We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday stay”
Review of Ocean Plaza Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Plaza Resort
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Coolangatta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Nice position. Rooms were neat. Apartments average. Directly across the road from Coolangatta Beach. Central to shops, so no need to get in your car. We were shocked to find out on arrival we had to pay a $200 deposit. We were actually appalled at this. Ended up being a fair stay but I've been to better and not had to cough up as much dough on arrival! Most expensive deposit we've ever had to pay considering how mediocre the accomodation is. Even Jupiters Casino which is 5 star accomodation only request $100.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Faye022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (256)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 256 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

Staying 5 nights over Xmas. Very costly but was hoping the price would reflect the standard of accommodation. Unfortunately not!
The public
Areas are dated and in need of a complete modernization. The hallways are all covered in orange carpet. Our room was on the 13th floor and in clear need of refurbishing. The apartment bedrooms had green carpets - very tatty and unhygienic. The furniture was extremely dated and too large for the room. The bedcovers were dark and in inviting. My children described it as being like an old people's home. The balcony was too small to fit 4 of us around the table & the balcony furniture was dated. There is no wifi which you would expect in accommodation in this price bracket, no cleaning is included and we have 1 towel each to last 5 days. The photos on the website do not resemble our apartment in any way and is totally misleading. If some apartments have been refurbished and others not - then there should be 2 different price brackets. These are all individually owned apartment & it all depends on the owners taste.
The only positive comments are that the view is good and the location is ideal. Having said that there are many other properties all sharing the same view and location.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank oakley4sa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Arrived for a four day break with my best girlfriend nd found our two bedroom apartment was massive. Both had our own bathroom and the view from our 12th floor balcony was to die for. The apartment was tastefully decorated with all we could need. Easy access from the apartments to restuarants, beach and shopping plaza. The staff were lovely and when we asked for a late check out we were offered the whole day for a minimal extra charge which was great since we had an evening flight. Fantastic value for money. Will definately stay again!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peach14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

The Mint Apartments are huge! Although we only booked a 1 bedroom apartment it was enormous! There was a lounge/dining, separate kitchen, bathroom/laundry, long hallway with storage cupboards, balcony and bedroom with walk in robe. The price was really reasonable for all of this space.

Room Tip: Go all out and get an ocean view. The ocean is just across the road and it is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelfreakAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Perfect spot,
Great prices if you shop around
Prime spot , right above shopping centre
Right above pub.
Older style units but location location
Views Views
Stay there once and you won't stay anywhere else done there at that price

Room Tip: Room with a view I like uo high
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mickykev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

My wife booked this on Wotif.
Great position right above Colangatta Hotel, v close to beautiful beach. Handy to lots of places to eat and drink.
Room ws on side of building. 1 bed appt. Neat tidy. Fresh paint.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marki59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed in a 2 bedroom on the 16th floor. The views were amazing and the apartment was over looking Greenmount and had uninterrupted views of the water and beach. Watched hundreds of whales making their way back down the coast line from the balcony. The room was a little dated but very clean and spacious. Reception was helpful and pleasant at all times and came and looked at a TV for me without issue. The location is fantastic being so close to shops, restaurants and the patrolled beach. The fish and chip shop on Marine Pde over the road from the Coolangatta Surf Club is real good value for money.

Room Tip: Choose a higher level to get views over the pine trees in the park over the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nessie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coolangatta hotels
0.0 mi away
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
#5 of 12 in Coolangatta
1,143 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nirvana By The Sea
Nirvana By The Sea
#3 of 12 in Coolangatta
417 reviews
0.4 mi away
Greenmount Beach Resort
Greenmount Beach Resort
#10 of 12 in Coolangatta
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Beach House Seaside Resort - Classic Holidays
0.2 mi away
Mantra Twin Towns
Mantra Twin Towns
#2 of 12 in Coolangatta
4,261 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort
Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort
#6 of 12 in Coolangatta
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Plaza Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Plaza Resort

Address: Showcase on the Beach Shopping 80 Marine Pde, Coolangatta, Gold Coast, Queensland 4225, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Coolangatta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Coolangatta
#3 Spa Hotel in Coolangatta
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Coolangatta
#5 Luxury Hotel in Coolangatta
Price Range: $125 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ocean Plaza Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located on the beach in the heart of Coolangatta with every apartment boasting ocean views. The facilities include heated pool and spa, gym, two full size tennis courts, games room, BBQ area that over looks the ocean and is attached to the Showcase Mall. We offer spacious self contained apartments with FREE WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean Plaza Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Plaza Hotel Coolangatta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing