We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very tidy hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coolangatta Sands Backpackers
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very tidy hostel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I stayed in this hostel in Sept 2012 during a university break with friends. Although we only stayed here overnight, I thought the concept was really cool. The rooms opened out onto the balcony where people could easily chill and was a good way to meet people. The bar downstairs appeared more like a local watering hole, so it didn't appear like a normal backpackers bar.

I could sympathize with other reviewers regarding staff. But I guess this is the norm for hostels in Australia, which tend to be staffed by backpackers themselves which don't have too much interest in delivering outstanding service. But nonetheless I can't complain with the service we received.

The bathrooms were clean and great, in regards to privacy etc. I would return if ever passing through Coolangatta again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    20
    18
    12
    11
See reviews for
Families
0
10
27
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
vic, australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

3 middle aged Aussie women enjoyed staying at the Sands,cheap with air con in all rooms with clean fresh linen clean kitchen clean showers and toilets. Friendly staff.Two complaints there was dust on the floor in our room and there wasnt a battery in the smoke alarm.I the pub down stairs top $10 meals .Very close to the excellent beach and supermarket coffee shops and shopping in general.Will stay again for sure

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claireread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Coast
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Unlike previous comments, we found staff & fellow stayers friendly. You get what you pay for...a bed, a shower , toilet and shared kitchen..!!!
On the down side for us, was a fire alarm without a battery.. Was going to be fixed but wasnt. A bit rowdy, but it was the Cooly weekend. Unfortunately, there was a horrible smell in the toilets, but it was in the street behind the hostel too, so we think a major problem in the area.
We would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank koallahid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Started with rude staff, young lady on the desk doesnt speak, just rolls her eyes when I had to see her about room keys that didnt work, cleaners left our door open etc. I would have been quite happy to have an uneventful stay and not have to bother her but what can you do when locked out of your own room. Unfortunately the only place in town that had room available.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smithy7856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Coolangatta hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

This hostel is 2 minutes from the beach and right on the shopping and food strip!

The rooms are directly above a bar but it is surprisingly quiet upstairs. We were in on a Saturday and had no problems with noise.

The room itself was small and clasterphobic but we were out on the town most of the time anyway.

We got the service we asked for and the receptionists were pretty polite about our questions.

We got a double private room and the bed was just two bunkbeds pushed together. The top bunk was divided by security bars so it was kind of pushing it with the 'double' room title. Also, one of the upper bunkbeds had an unflattering yellow stain. The linens we were provided were freshly cleaned and folded for our use however.

My travel companion saw a cockroach during a midnight bathroom trip. Though it was a small baby, presumably its family is nearby.

Overall, it was acceptable for the use we gave it.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fresh_Heir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights as we heard cooly was a nice town! That is correct! One of my favouritr places so far, reccomend ed ! The hostel was o.k. Rooms were modern and had good mattresses , however the staff were just a bit miserable & it felt like they were doing me a favour staying there !!!! The guy was just unfreindly. Not helpful. Great location! I heard there's better hostels on the town! Comune I heard was better! Shop around

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drdre2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

I arrived there and the first thing I have seen in my bed were dust and dirt.
I asked to change which was no problem.
After making my bed again I that the blanket is quite disgusting and the linen partially black. I guess they were all very old.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank White Eagl e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coolangatta
0.6 mi away
Greenmount Beach Resort
Greenmount Beach Resort
#10 of 12 in Coolangatta
3.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Tweed Heads
Comfort Inn Tweed Heads
#6 of 12 in Tweed Heads
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.6 mi away
Komune Resort
Komune Resort
#21 of 26 in Coolangatta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Sebel Coolangatta
The Sebel Coolangatta
#6 of 26 in Coolangatta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
1.6 mi away
Coolangatta / Kirra Beach YHA
0.3 mi away
Coolangatta Ocean View Motel
Coolangatta Ocean View Motel
#12 of 12 in Coolangatta
3.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coolangatta Sands Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coolangatta Sands Backpackers

Property: Coolangatta Sands Backpackers
Address: Cnr Griffith & McLean St, Coolangatta, Gold Coast, Queensland 4225, Australia (Formerly Coolangatta Sands Hostel)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Coolangatta
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Coolangatta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Coolangatta Sands Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is the closest hostel on the Gold Coast to the beach. Our new hostel boasts beautiful new facilities, a backpacker's night club, lounge bar, top quality restaurant and sports bar. It is a perfect hostel for anyone keen to chill out, surf, take on the beautiful beaches of Coolangatta, Wine & Dine in some of the leading restaurants on the Gold Coast or just enjoy the great view of Kirra Point whilst relaxing on the day beds upstairs on the hostel balcony. Don't wait!! Book now!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Coolangatta Sands Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing