We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but one serious defect”
Review of Mantra Twin Towns

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mantra Twin Towns
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Coolangatta
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Good hotel but one serious defect”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We chose a two bedroom apartment for a three night stay last week. The hotel is great, the facilities are great, the room was great. The breakfast buffet is good quality. The direct connection to the Twin Towns RSL Club opens up even more food and entertainment possibilities. Parking is convenient, the staff friendly. Short walk to the beach and Coolangatta shops and restaurants. Very convenient to the airport but not under the flight path.

Sounds fantastic right? Only one "small" problem which you can evaluate for yourself. Around 2:30 in the morning there was a fire alarm. No problem with that. It could happen anywhere. It was probably triggered by the wild wind and rain that was lashing the hotel from ex TC Oswald. However a set of circumstances gave me real cause for concern.

1. There appeared to be only one staff member on duty (at the front desk) and she did not take on the role of fire warden. There was nobody directing guests. The staff member appeared to be on the phone the whole time.

2. A significant number of guests evacuated but then promptly re-entered the hotel foyer. Not too surprising given the weather conditions but this is not safe! Some even used the lifts to return to their rooms while the "Evacuate" warning was running. This is definitely not safe. How on earth does the lift control system even allow this?

3. As we evacuated via the fire stairs, we encountered guests carrying a person down the fire stairs in a wheel chair, and blocking egress by all other guests! This is clearly not safe for anyone. If there was a real fire and real panic there would have been deaths.

My personal judgement is that these safety issues are serious enough for me to not to use or recommend the hotel until I know that they have been addressed.

Room Tip: The ocean-facing tower has some ocean views but is more exposed to the weather. Street noise may be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick_Keogh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caretaker M, General Manager at Mantra Twin Towns, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write and provide valuable feedback in relation to your recent stay. It is unfortunate to hear we have fallen short of your expectations during your stay and I take the opportunity to provide you some feedback given the nature of the events you raise regarding our Fire & Evacuation System.

I can advise that along with our Night Auditor, Beth, I was personally in attendance of the two separate fire alarms in almost succession in the early hours of Monday 28th January, 2013. Both fire alarms were confirmed as false alarms as acknowledged by the attending NSW Fire Brigade and their reset of our Fire and Evacuation system. Without cause, we let it go into evacuation on both occasions and make no apology for doing so given the implications if it was indeed an actual fire and the potential impact to the property and, more so, human life. The implications of having the property go into evacuation and with our guests having to evacuate unnecessarily, but the alternative is of far more concern to me. We do offer our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience but trust you understand when we are dealing with matters of this magnitude the safety of our guests, staff and owners remains our priority.

The use of lifts was authorised by the NSW fire brigade who I hand all authority over to upon their arrival, which I am sure you understand and can appreciate. Secondly you make mention regarding guests being allowed to stand inside, which common sense should prevail, that we can’t enforce guests to stand outside, in the middle of a cyclone to experience winds of up to 110km/p, flying objects including furniture and heavy rain fall. Fire stairs are fire rated and are a safe place for guests to wait, especially in wheelchairs, until the fire brigade arrives to access the situation and advise directives from there.

I hope the above provides the insight that you were seeking and welcome you to contact myself directly on twintowns.gm@outrigger.com.au, Ms Leah Matters, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,816 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,723
    1,455
    445
    119
    74
See reviews for
900
1,908
152
363
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (525)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gosford
1 review
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Our stay at the Twin Towns Outrigger was found at short notice and the assistance offered by your rception staff was most rewarding. We are both in our seventies and very much enjoyed our stay and the welcome and service we received at all times during our stay. We will arrange all future accommodton in advance next time and will make Outrigegers our home away from home when we next visit Coolangatta.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caretaker M, General Manager at Mantra Twin Towns, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor and for sharing your experience with us. It was heart warming to read that you have chosen Outrigger Twin Towns Resort as your home away from home and we hope your next visit is very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stayed in a 2 bedroom for 3 nights around new years period

Room had a very nice breeze in there, plus air con and easy car parking

Outdoor pool was nice and spa was good as well.

Room was very large facing the hinterland. Had a few friends who got rooms, I think they are all different as the owners put their own furniture in.

I was in the tower closest to the beach-however it is still about 5 min walk to beach.

Buffet breakfast was a real treat, great start to the day!

Found out that the room wasn't serviced, would of been nice to of known this up front!

Great place to watch NSW New Years Fireworks

Room Tip: One that is high up and facing the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeyD101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caretaker M, General Manager at Mantra Twin Towns, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Happy New Year to you and your family.

Thank you for choosing to spend your New Year’s Eve celebration with Outrigger Twin Towns Resort. Outrigger Twin Towns Resort is a strata title resort which means every room is owned by an individual investor. Whilst we make attempts to have all rooms generically presented, variations are likely.

Apartments include a mid stay service only if you are staying for 8 days or more. Daily light or full service is available at an additional fee to the guest. Hotel rooms which do not feature self contained facilities do include a daily service and full hot and cold buffet breakfast for two adults.

We trust that you had an enjoyable stay in Coolangatta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

This is the only place we stay at while in Coolangatta. The staff are just perfectionists. They do a tremendous job and enjoy their job too.......nothing is to hard for them at any time of the day or night. Everyone should stay here. The rooms are perfect, the beds are comfy and the bathroom is a decent size.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caretaker M, General Manager at Mantra Twin Towns, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for writing and sharing your wonderful experience with our resort and our team. We are so pleased that you are just impressed with the Outrigger crew as we are. We issue positive feedback directly to our staff, something very much appreciated by them in recognition of their efforts. We use negative feedback as a management tool to reflect, address and remedy as part of our ongoing efforts to provide our guests distinctive service. Above all, as hosts, we strive to welcome and entertain our guests and friends with warmth and generosity.

We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 28, 2013

My husband could not have picked a better place to celebrate our 44th wedding anniversary. We have now been together 50 years. The service was excellent, the staff very friendly and helpful. The view was to die for and as a added bonus the beach was not far away. The room was clean, the bed comfy and with teabags and bickies on hand we enjoyed our stay from the moment we arrived. We had booked to see Russell Morris on the Saturday night so being able to walk over via the overpass was a blessing especially since I had recently broken my toes. I would not hesitate to recommend to our friends and family to stay there in fact we are already planning our next stay. Thank you to all for a great weekend and see you soon.

Room Tip: Next time we would choose a higher floor just so we could enjoy the view more
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caretaker M, General Manager at Mantra Twin Towns, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Congratulations on your 44th Wedding anniversary and thank you for allowing us to host you and your husband for such a memorable occasion. We really appreciate the time taken for you to write a review via TripAdvisor and hope that we welcome you and your husband back to the resort soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Have stayed here twice, once for 4 days and then a quick overnighter. Great location in relation to the beach, ocean views, so handy to the Twin Towns Club for food and entertainment, well appointed gym and beaut swimming pools. Great for families with young kids.

Room Tip: Try and secure a room in the reception tower as the second tower is a longer walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sitec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caretaker M, General Manager at Mantra Twin Towns, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write and provide feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Outrigger Twin Towns Resort.

We are thrilled that you and your family enjoyed your time with us and the facilities met your expectations. Outrigger Twin Towns Resort features outdoor swimming pool and spa, 9 hole putt putt course, two BBQ facilities, indoor swimming pool and outdoor spa, steam room and two tennis courts.

We hope to welcome you and your family back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

This was a really nice place to stay, all staff were very friendly and helpful (especially at breakfast with 3 children). Its really nice to be welcomed at smiled at by the reception staff. It would be nice to have some shade over the kids putput area! Thanks

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria7982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caretaker M, General Manager at Mantra Twin Towns, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
The Outrigger Twin Towns Resort team work hard to live and work by our Outrigger values which is ideally, ensuring that we do the right thing in the right way, at the right time, in the right place, to the right person, for the right reason, with the right feeling, the first time!

Our mission is to provide distinctive hospitality and value to our guests and we hope that we have the opportunity to host you and your family again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coolangatta
0.2 mi away
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
#4 of 12 in Coolangatta
1,042 reviews
0.9 mi away
Nirvana By The Sea
Nirvana By The Sea
#1 of 12 in Coolangatta
404 reviews
11.6 mi away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
#1 of 21 in Broadbeach
7,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Greenmount Beach Resort
Greenmount Beach Resort
#11 of 12 in Coolangatta
107 reviews
12.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,626 reviews
13.9 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Twin Towns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Twin Towns

Property: Mantra Twin Towns
Address: Corner of Griffith and Wharf Streets | Tweed Heads NSW and Coolangatta, Coolangatta, Gold Coast, Queensland 4225, Australia (Formerly Outrigger Twin Towns Resort)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Coolangatta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Coolangatta
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Coolangatta
#2 Luxury Hotel in Coolangatta
#2 Family Hotel in Coolangatta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Twin Towns 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Twin Towns is the perfect Gold Coast accommodation to put you in the centre of everything. Queensland's Southern Gold Coast plays host to a plethora of entertainment, fun-in-the-sun activities and an endless supply of things to keep you busy. You're right on the doorstep of the Twin Towns Services Club for easy access to all of the entertainment, restaurants and bars - you've only to stroll through Mantra Twin Towns' covered walkway. There are many beautiful beaches and famous surf breaks nearby, some excellent shopping and great variety of eating places. HOTEL ROOMS Whether you're visiting the Gold Coast on business or for leisure, these hotel style rooms have everything you need including internet access, cable TV, refrigerator and private balcony with views over the city, ocean or river. There's a coin operated guest laundry, foreign exchange facilities, automated teller machine and complimentary under cover parking. You can choose from Hotel Room, Harbour Tower Hotel Room or Deluxe Room. APARTMENTS If you love to self-cater or need a bit of room travelling as a family or group, Mantra Twin Towns One, Two and Three Bedroom Apartments make the ideal choice. Very spacious with dining and living areas and full service kitchen. Penthouse apartments are also a great choice, with stunning views across the ocean and Gold Coast skyline and feature high speed internet and cable TV. FACILITIES If you're visiting the Gold Coast on business then you've come to the right place. Mantra Twin Towns really is the largest event centre in the region, catering for up to 1,100 guests or delegates. You'll appreciate the fully equipped business centre with free internet. Free internet is also available at Signatures Restaurant and Lobby Bar where you can choose from a traditional buffet at breakfast or an a la carte meal for dinner. Weddings are also a speciality with talented wedding coordinators here to advise you on our choice of beautiful venues for your ceremony and celebration. When arriving at Mantra Twin Towns you're greeted in style with a friendly welcome, and this will continue right throughout your stay, whether you choose our hotel style accommodation or self-contained apartments. On site you have a choice of heated indoor and outdoor swimming pools, tennis courts, a fitness centre and steam room, outdoor barbecue area, mini golf course and games room. Soothing massages are available on request and there's 24 hour reception, concierge and a tour desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mantra Twin Towns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Twin Towns Hotel Coolangatta
Coolangatta Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing