We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mantra Twin Towns
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort(Coolangatta)
$184
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Gold Coast Airport Motel(Coolangatta)(Great Value!)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$144
$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$152
$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$91
$64
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Nirvana By The Sea(Coolangatta)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ocean Plaza Resort(Coolangatta)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (4,925)
Filter reviews
4,925 results
Traveler rating
2,244
1,865
565
147
104
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,244
1,865
565
147
104
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsharbour towerbuffet breakfastgreat locationsignatures restaurantindoor poolservices clubhotel roomsteam roomone bedroom apartmenteasy accessgreat roomgreat place to staytweed rivertweed headsshort staygreat facilitiescar park
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
4,700 - 4,705 of 4,925 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Wanted some time with the family and this was an ideal location with a teenage daughter. Once I had parked the car, I did not need to use it again until it was time to leave. With the beach a stones throw away and a wide selection of restaurants, cafes and bars so close, it was great. The deluxe bedroom was clean and serviced daily with fresh towels. The resorts RSL club was fantastic with live entertainment provided and the restaurants were excellent - the chinese is a MUST!!! The pool was clean and never too busy....but the real gem of this wonderful resort is the breakfast buffet - the staff can not do enough for you and the chef is a master at making omlettes and pancakes!! Well done to the staff of theis fab family resort....we never go back to the same hotel/resort...but with the Twin Towers we will be returning!!

Room Tip: Ask for Ocean View....
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrisbaneLittleTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caretaker M, 255335 at Mantra Twin Towns, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2012

'Great 3 nights away'
Thank you for your time taken to post your review, it definitely sounds as though you and your family enjoyed your stay. Plus had an opportunity to enjoy both the resort and Twin Towns Service Club facilities. I think many of our guests would agree with you and your comments in relation to the restaurants and the buffet breakfast provided. Also delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much that you have promised to return. We would be delighted to welcome you back any time. Thank you again for your review and comments, glad that you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Room & facilities were great. Only complaint is the lifts which were very slow and took a long time to arrive.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kejmman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caretaker M, Manager 255335 at Mantra Twin Towns, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2012

‘Very Relaxed Comfortable Stay’ Thank you for your comments and please accept our apology for any inconvenience that may have been experienced due to the demands placed on the lift service during such a busy time during the holiday season. Pleased that you found both room and facilities to be great!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

All staff,Joe/Ben,the breakfast staff,had a lovely smile and willing to go the extra mile,even Joe insisted to clean our room(215)as it was dusty/ half done, we showed him.The cleaner Emma was very rude to me personally, when i approached her of what was needed in our room,.when we arrived.We walked in to find,bathroom toiletries half empty,needed toilet paper/tissues left on top of the bench,floor not done,there is more,however the third day we reported her.Joe was the one that did the stocking up in our room etc.Emma needs people skills-education/and a refresher of cleaning duties.I was nice to her,very disappointed with her behaviour.. I was taught to be warm,approachable,to smile,to have high standards in daily and full service rooms.

Room Tip: Find out where you are in the red section or blue.......Blue was better.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gail m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caretaker M, Manager 255335 at Mantra Twin Towns, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2012

Dear Gail M – Newcastle
Thank you for your detailed review and comments which have been duly noted and actioned. It is from feedback such as yours that we are able to continue to improve on our level of services provided to our guests. Please accept our sincere apology for the areas of our product and services that you feel we did not meet with your expectations. Due recognition has been given to both Joe & Ben for their support and assistance offered during your stay. Thank you again for both your patronage and feedback, both greatly appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We had a hotel room only and the room was fantastic, nice and big with a big bathroom. The room was very clean and modern and we were really happy with it upon our arrival! The breakfast was awesome, really good selection and really well done. Definitely recommend this hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Puppiespaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOutrigger, Caretaker 255335 General Manager at Mantra Twin Towns, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2012

Excellent Hotel, Excellent Location!

Thank you for your wonderful comments in relation to both your accommodation provided upon your arrival and in particular your reference to the cleanliness of the room, these comments have been conveyed to our Housekeeping Department and received with thanks. The team do make every effort to ensure that guests are delighted with the presentation of the rooms upon arrival. Also glad to hear that you found the breakfast to be ‘awesome’ and were pleased with the selection and variety presented. Plus thank you for the recommendation of the property and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

There's such a thing as a resort being too large and therefore unable to deliver. I'm not sure whether there are two or three towers to this complex because check-in was so brisk and unfriendly that there was no information provided about any aspect of the resort. For example, the receptionist even neglected to explain that our room wasn't in the tower where we were located and resulted in us carting our luggage from the underground car park up in the lift to find there was no room to match our key on the floor we went to first. We then went back down to the car park and found other guests also roaming around trying to find the lifts to another tower. We were also not provided with any details about the hotel facities, restaurants or car parking. The lack of information was frustrating and it also would have been nice to have been told on check-in that we were not allocated an ocean view room (despite the money we paid). On arriving in our room we were somewhat disappointed to find our room at the rear of the building overlooking supermarkets and other shops.
We had a one bedroom apartment that really couldn't accommodate any more than 2 people depite it having a sofa bed. The "king" bed was merely two single beds joined together. They were old and sad and sagged - they really need replacing! The apartment has good kitchen equipment but in a very tiny space and there is no space for you to store any food you happen to purchase or bring with you.
Some say you can judge accommodation by the quality of the linen and towels - needless to say they are of poor quality and so is the attention to service at this resort. I realise we stayed here at peak season but the qualtity of guests should not surpass quality. I would not return unless it was absolutely necessary!

Room Tip: If you want an ocean view - check to see that you've been allocated one so you're not disappointed when you get there. Also, if you're not told which tower you are in when you check-in... ask... it saves time roaming around this large resort.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jmkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOutrigger, Caretaker 255335 General Manager at Mantra Twin Towns, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2012

Disappointing:
This is exactly how I and the team felt when we received your feedback in relation to your recent stay with us. We were disappointed that you feel we did not manage to meet your expectations during your stay. For this we sincerely apologise and appreciate your comments which have been duly noted. It appears from reviewing your ‘postings’ on Trip Advisor that you have previously had similar experiences throughout your travels. Again please be assured that the team here at Outrigger Twin Towns endeavour to; and strive at all times to not only meet but often exceed our guest’s expectations. As you will see from other guest’s postings available here on ‘Trip Advisor’. Thank you again for your extensive detailed feedback which was much appreciated albeit disappointing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews