We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY”
Review of Mantra Twin Towns

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra Twin Towns
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Coolangatta
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

What an absolute disappointment, booked for Valentines weekend away, turned out to be a major upset. Took over an hour to just book in, was not allowed in carpark until booked in, so hubby had to sit in the car in heat for over an hour. Was given the incorrect directions to carpark and lift entry, another couple walking with us were also given the wrong instructions. When carrying our luggage to where we thought was correct area, then discovered we had to go to the other end of the carpark for correct lift. Got out in the lift to a dim, stinking hot passage way, very uninviting. Thinking this would be the end of the stress, no !! we entered our room. The couch in the lounge area was so filthy and stained, we had to put a blanket over it to be able to sit on it. The cushions felt so dirty we had to remove them. The dust on the TV and cabinet was two inches thick, the lamp was rusted, the stainless steel stove and dishwasher was covered in filthy fingerprints. We spent the entire weekend with only two towels, and couldn't get through to reception to ask for any more. NEVER AGAIN, what a dump

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lynette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caretaker M, General Manager at Mantra Twin Towns, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write and provide valuable feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Outrigger Twin Towns Resort.

Please accept my sincerest apologies for any underperformance from our reception team with regards to lack of instruction provided on arrival. We do not tolerate poor performance and will address this with the department to alleviate unnecessary inconvenience to our guests. It is certainly most disappointing to read that you did not enjoy your stay and we failed to meet your expectations.

Outrigger Hotels and Resorts operates a strata title resort which means that every room is owned by an individual investor. Whilst we make all attempts to have all rooms generically presented, variations are likely. If time permits, could you please e-mail myself the room number of your apartment so that I can make contact with the owner of the apartment to provide your valuable feedback. My e-mail address is twintowns.gm@outrigger.com.au

We hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to Outrigger Twin Towns Resort to show you the true hospitality that we pride ourselves on.
Kind Regards
Leah Matters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,660
    1,405
    431
    116
    71
See reviews for
863
1,851
147
352
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (522)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
220 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Wow, what a huge and massive disappointment. This is supposed to be #1 in Coolangatta and from my family's experience, this was far far from the truth.

If management were prepared to rent out this room in the condition it was in, then they deserve this review.

Problems:
1. Mag swipe room keys are horrible and rarely work for the lifts and doors (this was a very common complaint by many other guests as well who equally were complaining and fumbling to get the lift to their correct level). Staff seemed to indicate it was our fault but I can guarantee you, it was not.
2. Our 2 bedroom room was so rickety and poorly maintained with the following problems:
Stained Carpet,
Shedding carpet,
Iron stain on carpet,
Room Service even tried to cover the worst stains by placing a footstool over the marks.
Door handles falling off,
lamp tables wobbly and unstable,
light bulbs missing from lamps,
leaking fridge (1 cup of water on the kitchen floor every morning to clean up).
Front door lock that would stay stuck in the open position
Shower soap holders worn out through the chrome and into the base underneath metal
3 out of 6 dining chairs that were wobbly and about to collapse.

The maintenance was simply too bad for it to be a one off.

We never ate in cause we had to get away from the place.

This is not much better than a poorly managed retirement place where people seem to not care about how functional a place should be. There are people who live in some units and it seems like there is a very poor management of the facilities .... especially the room we were in.

If a good room was a lucky draw, we missed out.

We are repeat customers to Coolangatta but will never return to this place. We are already looking for other places to stay when we next visit where things are better managed.

Yes, I said there were good things overshadowed by the bad. The kids enjoyed the out door pool and putt putt. That's it.

Room Tip: Ask if the room has been recently refurbished .... or else you will get a shocker. Also, ask for a n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank fishinwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caretaker M, General Manager at Mantra Twin Towns, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write and provide valuable feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Outrigger Twin Towns Resort.

First, it is disappointing to read that we failed to meet your expectations with regards to the standard and features of our apartment style accommodation. I write to advise that your comments have been received for follow up at property level. On a positive note we are pleased to read that you and your family enjoyed the facilities during your stay.

The team and I are very proud of the number one ranking that we have held for the past 2 ½ years for the destination and this ranking is supported by the large number of repeat clientele and subsequent reviews of their experiences. I respect your decision with regards to not returning to Outrigger Twin Towns Resort and hope that you and your family continue to holiday and enjoy your time in Coolangatta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We are spending a couple of nights here in a one bedroom apartment. Wow it is modern,clean well equipped and we have a view of the sea. There is also a washer and dryer.would recommend this to every one.

Room Tip: We had room 547 which had a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caretaker M, General Manager at Mantra Twin Towns, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with Outrigger Twin Towns Resort via Tripadvisor.

We are so pleased to read that you had a great stay and that the one bedroom apartment, level of cleanliness and features of our apartment style accommodation exceeded your expectations. We hope to welcome you back to the resort and Coolangatta in the near future for another getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

The Resort is immediately adjacent to and connects with the Twin Towns Club - a sort of oversized "RSL".
The accommodation was neat clean and tidy. The room was small but for one night on business it was quite adequate. The staff were friendly and helpful. The only minor issue was the air conditioning which took a bit to get right, however, this could equally have been my fault.
There is a restaurant off the foyer called Signatures. The strangest thing was that it was closed for dinner on a Tuesday evening. Fortunately there are plenty of alternative choices along the strip and i had a wonderful meal as an Italian Seafood restaurant just a few hundred metres away.
Would I stay there again - definitely.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Helpful?
1 Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caretaker M, General Manager at Mantra Twin Towns, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
On behalf of the entire Outrigger Twin Towns Resort team we want to write and thank you for taking the time to write a review via Tripadvisor.

We are so pleased to read that enjoyed your stay and overall the resort from a business or a holiday prospective meet your expectations. Thank you for your recommendation.

We are very proud of our team who pride themselves on being good hosts regardless of where in the resort they work. It is an honour to work with such individuals.

We hope to have the opportunity to host you again soon in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

We stayed as a meeting point with out families 15 of us in total the staff were lovely and manged to book all out rooms next to each other. Great value and the rooms are very spacious. Having the rsl club next door was fantastic. Just across the road to the beach and more dining. Will go back again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angelrosie20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caretaker M, General Manager at Mantra Twin Towns, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for the glowing review on your recent stay with us at Outrigger Twin Towns Resort.

Thank you for choosing our resort to host your family getaway, we feel honoured. The team and I are thrilled to read that we were able to meet your requests and accommodate you and your family within close proximity. Thank you for your recommendation and we are very pleased to read that we will have the opportunity to welcome you all back next time you are in Coolangatta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We stayed at this hotel after flying from Sydney to Coolangatta to connect with an early morning flight the next day. The hotel is a convenient 5-7 minute taxi ride from the airport. The cost of the taxi was around $17. Check in was efficient and the front desk staff were pleasant and welcoming. Our room was comfortable, clean and well maintained and had a small kitchenette. A couple of small minus points - the room does not have a portable safe and there was no ventilation in the bathroom.

We made our booking directly with the hotel and were pleasantly surprised at the bed & breakfast rate. Breakfast was standard buffet style that was good but not great.

The adjoining Twin Towns RSL Club is conveniently located with various Restaurant / Cafe options. We ate in the Chinese restaurant and the food was good and reasonably priced. The menu is more a fusion of a few Asian styles rather than traditional Chinese.

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor looking toward the beach. Unfortunately there was little or no view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caretaker M, General Manager at Mantra Twin Towns, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay with us at Outrigger Twin Towns Resort.

Outrigger is a wonderful employer and it is pleasing to read comments from our guests who praise our service delivery of staff who pride themselves on being good hosts.

It is also pleasing to read how much you enjoyed the resort’s location and convenience from the Gold Coast Airport, room layout and facilities along with the quality of the buffet breakfast hosted in Signatures Restaurant. You are welcome to place a request for a high floor with views for future reservations and the team and I will make all efforts to try and facilitate.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Recently had to travel to the Gold Coast/Coolangatta on short notice and booked this hotel for two nights. I have to say that I was sceptical about staying here but it was very well priced (through HotelClub).

The hotel is located slap bang in the middle of Coolangatta/Tweed Heads and adjoins the separate Twin Towers Club via an undercover walkway.

My hotel room was well appointed with microwave, two flat screen TV's, washer/dryer and a very large bathroom and bedroom. The bed was surprisingly comfortable.

Although the room could not be described as "glamorous", it was very comfortable and well equipped.

Parking was included within my room price with a lift straight from the car park to room floor.

One minor issue with the room's "waterworks" was rectified quickly.

There are also two pools (one indoor and one outdoor), tennis courts and other amenities including access to the Twin Towns RSL Club.

One major issue for me was that as this hotel is located on the border of NSW and QLD, thanks to Queensland's dumb "no-daylight saving legislation", you never know whether you are on Qld or NSW time - even my iphone kept flicking between the two. Good on you Queensland - one hour and thirty years behind the other Eastern seaboard states!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pb3141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caretaker M, General Manager at Mantra Twin Towns, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write and provide a review on your stay with us at Outrigger Twin Towns Resort.

Many thanks for your honest opinion and so pleased to forward your comments regarding our staff’s prompt action with regards to the “waterworks” on to them in recognition of their efforts. The comments above are appreciated and certainly useful in our address of improving our service and facilities to our guests.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the destination and the resort again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coolangatta
0.2 mi away
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
#4 of 12 in Coolangatta
1,012 reviews
0.9 mi away
Nirvana By The Sea
Nirvana By The Sea
#1 of 12 in Coolangatta
402 reviews
0.2 mi away
Greenmount Beach Resort
Greenmount Beach Resort
#10 of 12 in Coolangatta
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
#1 of 21 in Broadbeach
7,397 reviews
12.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
1,176 reviews
13.9 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Twin Towns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Twin Towns

Property: Mantra Twin Towns
Address: Corner of Griffith and Wharf Streets | Tweed Heads NSW and Coolangatta, Coolangatta, Gold Coast, Queensland 4225, Australia (Formerly Outrigger Twin Towns Resort)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Coolangatta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Coolangatta
#1 Best Value Hotel in Coolangatta
#2 Luxury Hotel in Coolangatta
#2 Family Hotel in Coolangatta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Twin Towns 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Twin Towns is the perfect Gold Coast accommodation to put you in the centre of everything. Queensland's Southern Gold Coast plays host to a plethora of entertainment, fun-in-the-sun activities and an endless supply of things to keep you busy. You're right on the doorstep of the Twin Towns Services Club for easy access to all of the entertainment, restaurants and bars - you've only to stroll through Mantra Twin Towns' covered walkway. There are many beautiful beaches and famous surf breaks nearby, some excellent shopping and great variety of eating places. HOTEL ROOMS Whether you're visiting the Gold Coast on business or for leisure, these hotel style rooms have everything you need including internet access, cable TV, refrigerator and private balcony with views over the city, ocean or river. There's a coin operated guest laundry, foreign exchange facilities, automated teller machine and complimentary under cover parking. You can choose from Hotel Room, Harbour Tower Hotel Room or Deluxe Room. APARTMENTS If you love to self-cater or need a bit of room travelling as a family or group, Mantra Twin Towns One, Two and Three Bedroom Apartments make the ideal choice. Very spacious with dining and living areas and full service kitchen. Penthouse apartments are also a great choice, with stunning views across the ocean and Gold Coast skyline and feature high speed internet and cable TV. FACILITIES If you're visiting the Gold Coast on business then you've come to the right place. Mantra Twin Towns really is the largest event centre in the region, catering for up to 1,100 guests or delegates. You'll appreciate the fully equipped business centre with free internet. Free internet is also available at Signatures Restaurant and Lobby Bar where you can choose from a traditional buffet at breakfast or an a la carte meal for dinner. Weddings are also a speciality with talented wedding coordinators here to advise you on our choice of beautiful venues for your ceremony and celebration. When arriving at Mantra Twin Towns you're greeted in style with a friendly welcome, and this will continue right throughout your stay, whether you choose our hotel style accommodation or self-contained apartments. On site you have a choice of heated indoor and outdoor swimming pools, tennis courts, a fitness centre and steam room, outdoor barbecue area, mini golf course and games room. Soothing massages are available on request and there's 24 hour reception, concierge and a tour desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Twin Towns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Twin Towns Hotel Coolangatta
Coolangatta Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing