We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Discrimination!!”
Review of Komune Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Komune Resort
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Tried to book a room here but the rude staff informed me that they would not let us stay here because we were Aussies. How can you be the face of our country when you don't even like your own people??

Stayed: August 2013
1  Thank Ashleeeeeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
komuneresort, Owner at Komune Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Dear Ashlee,
We do not discriminate against Australians. At Komune we have 2 levels of share accomodation and 9 levels of resort apartments. Our 1 and 2 bedroom apartments are available to Australians and International guests alike and we offered you a very good price for one of these rooms.

Our hotel policy only permit bonafide international backpackers in our share accomodation with passport identification. As these share beds sell for $25 to $35 per bed they can be attractive to attract non backpacker guests and this can create problems in a share room situation. We take our guest safety and well being very seriously.

We explained this to you and offered a very nice alternative room in our resort which you did not accept.

We are sorry if this does not meet your expectation but we are not discriminating against Australians, just trying to manage our hotel as professionally and safely as possible.

Kind Regards

Tony Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (290)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

162 - 168 of 290 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2013

I have recently spent a night in their backpacker room, it was a very nice accommodation with beautiful settings. Also a Mexican bistro, didn't get to try it but menu and the deco looks great! It was definitely good value for me.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lixian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed in a 1 bedroom appartment for 2 days and we loved it. Our appartment was on the eight floor, had a big terrace and great views on the ocean. The bathroom was huge and the kitchen wel equiped. Everything we wanted was there!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thibaut T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stayed here for a few nights and will definitely stay again next time I visit coolangatta. Great location and a nice decor in the bar and restaurant, I stayed in a dorm room with a sea view, a balcony, free washing machine and en suite which is very rare for dorm. The free breakfast was nice and the receptionist grace was very helpful and friendly

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed for one night in the penthouse and it was fantastic. The resort is located in a very central location, across the road from the beach and close to several restaurants and shops. It is great having the bar on the bottom level with a delicious taco bar too and perfect pool area. The penthouse has stunning views of Kirra, Rainbow Bay and Snapper beaches. It was pristine clean with super comfortable beds, great bathrooms, kitchen, spa, everything you need. It was a perfect stay, definitely recommend staying in the penthouse if you get the chance.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Talia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

stay only a night to stopover. it was sucha a pity that the wifi was only available on the ground level. it would be great is its to the whole hostel. rooms was alright but the bed was filled with sand which was disturbing. i wish you had more power points in the dorms as well. its so inconvenient. the toilet door wasnt able to lock so it was so werid..i hope you get it fix. they have a washer in the toilet to use for free so that was nice. breakfast was included and a really love that. there is also a supermarket which is just within walking distance.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SallyLCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one night and it was good. The room was nice and i liked the onsuit bathroom ! Also i had see view. Got checked in quickly and had No problem leaving early before check out time. The location looked perfect for surfers ! Cheers

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fioona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coolangatta
0.1 mi away
Greenmount Beach Resort
Greenmount Beach Resort
#10 of 12 in Coolangatta
128 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
#4 of 12 in Coolangatta
1,207 reviews
1.7 mi away
Gold Coast Airport Motel
Gold Coast Airport Motel
#7 of 12 in Coolangatta
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mantra Twin Towns
Mantra Twin Towns
#3 of 12 in Coolangatta
4,521 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort
Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort
#6 of 12 in Coolangatta
680 reviews
13.9 mi away
Budds in Surfers
Budds in Surfers
#110 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Komune Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Komune Resort

Address: 146 Marine Pde, Coolangatta, Gold Coast, Queensland 4225, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Coolangatta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Coolangatta
Price Range: $36 - $700 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Komune Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Komune Resort - Australia's No.1 Ocean Front Resort and Beach Club. Overlooking the world famous "Superbank" surf break at Coolangatta, Komune is an entertainment and accommodation hub for surfers and travellers who thrive on the beach lifestyle. Enjoy the magical location, exotic design, great beats and a friendly community spirited atmosphere. Komune is dedicated to connecting adventurous, fun-loving, environmentally conscious travellers who share a passion for surf and beach culture. Komune is a Mecca for surfers and ocean lovers, located in what is the most prized position on the entire eastern seaboard with views over Greenmount, Kirra, the Tweed Boat Harbour and back to Surfers Paradise. There is a variety of stylish accommodation to suit all budgets. Komune has been designed to include all the features of a beach lovers resort, but also to be a sanctuary for rest and social activity. KOMUNE BEACH CLUB: Komune Beach Club is designed as your all day place to hang, re-charge and charge! Kick back & listen to tunes, trawl the net, check the waves and mix good times with good people. Unlike most hotels, on weekends you'll find a vibrant scene in our Beach Club with local and international DJ sets and some delicious live acts and poolside sunset sessions. Our fully licensed public Beach Club hosts regular DJ sets, fashion parades and live entertainment and may at times not be suitable for families with young children. Noise disturbances may occur until midnight Friday to Sunday in some rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Komune Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Komune Hotel Coolangatta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing