We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ben”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Coolangatta
Certificate of Excellence
Ormeau, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ben”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The view from the room was awesome and the proximity to restaurants and shopping was great. Undercover parking was good and the service by all hotel staff was awesome as well. We have stayed in many Mantra hotels and although this one was nice, it was not up to the usual room standard compared to others. The room was a bit dated and it was clear it had not been stayed in for a while as it was quite dusty. The room towels smelt like chlorine so unsure whether they were meant to be the pool towels or not. The shower pressure was all over the show and the temperature constantly went from hot to cold. There is no DVD player which is a shame as well. Overall we enjoyed the stay but were a little disappointed as we felt this particular Mantra was not up to the usual Mantra standard.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenE4208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt W, General Manager at Mantra Coolangatta Beach, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear BenE4208

Thank you for the feedback that you have provided on your recent stay with us. I'm glad you enjoyed the location and the facilities that we have on offer.

We are currently undergoing a refurbishment program in order to raise the standard of the rooms here and we rely heavily on each individual owner throughout this period to agree to update their apartment. With review like yours Ben, this can only help us move forward and we thank you for your honesty and hope we can look after you again when next you travel to Coolangatta.

Kind Regards

Matthew Walters
General Manager
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    398
    150
    69
    49
See reviews for
393
429
36
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

we stayed at mantra coolangatta for coolys rocks .3 nights over q/b long weekend witch ment peak time ,so very very expensive ,at least 3 times normal price but thats what we expected so it was a 2 bedroom ocean view and that was good even the 2nd bedroom has ocean views overall the apartment was reasonable 11th floor and clean / everything work ed didnt use kitchen much but it was ok didnt go near the pool and spa as it is winter time /it looked ok . suprisingly as it was booked out completly full we didnt have any problems with lifts or staff but you only get one car park space but we knew that ,we would love to stay here in summer /warmer weather as the location seems perfect eg. across the road from beach ,walking distance to all shops cafes tourist activitys and the views .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherryle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt W, General Manager at Mantra Coolangatta Beach, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Cherryle

Thank you for writing about your recent stay with us. We are very pleased you enjoyed your accommodation so much and that it suited your needs.
Wow, what a great weekend the Cooly Rocks On is and it's great to see everyone really enjoy themselves, bring on 2014.

Thank you again for your feedback and I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Coolangatta soon.

Kind Regards

Matthew Walters
General Manager
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

This hotel is well situated a few hundred metres from restaurants and cafes etc and has fabulous views. Generally everything was very good however I was disappointed that they expected you to pay for the use of pool towels, as most other establishments I have stayed at provide this service complimentary. The parking is a bit of a hassle too. Other than that, a great spot to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julieweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt W, General Manager at Mantra Coolangatta Beach, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Julieweb

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. I am sorry you were a little disappointed with some aspects of our operation but we always take our guests comments on board in the hope that we can provide a better stay for all of our guests in future.

Thank you again and I do hope that you allow us the opportunity to welcome you back again to Coolangatta some time soon.

Kind Regards

Matthew Walters
General Manager
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Sorry but just not Mantra standard in my view and rather disappointing. Bathroom, old, tired. I was expecting more from a Mantra branded hotel. The room was a Studio Ground Floor room and it had a musty smell. Based on this room experience I would try elsewhere next time. Perhaps in the higher levels and in an apt it is nicer but I was really looking forward to something a little more special after a long day from the Mantra even in a Studio Room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StylishSuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt W, General Manager at Mantra Coolangatta Beach, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear StylishSuitcase

I'm sorry that you did not find all aspects of your recent stay with us as good as you had hoped. The Studio rooms are quite compact in size, and it certainly can be worthwhile to pay the small upgrade fee to a One Bedroom Apartment if you desire more space. Unfortunately not all rooms have been refurbished as yet but we do hope to have the majority completed, including Studio's, by mid 2014.

Thank you again for providing your feedback and I do hope we can look after you next time your travelling to Coolangatta.

Kind Regards

Matthew Walters
General Manager
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Howdy
M wife and I stayed two nights and really enjoyed our time. The Mantra Coolangatta was a really nice place to stay with excellent views over the beach, nice and close to places to eat and was really quiet. Our room was really nice with flat panel TV's in both lounge and bedroom (although the bed was too hard). Staff were good to deal with and helped us on a number of occassions. Would stay again, if the bed was a bit softer...yet we understand some like harder beds. :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view and a softer bed...:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt W, General Manager at Mantra Coolangatta Beach, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Greg B

Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We are happy to hear you were impressed with the location of our property and your apartment. We really do have a fantastic spot here.
I'm sorry the bed wasn't as soft as you would like but hopefully when you return we can provide a softer one for you.

Again, thank you for your lovely comments and I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Mantra Coolangatta Beach again soon.

Kind Regards

Matthew Walters
General Manager
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 413 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment on the 9th floor. The main bedroom had a spacious ensuite, small balcony overlooking the hinterland and ocean views. The other 2 bedrooms also had a balcony with views of the hinterland. The main bathroom also has a washing machine and drier. The kitchen was well equipped with cooking pots, pans etc, cutlery, crockery, oven, hotplates, micro wave, dish washer. The living room has 2 comfortable lounges seating 5 and a dining table seating 6. Leading from his area was a balcony with ocean views which also has a table seating 6. The pool was heated to 26 degrees. The resort aslo has a BBQ area and a well equipped gymnasium. Everthing in the apartment worked and apart from a bit of mould in the shower, was very clean. The reception staff was very friendly and helpful. Overall it was very good. This was my second stay at the resort.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneyConcordian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt W, General Manager at Mantra Coolangatta Beach, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear SydneyConcordian

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We are very happy that you found the room to your liking and we were able to assist in providing you with an enjoyable stay.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Matthew Walters
General Manager
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Fabulous hotel, location and facilities (pool, gym, tennis court and BBQ area). Would highly recommend this place for a family holiday. Everything is within reach - beach, shops, restaurants, car hire - you name it.

Room Tip: Request a room level of around 12 to 15, if available. I would definitely return to this hotel again...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HMT1303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt W, General Manager at Mantra Coolangatta Beach, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear HMT1303

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We really do have a beautiful location here and we do hope that we can share this with as many people as possible.

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we most certainly look forward to welcoming you back again real soon.

Kind Regards

Matthew Walters
General Manager
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coolangatta
0.7 mi away
Nirvana By The Sea
Nirvana By The Sea
#2 of 12 in Coolangatta
414 reviews
0.3 mi away
Greenmount Beach Resort
Greenmount Beach Resort
#10 of 12 in Coolangatta
112 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beach House Seaside Resort - Classic Holidays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
#1 of 21 in Broadbeach
7,787 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra Twin Towns
Mantra Twin Towns
#3 of 12 in Coolangatta
3,938 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort
Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort
#6 of 12 in Coolangatta
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Coolangatta Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Coolangatta Beach

Property: Mantra Coolangatta Beach
Address: 88 Marine Pde, Coolangatta, Gold Coast, Queensland 4225, Australia (Formerly Outrigger)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Coolangatta
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Coolangatta
#4 Family Hotel in Coolangatta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Coolangatta Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Marine Parade overlooking the beautiful beaches of Kirra, Greenmount and Rainbow Bay, Mantra Coolangatta Beach offers an ideal location for couples and families looking for a relaxed beachside getaway. Just 5 kilometres from the Gold Coast Airport and 25kms from Surfers Paradise, Mantra Coolangatta Beach provides a range of studio rooms and one, two and three bedroom apartments, most with uninterrupted ocean views across the stunning Surfers Paradise skyline. Hotel rooms offer kitchenette facilities whilst all apartments offer fully equipped kitchens with separate dining and living areas. All rooms have air conditioning and all are NON SMOKING. Onsite facilities include swimming pool (heated in Winter months), spa, sauna, full sized tennis court, gym, BBQ facilities and courtyard areas. The resort is within easy walking distance to local restaurants, shops and entertainment venues. At night, enjoy one of the many shows on offer at the world class entertainment venue Twin Towns, or catch a live band at the renowned Coolangatta Hotel, both only a short stroll away. Mantra Coolangatta Beach maintains its status as a favourite beachside retreat for family holiday makers, surfing elite and retirees. Maintenance Notice: As part of ongoing improvements, Mantra Coolangatta will be undertaking exterior painting works and refurbishment of balcony decks from 18 July 2016 until 2 December 2016. During this time there will be some jackhammering, chiselling and drilling occurring Monday to Friday from 9:00am until 4.30pm. These works will also require the properties pool area to be closed between the hours of 7:00am until 3:30pm Monday to Friday from 10 October 2016 until 2 December 2016. The Mantra Coolangatta management team wish to apologise in advance for any inconvenience this may cause. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Coolangatta Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Coolangatta Hotel Coolangatta
Mantra Hotel Coolangatta
Coolangatta Mantra Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing