We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Without dispute - the best beach in Australia, literally on the front doorstep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Columbia Apartments on Rainbow Bay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Without dispute - the best beach in Australia, literally on the front doorstep”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The location is absolutely unbeatable, and the managers are probably the friendliest and most generous I have ever come across. Whilst the rooms are a little dated, you just have to step out onto the balcony to remind yourself that you are not there for the decor of the rooms. Really great value for money considering the apartments are literally a zebra crossing from the sand. Perfect for a family stay. The beach and surf at rainbow bay is perfect for kids, with a great shallow gutter for the little ones to splash in, and the waves are perfect for beginner surfers. Just an awesome beach holiday for families

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bradhay99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbiabeachfront, Manager at Columbia Apartments on Rainbow Bay, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Bradhay99

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Sounds like you are a first time visitor to Rainbow Bay and have been one over by all it has to offer. It is as you described it and we are glad that you enjoyed the surrounds and facilities of Columbia Apartments

Best Regards
Stacey Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    17
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
45
17
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Was very excited to be staying in the penthouse of the Columbia apartments in beautiful rainbow bay. However my excitement soon turned to utter disappointment from the moment I walked in. It was the worst apartment I have ever stayed in and I think the owners should be ashamed that they actually rent it out. Apart from being totally unrenovated it had a very grotty feel about it. The lounge suite had stains all over it, bathrooms revolting, lightglobes not working, crockery not cleaned properly just to name a few!! Very very disappointing.

Room Tip: Do not choose apartment 51 on the 17th floor
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank BronnyDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbiabeachfront, Manager at Columbia Apartments on Rainbow Bay, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear BronnyDean

Thank you for your review. Negative reviews are disappointing and we never shy away from criticism. I would like to balance out the review with information you did not disclose.

As conveyed to you (at the time of your stay) we are also disappointed that your stay fell below expectations. I am surprised that you do not mention our response to your concerns & how pleased you were with the outcomes achieved. You talked, we listened and responded.

Our complex has a mix of renovated & un-renovated apartments. For this reason, we do fully disclose the condition of the apartment (that is available for the dates you require). Before you booked, we supplied via email, amateur photographs (not highly edited professional shots) and priced the apartment accordingly.

Regardless of an individual owners financial ability to renovate an apartment, the responsibility of maintenance & cleanliness falls on us as Managers & we apologize for any shortfalls. It is certainly a challenge to keep everything in tip top condition during our peak season and we appreciate immediate feedback where ever possible to assist with this.

Thank you again for your review.

Stacey Family
Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

If you want to take a trip to the Gold Coast with young children you just can't go past Coolangatta and Rainbow Bay. The beach here is great, there are loads of playgrounds set up all along the water front and everywhere you look are families with little kids. No seedy nightclub scene here. There are a number of surf clubs nearby for good value meals and its an easy drive up to the theme parks.

We went during the Indie500 race and you wouldn't even know there was a big car race going on. No noise, no 'rednecks' as I had dreaded there might be.

OK, now to the apartments themselves. I was not very impressed overall. This was partially my own fault for booking a non-serviced apartment. I don't mind cooking while away and doing the grocery shopping, it saves money which is always good. I just objected to paying $1000 for our week long stay and only being allocated one roll of toilet paper per bathroom. There were two bathrooms so that meant that two adults and 3 kids had to survive on two rolls. Extra rolls were available at reception for $1 each. Seriously, I've paid just on $1000 surely you could let me have a spare roll of toilet paper. Now I know I could go buy more in the grocery shopping but anyone with kids will know that often the toilet paper goes missing in action right when you need it most, no warning, just gone, as if David Copperfield himself has just performed one of his feats of magic.

Anyway enough about that. The apartment itself was quite dated. There was no air conditioning which meant that we had to have the balcony door open, but since there was also no screen door we became host to half the insect population each evening. It was quite windy while we were there and many of the windows did not close completely so we had a high pitched whistling sound which was only fixed by opening the window further and stuffing them with towels (I could probably have used something like tissues to do the job but the only thing like that I had to hand was worth more than gold -see previous paragraph!)

The location of these apartments is great, as they are directly across the road from the beach and each has a nice view of the beach. I believe that each apartment is individually owned so we may have just been unlucky with the lack of fly screen and whistling windows. While we were there I realised that many of the other guests were regulars, probably owners or friends of owners from the way they were talking. I had the impression that the apartments are there more for the owners and that renting them out is more of an afterthought.

Overall, there are much better places around Coolangatta to spend you hard earned dollars on. For the same price I could have stayed in one of the serviced chain apartments and I wish I had. I just thought that I would give a smaller operator a chance, my mistake. With deals on wotif and the like there really is no reason to compromise and stay in below average accommodation.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank SydneySunPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbiabeachfront, Manager at Columbia Apartments on Rainbow Bay, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your review. Rainbow Bay has so much to offer for families who enjoy the peace & quiet. I have to agree with you, the Northerly winds you describe were particularly horrendous last year – the locals still talk about them.

Reviews such as these help other people choose the option that is best for them so I would like to reiterate that our complex is fully self-contained & is advertised as such in all our literature. As you yourself say, it is not the style of accommodation that suits you when you holiday.

Thank you again
Stacey Family
Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Great location straight across from the beach
walking distance to all the surf clubs for nice dinner or alternative self contained facilities handy to cook kids meals
pool - perfect for little ones and adults
clean comfortable and friendly staff
look forward to staying there again

Room Tip: higher the better to see the water over the trees
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pkbspencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbiabeachfront, Manager at Columbia Apartments on Rainbow Bay, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear pkbspencer

Thank you for posting your review. We are pleased that we had a hand at making your stay enjoyable. We hope to welcome you again at Columbia Apartments in the near future.

Regards
Stacey Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Very comfortable accommodation in a fabulous location at an excellent price. Reception were very helpful & friendly but we barely needed them other than to check in & checkout. Apparently rooms can vary quite a bit so get them to send you photos before you book. We chose a lovely room than had nice decor & was fully renovated. Stay for the view, location & self contained convenience.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelJane12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbiabeachfront, Manager at Columbia Apartments on Rainbow Bay, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear MelJane12

Thank you for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Its a great tip about about choosing your apartment from photographs and we are happy to help choose the best apartment for your needs. We do strive to making our apartments family friendly as your title suggests.

Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back again soon

Regards
Stacey Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The best thing about this place is the location. Rainbow Bay is just magic and this would have to be the best located accommodation there. We stayed on the 14th floor and the views were wonderful, it was fantastic being able to see everyone on the beach or in the pool while I stayed at 'home' with the baby. However I must say that for the price I was expecting a higher standard of furnishing and decor, eg, the bathroom looked like it was straight out of the 1980's. Everything is functional though and the kitchen was well stocked for cooking which I appreciated. I understand that all the units are decorated differently and others may be to a higher standard.

Pros:
- location location location and views
- heated pool with noodles / balls provided
- secure car park
- apartment nice and big with two balconies
- i must comment that all the other guests were very friendly and there was a really nice holiday atmosphere

Cons:
- decor / appliances etc a bit dated
- got very windy (obviously not their fault!) and therefore noisy and scary at night for 3 year old
- balcony might not be suited to toddlers or climbing kids with just basic railing
- no air conditioning which is fine (it was windy enough!) but there was only 1 ceiling fan in the main bedroom and a portable fan in the second bedroom, eg too windy to leave window open but very hot with them all shut.

Room Tip: All the rooms would have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m_and_r_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbiabeachfront, Manager at Columbia Apartments on Rainbow Bay, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear m_and_r_7

Thank you for your great review, especially your pro's & con's - they are so easy to read.

We have such a vast range of apartments in our complex and that particular apartment falls into our Moderate category. Although located very high up in the complex we have kept it in the Moderate category for reasons you have described. Tariffs are seasonal with January being very popular for school holidays. Check out our specials for May, they are fantastic!

Parents with small children should contact management about their concerns (before & during your stay). We have some great tips and strategies to kid proof the apartment, especially as Aaron & Olia (part of Management team) have small children and face the same challenges when staying in the complex.

Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you again soon

Stacey Family
Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We've been staying at Columbia for years now and each time we come back it feels like home. We've stayed in various apartments over the years from the 3rd level to the Penthouse and all have been great units. Our preference is for middle units but the end ones are also good. Alison, Olia , Aaron and Peter are very co-operative and understanding of guest's needs and provide excellent service. Fantastic views and Rainbow is a top spot, close to everything but without the hustle and bustle, it's a family friendly area with plenty to do if you want to. We reckon it's a hidden secret but we still tell our friends they should try it. Rod and Jeanette J

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juddy-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbiabeachfront, Manager at Columbia Apartments on Rainbow Bay, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Juddy-12

Wow what a wonderful review - thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience at Columbia Apartments and my apologies for taking so long to reply! You must have seen so many Managers come and go over the years - we feel humble that you have taken the time to mention our efforts. Thank you so much for recommending your friends and we look forward to seeing you back again soon!

Regards
Stacey Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coolangatta hotels
1.3 mi away
Nirvana By The Sea
Nirvana By The Sea
#1 of 12 in Coolangatta
404 reviews
0.2 mi away
Greenmount Beach Resort
Greenmount Beach Resort
#11 of 12 in Coolangatta
107 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
#4 of 12 in Coolangatta
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mantra Twin Towns
Mantra Twin Towns
#3 of 12 in Coolangatta
3,815 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort
Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort
#6 of 12 in Coolangatta
563 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rainbow Bay Resort
Rainbow Bay Resort
#13 of 26 in Coolangatta
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbia Apartments on Rainbow Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbia Apartments on Rainbow Bay

Property: Columbia Apartments on Rainbow Bay
Address: 190 Marine Pde | Rainbow Bay, Coolangatta, Gold Coast, Queensland 4225, Australia (Formerly Columbia Beachfront Apartments)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Coolangatta
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Coolangatta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Columbia Apartments on Rainbow Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Columbia Apartments on Rainbow Bay offers affordable Rainbow Bay Accommodation. Just perfect for long or short stays. Relaxing self-contained apartment accommodation with north facing, spacious balconies that bask in the sun and boast ocean views of pristine beaches all the way up to Surfers Paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Columbia Apartments on Rainbow Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing