people keep coming back year after year. Look for to seeing you again soon Robert & Toni. All the best Mark & Vicky Gregory Managers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

I have stayed at Rainbow Place Apartments on a few occasions over the past 6 or 7 years. Initially I stayed at another apartment complex - I now wouldn't stay anywhere but Rainbow Place Apartments.
The apartments are within easy walking distance of the town centre, shops, Surf and RSL clubs, restaurants, public transport, shopping mall, supermarkets and across the road from the beach!
We now own a business on the Gold Coast and have accommodated International/Overseas business clients at Rainbow Place Apartments. One told us that despite staying in thousands of apartments while travelling all over the world as a requirement of his job, overall (considering close proximity to the city centre, view and the apartments etc.), he rates Rainbow Place Apartments as one of the best he has ever stayed at..! It doesn't get much better than that!!!
The managers Vicky & Marg are very hospitable and very experienced. The rooms are large, clean and well fitted out for a short or long stay. They get a huge amount of return custom and if there is any downside, it is that it is sometimes difficult to get in due to its popularity!

Room Tip: Even the ground floor has ocean views! They have two standards of apartments - some are 'recen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MijE14U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainbowPlace, Manager at Rainbow Place, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Hi Folks, thank you for such a rave review. Rainbow Bay is a very special destination with many of our guests coming back year after year to stay with us at Rainbow Place Apartments. Over the years we have renovated all of our holiday apartments boasting some the best in Rainbow Bay Coolangatta. We hope to see you back with us again soon. All the best Mark & Vicky Gregory Resident Managers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We have stayed here many times over the past 6 year period. Beautifully positioned right across the road from Rainbow Bay, which is a great beach for smaller children, walking distance to shops but also very private. We love this place as it is not overly commercialised but still convienent to everything. The last time we stayed in March 2010 they were renovating apartments which some did need updating. Also if you have small children you can get gates from the office to block them from the verandah. The only negative while we were there was there were no flyscreens so it was a bit scary with kids to have the windows open. (may have changed since we were there in 2010)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AllyT130672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainbowPlace, Manager at Rainbow Place, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Hi AllyT, Thank you for your positive review. Yes Rainbow Bay is becoming more and more popular for holiday makers for it's locality to restaurants, cafes, shopping centres, cinemas etc. You simply park the car and walk everywhere. It is a quiet location that offers a lot for people of all ages, whether you're 90 or a baby in arms, with it's pristine and safe beach with no rips or sweeps and is patrolled 365 days a year and a park in front of the building. With reference to fly screens, no high rise buildings have them because of OH&S regulations and the fact that they are not safe, as they will not support a persons weight. We are in the process of installing window locks so that window can be open but locked in place with a small opening for added safety. Hope to see you again sometime. All the best Mark & Vicky Gregory Resident Managers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Rainbow Beach is perfectly positioned for beach and shops and has all things that make for a great holiday by the sea. I stayed in late spring last year but, before I left, booked a further 3 weeks for mid-winter this year. As the beach is north-facing, I could not imagine a better place to catch the winter sun to escape the southern winter chills. Suitable for all holidaying families, couples or friends. The managers were the most efficient and helpful in my years of experience.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank landerlorna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainbowPlace, Manager at Rainbow Place, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Hi Lorna, Thank you for spending the time to write a review for your favourite place (Rainbow Place Apartments) in Rainbow Bay. We agree that this is a great spot for escaping the winter chills. It is difficult to find a holiday destination that would rival Rainbow Bay with it's pristine beach and locality to the clubs, restaurants, shopping centres, cinemas etc. We have a lot of repeat guests like yourself that have been coming for many years and just keep coming back. It has a lot to do with the fact that all our apartments have been renovated with comfortable furnishings and modern inclusions. We work with the owners to ensure their apartment is kept up to date. We look forward to seeing you later in the year. All the best Mark & Vick Gregory Resident Managers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 23, 2012

We stayed with our extended family, the heated pool in winter was a hit with the kids along with the adventure playground just outside on the beach front, great for skate boards. The apartments clean, the managers were great and our holiday was relaxing and enjoyed by all. Coolangatta and Rainbow Bay has all we needed, No theme parks for us.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainbowPlace, Manager at Rainbow Place, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Hi Joanna, thankyou for your great review of Rainbow Place apartments and that you and your family enjoyed your stay. We look forward to having you stay with us again. Bring more of your family and friends next time. Thanks again. Mark & Vicky Gregory Resident Managers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2012

I absolutely love this place. I stay here with the family for two weeks each summer and hope to do so forever. Rainbow Place is one of only 3 apartment blocks right across from the beach and has everything you could want included decent sized, well positioned pool, tennis court etc. Mark and Vicki run a type ship and treat regulars like family members. The nearby Rainbow Bay surf club does a great meal and pours an ice cold beer.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank thebigdaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainbowPlace, Manager at Rainbow Place, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
Thankyou for for your review. We certainly appreciate the fact that a lot of our guests just love coming back to Rainbow Place for their holiday. We do feel like family with our guests as we have known them for many years albeit in a lot of cases we only see them once a year. It just feels like you were just here a week ago. We pick up where we left off talking about work and family and what's been happening. Thankyou for keeping Rainbow Place Apartments and Rainbow Bay as your special place in paradise. Have a great year. All the best from Mark & Vicky Gregory.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coolangatta hotels
0.5 mi away
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
#4 of 12 in Coolangatta
1,013 reviews
0.2 mi away
Greenmount Beach Resort
Greenmount Beach Resort
#10 of 12 in Coolangatta
102 reviews
1.2 mi away
Nirvana By The Sea
Nirvana By The Sea
#1 of 12 in Coolangatta
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mantra Twin Towns
Mantra Twin Towns
#3 of 12 in Coolangatta
3,683 reviews
0.0 mi away
Columbia Apartments on Rainbow Bay
0.1 mi away
Rainbow Bay Resort
Rainbow Bay Resort
#12 of 27 in Coolangatta
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Place

Property: Rainbow Place
Address: Rainbow Place 180 Marine Pde, Coolangatta, Gold Coast, Queensland 4225, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Coolangatta
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Coolangatta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rainbow Place is situated on the beach in Rainbow Bay Coolangatta on the Gold Coast. All fully self contained apartments have full ocean views and are walking distance to clubs, restaurants and shopping centres. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing