We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting old, but great location”
Review of Mantra Twin Towns

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mantra Twin Towns
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Coolangatta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2014

This hotel is in a great location - right in the thick of things at Coolangatta. The beach is just a short stroll through and arcade and across the road. It's our first return visit for about 4 year, we had a bad experience last time at this hotel, but the great price and friendly staff over the phone encouraged us to try again. We went in January so the weather as expected was a little damp which made the room smell a little musty. The rooms are a great size for a family of 4 we didn't feel crowded at all. The balcony above us was being cleaned and we had to move all our towels and things inside as they water poured over the edge, hence no where to sit till the next day once the sun came out to dry everything. There is also nowhere to sit at the pool either to watch the kids while they swim when it's raining but they still had a nice time. Wont be rushing back but I wouldn't say not to give it a try.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caretaker M, General Manager at Mantra Twin Towns, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

First, welcome back and thank you for choosing to stay with us again at Outrigger Twin Towns Resort again.

We are absolutely thrilled that you allowed us the opportunity to welcome you and your family back to the resort despite a previous unpleasant experience. Coolangatta is the perfect beach holiday offering everything within walking distance and no hustle and bustle; so that you are able to take time and relax. We appreciate the feedback regarding the pool facilities and lack of undercover areas around the outdoor swimming pool. We can advise that the resort does feature an indoor pool in the Harbour Tower that is perfect when weather is poor.

We hope that when you are in Coolangatta next that we will have the opportunity to host you and your family again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,726)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4,069 - 4,075 of 4,726 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2014

We stayed 3 nights during February and enjoyed the break. Lovely views and quiet! Close to everything, beach, shops and Airport. Club and lots of dining options attached. Wonderful, fresh Breakfast. Even a deal for Taxi return to Airport!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caretaker M, General Manager at Mantra Twin Towns, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Ann, we sincerely thank you for the positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Outrigger Twin Towns Resort.

We are thrilled to read that we were able to make your three day break an enjoyable one. Twin Towns Services Club offers an array of dining options and entertainment with beautiful views of Jack Evans Harbour; all which you were able to experience.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to our resort once again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We had the opportunity to have a Monday break away from work and the kids, I am a member of twin towns service club and some of my work mates told me about the resort.i did some checking and found 1 night for 2 plus breakfast for under $150 how good is this the wife and I try to get down the coast every month or so and stay at motels ranging from 100 to 130 (no brekkie )
after our initial stay and a brekkie to kill for we will return. great value for money Great room and all you can eat chef on hand brekkie you better believe we will be back

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caretaker M, General Manager at Mantra Twin Towns, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Thank you Darryl for taking the time to write and post feedback in regards to your recent stay at Outrigger Twin Towns.

Please pass on our sincerest thanks to your work colleagues for their recommendation, it is most appreciated. We are pleased to read that your stay was positive and we were able to surpass your expectations. The breakfast offered at Signatures restaurant is second to none in the area.

We look forward to hosting you and your wife once again when you choose to stay in Coolangatta.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Lovely and leafy setting, convenient to resort area without the noise and bustle of a resort area. Spacious and comfortable with lots of conveniences, e.g. washer/dryer in room, living area opened onto large patio with comfortable furniture, king size bed, kitchenette was well-fitted and supplied, efficient and pleasant staff and systems. The staff were very eager to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Pool, sauna, shuttle to main tourist area were very appealing. Good breakfast with the B&B option. We highly recommend the off site Season restaurant in the main part of town and on the beach, book ahead for a good ocean view seat at the time the sun goes down. Short walk to beach, shopping and restaurant areas with a shuttle service for when you don't feel like even a short walk. Good breakfast with B&B option.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerSPGM, General Manager at Mantra Twin Towns, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write and share your experiences on Tripadvisor, it is greatly appreciated.

We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to explore the destination and make use of the facilities at the resort.

We hope that this is not your last visit and that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Overall good location but hotel has 2 parts. The 'red' side has nice modern rooms (called 1 bedroom apartment), but the blue side (called deluxe apartment) rooms are old and need updating - bathroom was very small.
Hotel should change smoking areas. There is no smoking in the hotel so they get smokers to group around the front entrance where you come and go through the clouds of smoke all day. Why do hotels get smokers to light up right where everyone else has to enter and exit!
Seems as though the average age was about 70.
There are nicer hotels closer to the beach (like Reflections) will stay there next time.

Room Tip: 1 bedrrom apartment - clean, spacious but limited sleep options Deluxe room - 2 queen size beds but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerSPGM, General Manager at Mantra Twin Towns, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write and provide valuable feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Outrigger Twin Towns Resort.

We are pleased to read that the location of the resort met your requirements during your recent visit to Coolangatta. Feedback regarding the location of the smoking areas has been noted for further discussion with the management team to try and alleviate this unpleasant experience for our guests.

Whilst I respect your decision to stay at alternative resorts within the destination; if you do decide to return to Outrigger Twin Towns Resort please feel free to contact myself directly on twintowns.gm@outrigger.com.au so that I may look after your reservation and stay.
Kind Regards

Leah Matters
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Stayed at Twin Towns for my birthday after visiting a while ago (and loving it the first time!). Booked through entertainment bookings and could only get a hotel room with breakfast due to the Roxy/Quicksilver Pro event, but asked for an upgrade if possible. Upon arrival was greeted by a lovely young lady on reception who gave clear directions on how to get to the car park, where to park, how to use the swipe cards etc and our room was easy to find from the lift. We didn't ask again about the upgrade when we checked in but we must have been upgraded as I thought a hotel room would be a small room but we got a 1 bedroom apartment. There was a very large balcony and separate bedroom to the lounge. Two flat screen televisions (one in the lounge and one in the bedroom, but only one remote control for both). Everything was modern, clean and spacious. The rooms seem to be owned by different investors so there perhaps wasn't the standard of cleaning that the hotel owned ones would have, but the room was by no means dirty. The only niggle was that someone who stayed before us must have had a big night on the red wine, as there was a large splash of it on the balcony wall outside the bedroom sliding door and smears of red all over the silver/glass table outside. There was also a small red wine stain on the inside of the door of the fridge. Not a real drama, but I worried perhaps the staff may have thought we'd done it!!! It would have taken two seconds to wipe over with a cloth.

Other than that, the view was lovely and looked out over the river and water. The only downfall was the concrete roof below which took away from the view but if you were inside or sitting down it was barely noticeable. Access to twin towns is easy (and all internal) and we discovered we had sat most of the first night outside near the older part (high chairs and stools near the main lounge area). We are smokers so had to sit there for the majority of the time. It was only on the second night when my bum started to hurt from the hard wood stools that we discovered the newly renovated outdoor area right on the beach/park front, overlooking the water and sand. This area is truly beautiful and resembles a resort/flashy hotel area. There are high backed cane chairs all along the glass wall and a large amount of tables to sit at, as well as long wooden tables with bench seats and a beautiful garden feature with a 'day bed' type feel - lovely décor and cushions topped it off - side tables for your drinks and modern wicker style foot stools. It also had high tables right on the edge with comfy bar stools. The best part about it was the fact we could smoke there....in the whole area, not some remote, boxed in area like most pubs and clubs have. And the area is so large and open aired, no non-smoker could be affected by the smell. It really is gorgeous. When we sat there at about 1pm we didn't leave until nearly midnight!

The club also have several indoor and outdoor gambling areas where you can play pokies and actually smoke too! This was heaven for us as we love a flutter but hate having to duck outside every time we wanted a cigarette. Loved that twin towns made the smokers feel inclusive and not outsiders like a lot of other places. The whole area is also wonderfully decorated with a really flashy, modern feel. The amenities like toilets were also top notch - 'no touch' toilet buttons, as well as taps and all had dyson hand dryers. Very hygienic! The staff were all lovely and the drinks fairly well priced although not a huge range of cider (the only thing my partner likes) so he had to try other drinks like cocktails and pre-mixers.

The place stays open until about midnight which is fine and it's nice that it's not overcrowded. There are older people there for sure but there were people of all ages there including teenagers (18 plus). There were also bands on Saturday night and a DJ sunday night with a massive dancefloor.

Overall, we love twin towns. The atmosphere is lovely, the views and seating are great and you really don't need to leave there as there are so many other restaurants and places to eat. We got there for the buffet breakfast which we think is great (and we've been to many at other hotels). This one has everything from eggs, beans, bacon, mushrooms, hash browns and sausages, to toast and cereals, fruit, pastries and freshly cooked ham. It also has a breakfast bar where people can have custom made omelettes, pancakes, waffles and eggs (poached or fried if you don't like the scrambled eggs on offer). The place is packed on weekends but we still got a good seat and the staff were fantastic. They even have ice cream available which was a birthday bonus for me!

The price is also a kicker - we paid $277 for 2 nights in a hotel room which included breakfast for 2 both mornings and even though the breakfast went from 5.30am to 10am the voucher could also be used in the Flames bistro throughout the day if you missed out on the early timeslot at the buffet.

I see some people had room issues but I would ask to be changed in that situation. We loved our rooms both times we had visited but with so much to do in the resort, we basically only slept and showered there anyway! Only other niggle was no room service - so if you wanted to eat late, it was only a choice of McDonalds or the 7-11 over the road which is a bit sad but we worked out by the second night to buy a pizza from flames and keep it in the fridge for later!

I would give it a go - it's a fantastic place and I want to go back as soon as possible!!!

Room Tip: Choose the ocean tower as you get the water views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DIRTYREDFOX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caretaker M, General Manager at Mantra Twin Towns, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

First, the team and I would like to wish you a very Happy Birthday.

Thank you once again for choosing to celebrate such a memorable occasion with us, it truly is an honour.

Pleased to read you had a relaxing and enjoyable stay and thank you for taking the time to post your comments on this forum. We issue positive feedback directly to our staff, something very much appreciated by them in recognition of their efforts. We use negative feedback as a management tool to reflect, address and remedy as part of our ongoing efforts to provide our guests distinctive service. Above all, as hosts, we strive to welcome and entertain our guests and friends with warmth and generosity. I am most fortunate to work amongst some amazing individuals and it is always great to forward on such wonderful comments about their service delivery.

We are pleased to advise that Signatures Restaurant offer a takeaway in room service on Friday and Saturday nights. We look forward to welcoming you back when next you are in Coolangatta.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

I stayed here for a couple of nights of fun at Coolangatta. I expected more of an Outrigger, but it's not the worst place you could stay.

Good
- location is handy
- breakfast wasn't too bad (but omg the coffee out of the machine is horrible)
- okay view to beach from room
- pool looked nice, even though I didn't make it there.
- Twin Towns is just across the walkway, which is handy I guess. But the place is a depressing mini-casino filled with old people playing slot machines or eating cheap under fluro lights - no real atmosphere at all really. We tried to head over there for dinner, but the 'restaurants' are more like retirement home cafeterias. There isn't nice place to share a romantic meal, which seemed odd.

Bad
- Tiny, uncomfortable bed. Definitely not a King, maybe a double even.
- pillows flat and useless
- curtains don't block out light, so you are getting up when that sun rises over the ocean at 5:30am
- bathroom was old & dirty, with a shower over bath
- no minibar, just an empty fridge
- no room service, it seemed like everyone from the Outrigger was across the street at 7-Eleven when I had to go there to get a snack
- no privacy on balcony, the tattooed male couple in speedos next door was not the kind of view I expected when trying to relax on the deck... haha

Basically this isn't a hotel like other Outriggers around the world. It seems to be individually owned apartments and the decor, bed etc inside are a lucky dip as to what you receive. Our bed was small and uncomfortable - the complete opposite of what you expect from a hotel. And if a hotel can't give you a good night's sleep - then what is it really good for?

Room Tip: Of course, try to overlook the ocean if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TrySmiling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caretaker M, General Manager at Mantra Twin Towns, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at Outrigger Twin Towns Resort and taking the time to write and provide valuable, honest feedback.

We are pleased to hear the location, breakfast, facilities and close proximity to Twin Towns Services Club worked well for your short break to Coolangatta. Unfortunate that the balcony location and room features including the bedding didn’t quite fit with the level of comfort that you were expecting.

Outrigger Hotels and Resorts feature four resorts within Australia in Noosa, Coolangatta, Surfers Paradise and Airlie Beach. All four resorts do not feature mini bars which is reflective on our website and in all of our marketing. Room service is offered on Friday and Saturday nights otherwise there are a number of restaurant options in Coolangatta and or at Twin Towns Services Club that provide takeaway/delivery options.

Should the location, brand and facilities meet with potential travel requirements in the future, we would be most grateful for the opportunity to welcoming you in again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coolangatta
0.2 mi away
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
#4 of 12 in Coolangatta
1,246 reviews
11.6 mi away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
12.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#8 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
1,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#10 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3,189 reviews
0.2 mi away
Greenmount Beach Resort
Greenmount Beach Resort
#10 of 12 in Coolangatta
138 reviews
13.4 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#13 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Twin Towns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Twin Towns

Address: Corner of Griffith and Wharf Streets | Tweed Heads NSW and Coolangatta, Coolangatta, Gold Coast, Queensland 4225, Australia (Formerly Outrigger Twin Towns Resort)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Coolangatta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Coolangatta
#2 Family Hotel in Coolangatta
#2 Luxury Hotel in Coolangatta
Price Range: $105 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Twin Towns 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Twin Towns is the perfect Gold Coast accommodation to put you in the centre of everything. You're right on the doorstep of the Twin Towns Services Club for easy access to all of the entertainment, restaurants and bars - you've only to stroll through Mantra Twin Towns' covered walkway. There are many beautiful beaches and famous surf breaks nearby, some excellent shopping and great variety of eating places. On site you have a choice of heated indoor and outdoor swimming pools, tennis courts, a fitness centre and steam room, outdoor barbecue area, mini golf course and games room. Maintenance Notice From the 29 January until 29 March 2018 the lifts of the Ocean Tower at Mantra Twin Towns are going through a significant refurbishment. Each lift will be out of service for 2 weeks per lift. There will always be 2 of the 3 lifts operational throughout this time. We apologise for any inconvenience this may cause. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mantra Twin Towns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Twin Towns Hotel Coolangatta
Coolangatta Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing