We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place to stay in Coolangatta”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Coolangatta
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very nice place to stay in Coolangatta”
Reviewed May 29, 2011

We stayed for a weekend with friends. We had a double room on the 10th floor. Views were great! Room was clean when we arrived, and it was a pleasure to find it had two bathrooms. Great for two couples. Plenty of places to eat nearby, if you like Sushi, don't miss the O'Sushi restaurant next door! Over all, we had a super visit and would tell everyone about it..
Thanks for a lovely weekend!!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottMantraRes, Manager at Mantra Coolangatta Beach, responded to this review, June 26, 2011
Dear Meekster,

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts.

We are very pleased to receive hear you had an enjoyable stay. I'm glad the team looked after you and I'm with you, O'Sushi is definitely a highlight.

We do hope when you next shoot down the M1, you will let us look after you again.

Best Regards,
Scott Smith.
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,042 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    384
    147
    69
    49
See reviews for
380
415
36
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
1 review
Reviewed May 26, 2011

and beautiful views but the 2 bedroom apartment we had was a bit outdated and could use a really good clean and new carpet.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tina703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottMantraRes, Manager at Mantra Coolangatta Beach, responded to this review, June 26, 2011
Dear tina703,

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our apartments are individually owned and we encourage all our owners to be as up to date as possible. In keeping with this we will certainly pass on your feedback.

We do hope when you next make it over to the mainland, you will let us look after you again.

Best Regards,
Scott Smith.
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
1 review
Reviewed May 9, 2011

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment up on the 15th floor. Couldn't fault the apartment or the service. The location is in the heart of the action and the building has great views. Despite being on the back corner of the building, we had great views of the mountains as well as a balcony looking towards Surfers. The staff that we spoke with were friendly and helpful- great attitudes when compared to many hospitality staff.
Quite possibly some of the best beds we have slept in.
This is the only time we had ever been to the area and were left with a very good impression.
There is a great pie shop around the corner.

Room Tip: Be nice to the staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoundyHBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottMantraRes, Manager at Mantra Coolangatta Beach, responded to this review, May 10, 2011
Dear RoundyHBA,

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts.

We are pleased to receive your feedback. We're very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us here in Coolangatta. Our staff try their utmost to ensure you have a great stay with us. We love it here and want all our guests to as well.

We do hope when you next visit the mainland, you will let us look after you again.

Best Regards,
Scott Smith.
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston Island, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed April 10, 2011

I just wanted to say that my husband and I flew in from Galveston, Texas and had the most amazing vacation at Mantra Coolangatta! Our beautiful room and large balcony views were AMAZING! The customer service was outstanding and we would like to thank Debbie, Grace and Charlie at Mantra for making our stay so perfect! We were in our own private paradise, walking distance to everything! We were able to cook in our fully equipped kitchen and enjoy the gorgeous beach and crystal clear water! We also had the time of our lives experiencing the Hinterland Tour 1 through the Tropical Fruit World, Waterfalls and Rainforest, memories to last a lifetime! The last day we were there, we went to Currumbin Wildlife Sanctuary and had the most spectacular day holding Koala's and feeding Kangaroo's in the most amazing tropical atmosphere! I love Mantra, Coolangatta and will highly recommend this as the best place to stay on the Gold Coast!

Room Tip: 8th floor and had a breath taking view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CORALCAPRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottMantraRes, Manager at Mantra Coolangatta Beach, responded to this review, April 17, 2011
Dear CORALCAPRI,

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts.

We are very pleased to receive your feedback. It really does make our day to hear that our guests have enjoyed their time in sunny Coolangatta. I see you managed to see some of the sights in the region as well, there's some fantastic attractions in our little corner of the Coast.

We do hope when you next make the jump over the pond from big old Texas, you will let us look after you again.

Best Regards,
Scott Smith.
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2011

We were disappointed with the Mantra Coolangatta. The actual property is solid and it looks quite nice from the outside. But the furniture in our room was in urgent need of replacement.

Both our sofa and a dining chair had rips in them for all to see – not a good look! The sofa even had pieces of Velcro sewn onto it where once upon a time there had been a cover over the arms, which were no longer there. A side table had welts on it, and all of the furniture was of the particleboard variety. The curtains were faded in strips, and the bedspreads were apparently ex-Outrigger cast-offs (judging by the writing on them). The outdoor set (table plus two chairs) were in desperate need of paint.

Also, I thought it was stingy that you had to pay for additional dishwasher and washing machine powder once you had finished the ONE packet provided (even if you stayed for 5 nights).

According to Mantra, this place is their 4.5 star level – if that’s the case, I certainly wouldn’t stay at a Mantra again as they don’t seem to have anything higher than this.

I do realise that we didn’t pay for an actual five-star property, but surely some of the income can go into replacing some older furniture every once in a while (particularly ripped sofas).

On the plus side, the balcony was huge and the outlook was lovely.

However, if you are considering visiting Coolangatta, I would advise to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie_L14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottMantraRes, Manager at Mantra Coolangatta Beach, responded to this review, May 2, 2011
Dear Julie_L14,

Thank you for the review.

We stand by the high quality of our property and the excellent customer service we provide. We are known for the exceptional views in all our apartments and the time we invest in trying to meet the requests of our guests.

All of our rooms are individually owned and the majority have been refurbished in the last year, however all rooms do maintain our 4 1/2 star standard.

We are sorry your stay didn't mirror that which the majority of our guests experience.

We do thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts on this forum however and we hope you choose to stay with us next time you're up from Sydney.

Best Regards,
Scott Smith.
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 23, 2011

The Mantra Coolangatta is situated right on the coast with uninterrupted views over the ocean and up the Gold Coast to Stradbrooke Island. It is quiet and the rooms are comfortable and well appointed with all items necessary for either short or long stay holidays. The Manager and Staff work as a team to provide an excellent service. Everyone is friendly and helpful. There is a good variety of places to eat, covering both english and oriental tastes. Shops and supermarkets are withing easy walking distance, as are banks, a post office, tourist information and much more There is an excellent bus service, and Coachtrans and other operators provide a good service between Brisbane International Airport and the Mantra. Overall an excellent place to spend a holiday..

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterJ20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottMantraRes, Manager at Mantra Coolangatta Beach, responded to this review, March 28, 2011
Dear PeterJ20,

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts.

We are very pleased to receive your feedback and truly happy we had some part in making your stay an enjoyable one. I hope the weather was a little better than back in the Old Dart while you were here.

We do hope when you next make the long journey over from London, you will let us look after you again.

Best Regards,
Scott Smith.
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed March 21, 2011

I travelled alone with my 2 Year Old Daughter, The Room was a great size (1 Bedroom Ocean) I had a Balcony at the Front of the Hotel which overlooked the Beach (Coolangatta, Greenmount, Kirra) and Could see the Surfers Skyline.
The Location is Fantastic! Walk to Woolworths, Aldi, Buses (To Pacific Fair, Burleigh Heads, Tweed Heads, Surfers, Palm Beach, Currumbin Wildlife Park and Many More), Beaches, Cafes, Restaurants, Take Aways, Tourist Attractions (Like the Concrete Triangles that Sit on Either Side of The NSW & QLD Border in Coolangatta and Tweed Heads)
We really had a great Stay, The Hotel Staff were Friendly and Attentive, the Room was Clean, Washer and Dryer, Large Balcony with Table and Chairs. Room Service Options, Dish Washer, Garbage Disposal Unit, Fully Self Contained.

The Pool was great, My 2 Year Old loved it, We swam everyday and the pool and pool area and seats/sun lounges were clean and tidy.

Family Friendly

In Room Safe

I really couldn't find fault. and The Airport is Honestly only a 5 min Taxi Trip from the Hotel

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebeccajaneboner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottMantraRes, Manager at Mantra Coolangatta Beach, responded to this review, March 28, 2011
Dear Rebeccajaneboner,

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts.

We are very pleased to receive your feedback. It really does make our day to hear that our guests have enjoyed their time in sunny Coolangatta. I'm glad we could make yourself and the little one comfortable whilst you were with us.

We do hope when you next jump a plane up from Sydney, you will let us look after you again.

Best Regards,
Scott Smith.
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coolangatta
0.7 mi away
Nirvana By The Sea
Nirvana By The Sea
#1 of 12 in Coolangatta
404 reviews
0.3 mi away
Greenmount Beach Resort
Greenmount Beach Resort
#11 of 12 in Coolangatta
107 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beach House Seaside Resort - Classic Holidays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
#1 of 21 in Broadbeach
7,598 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra Twin Towns
Mantra Twin Towns
#3 of 12 in Coolangatta
3,816 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort
Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort
#6 of 12 in Coolangatta
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Coolangatta Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Coolangatta Beach

Property: Mantra Coolangatta Beach
Address: 88 Marine Pde, Coolangatta, Gold Coast, Queensland 4225, Australia (Formerly Outrigger)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Coolangatta
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Coolangatta
#4 Family Hotel in Coolangatta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Coolangatta Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Marine Parade overlooking the beautiful beaches of Kirra, Greenmount and Rainbow Bay, Mantra Coolangatta Beach offers an ideal location for couples and families looking for a relaxed beachside getaway. Just 5 kilometres from the Gold Coast Airport and 25kms from Surfers Paradise, Mantra Coolangatta Beach provides a range of studio rooms and one, two and three bedroom apartments, most with uninterrupted ocean views across the stunning Surfers Paradise skyline. Hotel rooms offer kitchenette facilities whilst all apartments offer fully equipped kitchens with separate dining and living areas. All rooms have air conditioning and all are NON SMOKING. Onsite facilities include swimming pool (heated in Winter months), spa, sauna, full sized tennis court, gym, BBQ facilities and courtyard areas. The resort is within easy walking distance to local restaurants, shops and entertainment venues. At night, enjoy one of the many shows on offer at the world class entertainment venue Twin Towns, or catch a live band at the renowned Coolangatta Hotel, both only a short stroll away. Mantra Coolangatta Beach maintains its status as a favourite beachside retreat for family holiday makers, surfing elite and retirees. Maintenance Notice: As part of ongoing improvements, Mantra Coolangatta will be undertaking exterior painting works and refurbishment of balcony decks from 18 July 2016 until 2 December 2016. During this time there will be some jackhammering, chiselling and drilling occurring Monday to Friday from 9:00am until 4.30pm. These works will also require the properties pool area to be closed between the hours of 7:00am until 3:30pm Monday to Friday from 10 October 2016 until 2 December 2016. The Mantra Coolangatta management team wish to apologise in advance for any inconvenience this may cause. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Coolangatta Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Coolangatta Hotel Coolangatta
Mantra Hotel Coolangatta
Coolangatta Mantra Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing