We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kirra Surf Apartments
Nearby Hotels
Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort(Coolangatta)
$203
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Gold Coast Airport Motel(Coolangatta)(Great Value!)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$144
$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mantra Twin Towns(Coolangatta)(Great Value!)
$119
$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$152
$84
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$91
$64
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Nirvana By The Sea(Coolangatta)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (311)
Filter reviews
311 results
Traveler rating
246
46
11
4
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
246
46
11
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe gold coastspa bathplunge poolacross the roadsub penthousemassive balconybedroom apartmentclean apartmentsgreat apartmentsfamily holidaymain bedroomshort strollrecommend staying herewhale watchinga wonderful staypatrolled beachdown stairs
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
244 - 249 of 311 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed at Kirra Surf back in January of this year in a beautiful three bedroom apartment. We couldn't have been more impressed with the unit and also the friendly staff at reception.

It was my husband's birthday during the period we stayed. He has always had a dream to drive a particular car. One such car was parked in the car park which he ogled over every time we drove in and out. I wrote a short note to the owner advising him that it was my husband's birthday the following day and it would make his day, year and earn me fabulous brownie points if he could sit in the car. I left the note with the wonderful staff at reception who passed it on to the owner. The following day I received a phone call asking us to meet the owner at reception. The owner was so kind and generous of heart that he allowed my husband to not only go for a drive along the Gold Coast Highway but also to drive the car! My husband still talks about this wonderful moment some six months later.

We have since recommended Kirra Surf to all of our family and friends. The location is right across the road from the beach, close to wonderful restaurants and a fantastic pool that was great just to laze by. If you want to have one of the most relaxing holidays you can not go wrong with Kirra Surf.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Our stay was mainly great. We had a plunge pool although didn't use it as we didn't go to the Gold Coast for that. Kitchen facilities were good.
Air conditioning broke in one room which made it FREEZING. Apparently you can't have heat and cool at the same time.
We also wanted to check out at 12 instead of 10 as our flight was delayed and were charged $50 for 2hours. Un-impressed.

But the BIGGEST concern was after we left.

We neatly put the rubbish to the side of the kitchen and put towels in the washing machine.
I got an EMAIL ONLY saying they charged an additional $60 for cleaning when they told us we had to remove rubbish, turn ON the washing machine and since we smoked inside. We NEVER got a letter outlining this, and importantly, we NEVER smoked inside.

I emailed back to ask for a reversal and they never replied.

I am having to go through VISA to get the transaction denied. I can't believe they have not spoken to me about this.

HORRIBLE customer service. They just want money and then when you complain, they don't want to talk to you.

NEVER EVER STAY HERE. Be warned! Try Nirvana apartments down the road. Far more modern.

Room Tip: DON'T have warm in one room and cold in another coz it breaks the aircon. They won't tell you this.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Laz V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaccol666, Manager at Kirra Surf Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2012

Thank you Laz for taking the time to write us up on Trip Advisor!
We appreciate all comments both good and bad as it does help us to improve the service and care we provide to our guests.
However, we also have the right of reply.
Firstly, on arrival, you took some to read and sign the conditions of occupancy. I personally placed a departure letter outside your door on the night prior to departure as is our policy in every case. Both these documents state quite clearly that there is an extra charge for extra cleaning - something we seldom charge as it is not usually required. The departure letter also asks that you depose of any rubbish via the rubbish chute outside the apartment and to please place dirty dishes in the dishwasher and turn it on. We also provide an extra dishwasher satchet to assist with this. These last 2 requests are fair and reasonable and 99 percent of our guests do this anyway.
When our housekeepers entered the apartment after your departure, none of these things had been done. They desposed of more than 20 bags of rubbish and more than 60 bottles. Ashtrays were left full in all rooms. There was food in one of beds! The time taken to resinstate the apartment you stayed in was in excess of 4 hours.
Although we are perfectly within our rights to charge the extra cleaning, we have not done so and will not pursue you in this matter.
If you read the other reviews on Trip Advisor, you wil see balanced comments of both our quality and the high level of service we provide.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Stayed here with a group of 12 and we were all amazed at the luxury and location. Catered for all needs including familys. If you want a central location out of the gold coast rat race and like the finer things this place will suit. Sunrises were excellant and you can leave the car in the garage.

Room Tip: Get a room with a beach view
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iand161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

I stayed in the Kirra Surf Apartments for 2 nights. Reception was great, and the pools were beautiful. The apartments were in perfect condition and it was a quiet stay. Perfect location with proximity to the airport, beach, and restaurants. Would definitely go back when going to the GC.

Room Tip: Ocean view of course!
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jendres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We had a 3 night stay in a 2 bedroom appartment at Kirra Surf Apartments in April 2012 & would highly recommend anyone considering staying to do so. We have 2 young Children (4&3) who absolutely loved the pool. We were on level 6, great views, perfectly decorated appartment with everything we needed. Staff were very welcoming, seriously couldn't fault the place.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews