We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love the train rides”

Bundaberg Botanic Gardens
Ranked #6 of 44 things to do in Bundaberg
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Clermont, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“love the train rides”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

The steam train that gives rides is great fun for the kids. The park is huge and best to drive around first to check it out. There are display homes, a museum and a cafe too.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank agran143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    118
    32
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level Contributor
102 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“More than Gardens - Plenty to see and do”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Botanic Gardens is a misnomer. It's more than that.

This place is three things in one. Yes it's has Botanic Gardens. It's also home to the Hinkler Aviation Museum (Bert Hinkler, a famous Australian aviator was born in Bundaberg) and Cafe 1928.

Many locals travel out to the gardens just to have a meal at Cafe 1928. I loved it. Service is functional and typically laid-back Australian style. Food and coffee were great.

We didn't visit the Museum so can't comment. Many have and provide reviews on this site.

While in Bundaberg visit the "Barrel" 24 local sodas for $28 is good value. Try the Sarsparilla (Root Beer) and Ginger Beer... Awww! Go on try them all :-)

Loved it!

There's no fee for the Gardens. There is a fee for the Museum and it's standard pay as you go for the Cafe ($11 for a large Burger and Chips)

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dream-It-Do-It-Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
125 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Genteel and great for bird watchers”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

A lovely stroll through walkways and trees. The boardwalks through the pond area are good and there is plenty of birdlife. I am not a birdwatcher, but the visual image of a single white bird with a very long neck standing on an isolated rock in the centre of the water with a mirror image reflected in the water was a good one.
There is also a Chinese Garden and a wedding party were having photographs taken in front of the pagoda when I was there. And the elegant old home at the bottom of the gardens which is now a museum, though closed when I was there, is lovely to wander around. Boys were playing an informal game of cricket on the back lawn. All in all, some visually nice images.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bemusedtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“We ALWAYS bring visitors here.”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

These gardens are a great place to bring visitors. We always bring our guests here, and I make them all go on the cane train ride. There is loads to do in the gardens. Several museums, a cafe and a huge pond with ducks, turtles and water dragons to feed. You can buy a bag of duck food from the cafe for 50c, and last time I was there the ducks were eating it out of my hand, which was really fun.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Elilyssar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg, Queensland, Australia
1 review
“Birds at Botanic Gardens”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

WE had visitor and decided to see the gardens. Took a picnic lunch and sat near the lake. Waders everywhere so we walked round the lake afterwards and enjoyed watching them all. Wonderful.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bundaberg Botanic Gardens also viewed

Bundaberg, Queensland
 
Bundaberg, Queensland
 

Been to Bundaberg Botanic Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing