We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight for Business”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Coolangatta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Sorry but just not Mantra standard in my view and rather disappointing. Bathroom, old, tired. I was expecting more from a Mantra branded hotel. The room was a Studio Ground Floor room and it had a musty smell. Based on this room experience I would try elsewhere next time. Perhaps in the higher levels and in an apt it is nicer but I was really looking forward to something a little more special after a long day from the Mantra even in a Studio Room.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StylishSuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt W, General Manager at Mantra Coolangatta Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear StylishSuitcase

I'm sorry that you did not find all aspects of your recent stay with us as good as you had hoped. The Studio rooms are quite compact in size, and it certainly can be worthwhile to pay the small upgrade fee to a One Bedroom Apartment if you desire more space. Unfortunately not all rooms have been refurbished as yet but we do hope to have the majority completed, including Studio's, by mid 2014.

Thank you again for providing your feedback and I do hope we can look after you next time your travelling to Coolangatta.

Kind Regards

Matthew Walters
General Manager
Mantra Coolangatta Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,273)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,083 - 1,089 of 1,273 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2013

Howdy
M wife and I stayed two nights and really enjoyed our time. The Mantra Coolangatta was a really nice place to stay with excellent views over the beach, nice and close to places to eat and was really quiet. Our room was really nice with flat panel TV's in both lounge and bedroom (although the bed was too hard). Staff were good to deal with and helped us on a number of occassions. Would stay again, if the bed was a bit softer...yet we understand some like harder beds. :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view and a softer bed...:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt W, General Manager at Mantra Coolangatta Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear Greg B

Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We are happy to hear you were impressed with the location of our property and your apartment. We really do have a fantastic spot here.
I'm sorry the bed wasn't as soft as you would like but hopefully when you return we can provide a softer one for you.

Again, thank you for your lovely comments and I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Mantra Coolangatta Beach again soon.

Kind Regards

Matthew Walters
General Manager
Mantra Coolangatta Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment on the 9th floor. The main bedroom had a spacious ensuite, small balcony overlooking the hinterland and ocean views. The other 2 bedrooms also had a balcony with views of the hinterland. The main bathroom also has a washing machine and drier. The kitchen was well equipped with cooking pots, pans etc, cutlery, crockery, oven, hotplates, micro wave, dish washer. The living room has 2 comfortable lounges seating 5 and a dining table seating 6. Leading from his area was a balcony with ocean views which also has a table seating 6. The pool was heated to 26 degrees. The resort aslo has a BBQ area and a well equipped gymnasium. Everthing in the apartment worked and apart from a bit of mould in the shower, was very clean. The reception staff was very friendly and helpful. Overall it was very good. This was my second stay at the resort.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SydneyConcordian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt W, General Manager at Mantra Coolangatta Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear SydneyConcordian

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We are very happy that you found the room to your liking and we were able to assist in providing you with an enjoyable stay.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Matthew Walters
General Manager
Mantra Coolangatta Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Fabulous hotel, location and facilities (pool, gym, tennis court and BBQ area). Would highly recommend this place for a family holiday. Everything is within reach - beach, shops, restaurants, car hire - you name it.

Room Tip: Request a room level of around 12 to 15, if available. I would definitely return to this hotel again...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HMT1303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt W, General Manager at Mantra Coolangatta Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear HMT1303

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We really do have a beautiful location here and we do hope that we can share this with as many people as possible.

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we most certainly look forward to welcoming you back again real soon.

Kind Regards

Matthew Walters
General Manager
Mantra Coolangatta Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

The ocean view was phenomenal and it was worth staying here just for those views. But I was disappointed to be asked when arriving that I provide a credit card authorization of $200 for "extras". The room was dated and had seen better days, the carpet was so dusty it made us sneeze, but the worst thing was that the sheets on the Queen bed had been slept in. I'd booked a room with a Queen + a single bed but instead had to fold-out the lounge and make-up a single bed each night. This was not how the room was advertised and was uncomfortable and inconvenient over a 3 night stay. The room rate also did not include daily servicing, but we were not advised of this, we just found out as time went on. There was less than half a roll of toilet paper available and it was a hassle to have to go to reception and ask for more. The coffee, tea and milk provisions were also inadequate for the duration of our stay and we could only get more if we paid extra. I consider this to be a petty policy for a prominent hotel chain.
The good thing is the outstanding view and prime location. I enjoyed watching the golden sunsets and sunrises and loved hearing the flocks of wild lorikeets chirping in the Gold Coast's iconic pine trees just across the road. I would stay here again but would be better prepared next time by bringing my own bedding and incidentals.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TroppoTraveller_20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt W, General Manager at Mantra Coolangatta Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Dear TroppoTraveller_20

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. I am sorry you were disspointed with some aspects of your stay.

I am certainly surprised that your sheets weren't changed prior to your arrival and I'm sure this was rectified immediately, my sincere apologies for this occuring. Our rooms do undergo quite stringent cleaning practices and I would be happy for you to contact me directly to discuss further at matthew.walters@mantra.com.au

Mantra Coolangatta Beach is classed as serviced apartments and unlike hotels, we don't provide cleaning or refreshing of amenities on a daily basis. This cost is usually factored into the rate of a hotel which is why our rates are so competative for such a beautiful location.

Again, we thank you for your comments and do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Mantra Coolangatta again soon.

Kind Regards

Matthew Walters
General Manager
Mantra Coolangatta Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for work! Initially booked a studio room @ $155 p/n!
Found later that studio rooms were only on ground floor, not serviced and noise from the road very disturbing. I changed the room to a 1 b'room apartment on a higher floor at less cost ($132) and which is also not serviced unless an extra $36 per day is paid! We arrived and could see the hotel was not fully booked but were still assigned a room on the 2nd floor which turns out is still affected by street noise! The curtains didn't close either but a phone call to reception had this fixed the next day! As a plus, the apartments have a dishwasher, washing machine, dryer, large fridge and cooking gear etc are central to shops and eateries and across from the beach. Not an economical hotel with consideration that everything after the room fee will cost! Recommend for families but ask for a room on a floor from level 5
or up and take your own basic supplies!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rebecca50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt W, General Manager at Mantra Coolangatta Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Dear rebecca50

Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your recent stay.

Our rates here a quite dynamic, much like the airline industry and they do change just as often. The 1 bedroom apartments were on a special at that time and provided great value for serviced apartments.
Unlike hotels, our serviced apartments offer the basic amenities with full kitchen facilities and that "home away from home" feel. The extra "servicing" rate is usually factored into hotels & is usually why serviced apartments have very atractive rates when compared to hotels.

We thank you again for your comments and do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Matthew Walters
General Manager
Mantra Coolangatta Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Good location and rooms well appointed with nice ocean view. However!! service at reception was lacking. When asking about late check out (1hr extra) so that our 1yr old son could have his morning nap the lady at reception said 'yes but that will be $20 per hour'. If fully booked I would understand, given this didn't seem to be the case and instead purely a commercial decision, this lack of understanding, incredulous tone and attitude was truly disappointing.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richtravel77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt W, General Manager at Mantra Coolangatta Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear Richtravel77

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay.

Please accept my apologies that the service you were provided during your stay was inconsistent. The issue you raised has been addressed with the department Manager and further training of staff implemented.

Thank you again for your candid feedback and we do hope we have have the opportunity to welcome you back to Mantra Coolangatta Beach again soon.

Kind Regards

Matthew Walters
General Manager
Mantra Coolangatta Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coolangatta
0.7 mi away
Nirvana By The Sea
Nirvana By The Sea
#3 of 12 in Coolangatta
435 reviews
0.3 mi away
Greenmount Beach Resort
Greenmount Beach Resort
#10 of 12 in Coolangatta
145 reviews
11.5 mi away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#13 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
630 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra Twin Towns
Mantra Twin Towns
#2 of 12 in Coolangatta
4,815 reviews
0 mi away
Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort
Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort
#4 of 12 in Coolangatta
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Coolangatta Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Coolangatta Beach

Address: 88 Marine Pde, Coolangatta, Gold Coast, Queensland 4225, Australia (Formerly Outrigger)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Coolangatta
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Coolangatta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Coolangatta
Price Range: $132 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Coolangatta Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 5 kilometres from the Gold Coast Airport and 25kms from Surfers Paradise, Mantra Coolangatta Beach provides a range of studio rooms and one, two and three bedroom apartments, most with ocean views across the stunning Surfers Paradise skyline or overlooking the beautiful beaches of Kirra, Greenmount and Rainbow Bay. Hotel rooms offer kitchenette facilities whilst all apartments offer fully equipped kitchens with separate dining and living areas. All rooms have air conditioning and are NON SMOKING. Onsite facilities include swimming pool (heated in Winter months), spa, sauna, full sized tennis court, gym, BBQ facilities and courtyard areas. The resort is within easy walking distance to local restaurants, shops and entertainment venues. At night, enjoy one of the many shows on offer at the world class entertainment venue Twin Towns, or catch a live band at the renowned Coolangatta Hotel, both only a short stroll away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Coolangatta Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Coolangatta Hotel Coolangatta
Mantra Hotel Coolangatta
Coolangatta Mantra Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing