We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise on the Gold Coast”
Review of Mantra Twin Towns

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mantra Twin Towns
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Coolangatta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 16, 2014

We arrived very early in the day (check-in is stated as after 2pm) but the check-in staff were efficient, helpful and only too pleased to offer to store our luggage and to call us when our room was ready which was roughly only 20mins later which we really appreciated, given we had arrived early morning. Once we had organized check-in, the staff assisted hubby to set up golf times, finding the number for us and explaining how we needed to take in the fact we were on the border of a time change.
Room 105 that we had was excellent, overlooking the pool and conveniently close to the stairwell down to the pool which meant we didn’t need to go across the hotel or in an elevator with wet pool clothes. The room itself had a comfortable bed, fridge, microwave, a desk and couple of chairs, tea making items (North-Americans who love their morning coffee may wish to note that there was not the coffee items we are used to finding in a hotel room), plenty of storage, spacious bathroom and a super balcony with chairs and table to sit out on overlooking the pool area.
The balcony became my favourite place each night as the sun began to go down. The abundance of many different beautiful birds would flock to roost and for about an hour each night, the crescendo of bird songs would fascinate me ending abruptly all at once over a period of around five minutes as they all appeared to agree it was time to sleep!
The breakfast buffet was of excellent quality in a nicely situated lounge. Plenty of choices in hot and cold items, waffle/toast makers, coffee not bad, several juices and fresh fruit were also available. Very well maintained, restocked and tables constantly cleared and cleaned. There are also local newspapers and nice seating areas overlooking a fountain along the one side.
Beside a putting green (crazy golf style), was a pool that had both shaded and non shaded areas with a few umbrella tables, chairs and loungers. Note there are no towels pool side and there is a charge for them if you ask at reception. Either take towels from your room or bring your own. I also found the loungers a tad uncomfortable – they did not have cushions of any type and were just plastic. The pool has a toddler area off to the side and was roped off for those of liking to do laps from the other side which was the shallow area for youngsters, non-swimmers and those who just prefer to keep their feet on the ground more. There are washrooms opposite the pool which you will need your hotel key card for.
Location was perfect with the beach roughly 4/5minutes walk acoss the street and there is an abundance of stores, restaurants, grocery stores, etc. in and around the hotel which you can easily walk to. If you want to stock up on anything from food to sundries, groceries to liquor supply, skip the small 7/11 store outside the hotel if you can (ok for emergency stuff like milk or bandaids but overly expensive) and take a stroll of a few blocks right as you come off of the hotel driveway, turning right again from the driveway and walk to the Woolworths and other stores in the same block for all your needs.
There are plenty of places close by, including the hotel lobby area you can get free Wi-Fi and good connections.
The beach, the shops and the restaurants and the hotel itself made for a perfect location of paradise on the Gold Coast.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MAXII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caretaker M, General Manager at Mantra Twin Towns, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such an in depth review on your recent stay at Outrigger Twin Towns Resort, the team and I sincerely appreciate it. It was our honour to host you on your holiday to the Gold Coast.

We are delighted to have met with your expectations on the destination and close proximity to shops, cafes, restaurants, shopping centres, Gold Coast Airport and the facilities and features of the resort. Thank you for making particular mention of our staff and their level of attentiveness and service which is even more appreciated. I am most fortunate to work with these amazing people and have them apart of my team. Our staff pride themselves on being good hosts which is one of our company values.

I hope to welcome you back when you next visit Australia, Coolangatta.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,413)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,732 - 3,738 of 4,413 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2014

This is a huge resort, which mainly caters for the more mature clientele. This was an ideal location for us as we were attending Opera on the beach, just a five minute walk away. There was entertainment in the hotel lounge bar at both lunchtime and evening. Breakfast was rather busy however, and there was a queue of people waiting to have tables. Having said that, the staff hands it well, and tables were cleared and allocated very efficiently.
Good value for money.

Room Tip: Some rooms are being refurbished, so a good idea to check what type of room has been allocated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CherylStockbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caretaker M, General Manager at Mantra Twin Towns, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at Outrigger Twin Towns Resort and for taking the time to write and share your experiences via Tripadvisor.

“Opera on the Beach” produced by Opera Australia and held on Greenmount Beach on Friday 09th, Saturday 10th and Sunday 11th May was an absolute magical production. One of the world’s favourite operas, Mozart’s The Magic Flute was directed by Michael Gow and featured stars from Opera Australia’s finest singers alongside a chorus drawn from community choirs and the Gold Coast’s own surf life saving clubs. We are thrilled that you were able to experience this magical production exclusive to Coolangatta.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Stayed at the Twin Towns recently and found the self contained apartment very modern and comfortable.The combined panoramic views of the mountains and the sea, a wonderful bonus.
The one thing that annoys me is that all hotels only provide 2 bath towels even if there is more than one person staying. Eg; 1 person = 2 bath towels, 2 people = 2 bath towels. The Twin Towns is no exception but if you call house keeping for an extra towel there is a charge. Seriously!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dora J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caretaker M, General Manager at Mantra Twin Towns, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write and provide honest feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Outrigger Twin Towns Resort.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and were able to experience an outlook with panoramic views of the mountains and the sea. I appreciate the feedback on areas we can investigate for improvement and will review with our team and our owners.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the resort in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Part of a big complex, we were high up so had a great view. We have been here a few times and usually had the show and stay package, which are generally excellent value.
The rooms are well presented and you are spoilt for choice with the cafes at the adjoining club.
However don’t get club focused. We go out and about as well as there are some good eateries along the beach

Room Tip: The higher the better for the view, Lifts are busy after 8.30 Sunday morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tenterfieldrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caretaker M, General Manager at Mantra Twin Towns, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts via Tripadvisor. We are honoured to have welcomed you back to the resort once again and thank you for your loyalty.

...we, as Hosts, welcome and entertain our guests and friends with warmth and generosity.

One of the values under which we manage our business and perhaps the one most genuinely undertaken by the team here at Outrigger Twin Towns Resort. It is a pleasure to come to work every day and I certainly use this forum to extend my sincerest of thanks to all staff and acknowledge their efforts in prompting reviews such as yours.

We hope that your next visit will be in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Clean, comfortable, convenient and economical, what more could one want? It's a big hotel, rather sterile in atmosphere but the staff are good, courteous and efficient. Rooms are spacious with good views. It's sited just a short walk from a great beach and many local attractions. The deal we had was very reasonable by local standards and included an excellent buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caretaker M, General Manager at Mantra Twin Towns, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Thank you for choosing Outrigger Twin Towns Resort and also for taking the time to write and share your experience.

Thank you for your kind words on our service delivery; I am very pleased to share your comments with the team. Our team are proud hosts who truly enjoy their role in your stay. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the buffet breakfast which is certainly popular amongst locals and our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

The hotel is part of a large complex of the club, restaurants and conference venue. The room was decently furnished and very quiet. The only major downside was that there was no room service. You can grab a pizza from the club's pizza bar and take it back to your room though. The restaurants downstairs in the club won't charge back to your room account which was slightly annoying. I also ate at the Chinese and had yum cha. It was the only time I've ever eaten at a Chinese restaurant where they didn't have chopsticks. You also could only get a drink by going up to the bar yourself. Very RSL-ish.

No daily housekeeping in the rooms either and it was very hot if the blinds were left open all day.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozallens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caretaker M, General Manager at Mantra Twin Towns, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write and provide valuable feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Outrigger Twin Towns Resort.

We are pleased to read that you were able to experience the various facilities at Twin Towns Clubs and Resorts which offers four levels of dining, gaming and entertainment. Feedback regarding Orient Restaurant is appreciated and has been forward directly to the owner of this outlet for their attention.

We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Great room with fantastic views across the river and city from the 14th floor. Very happy with the location and although the decor is a little tired the facilities make up for it. Only here on a one night stay but would definitely look at this hotel for a longer stay. Friendly staff and a late checkout was not a problem.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kylie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caretaker M, General Manager at Mantra Twin Towns, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Thank you for your review and for sharing via this forum. We appreciate your kind words on our service delivery and so pleased to share your comments with the team.

So pleased that we were able to host another “happy customer” with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Coolangatta soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coolangatta
0.2 mi away
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
#5 of 12 in Coolangatta
1,186 reviews
11.6 mi away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
12.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Greenmount Beach Resort
Greenmount Beach Resort
#11 of 12 in Coolangatta
126 reviews
13.7 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#10 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,987 reviews
13.2 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Twin Towns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Twin Towns

Address: Corner of Griffith and Wharf Streets | Tweed Heads NSW and Coolangatta, Coolangatta, Gold Coast, Queensland 4225, Australia (Formerly Outrigger Twin Towns Resort)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Coolangatta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Coolangatta
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Coolangatta
#2 Family Hotel in Coolangatta
Price Range: $103 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Twin Towns 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Twin Towns is the perfect Gold Coast accommodation to put you in the centre of everything. You're right on the doorstep of the Twin Towns Services Club for easy access to all of the entertainment, restaurants and bars - you've only to stroll through Mantra Twin Towns' covered walkway. There are many beautiful beaches and famous surf breaks nearby, some excellent shopping and great variety of eating places. On site you have a choice of heated indoor and outdoor swimming pools, tennis courts, a fitness centre and steam room, outdoor barbecue area, mini golf course and games room. Maintenance Notice As part of ongoing improvements, Mantra Twin Towns will be closing the outdoor pool from 9 October until 17 November 2017 to replace the decking. The indoor pool, spa and sun lounging areas will remain open and available for guest use. Garden refurbishment works are expected to take place on the driveway of the Hotel from 20 November until 22 December 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mantra Twin Towns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Twin Towns Hotel Coolangatta
Coolangatta Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing