We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic food, good price, great location”
Review of Grunske's

Grunske's
Ranked #3 of 154 Restaurants in Bundaberg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $24
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Grunske's By The River is casual relaxed dining café style restaurant with fantastic views of the Burnett River. Our large undercover deck, covered outdoor eating area and downstairs covered river terrace with child friendly fencing provides a variety of seating choices for our customers. Grunske's has extensive off road parking that welcomes caravaners etc. Our extensive menu show cases fresh local seafood products and includes a variety of non seafood dishes - all of which are available dine in or takeaway. While your here duck into our seafood market (located in the same building) specialising in quality local seafood, meat and small goods and take home an esky full of Bundaberg's delights. We even have bait and ice and can pack your seafood for travel. Grunske's is open most days but please confirm trading hours for public holidays.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Basic food, good price, great location”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I always enjoy a visit to Grunkies, mainly because of the location and relaxed atmosphere. It has more of a takeaway feel than a restaurant....the food is basic but good, and good value for money. The staff are always friendly.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnaCatharina2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    146
    42
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bundaberg, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Pricey”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Great food but you pay for it, cheapest fish and chips $30.00, want a night out you would need over $100 for a couple

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PatrickD14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Norfolk, Australia
1 review
“Awesome restaurant, great food and location”
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Grunske's By The River has the freshest seafood, friendliest staff and great atmosphere.

Highly recommend for a meal any time of the day.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Average Food But A Beautiful Outlook”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

The dine-in side of Grunske's has a very nice outlook from the deck with views over the Bundaberg River which offers a beautiful cool breeze and I agree their prices are good but the downside is that the food is pretty average.

The Take-away side is ridiculously overpriced! I bought two pieces of crumbed, wild caught Barramundi (which were cooked to death by the way). The portion sizes were not the same as the ones on display, they were so small that if you joined the two pieces together, they would have made a small piece of fish... not impressed considering I was charged $18 just for the fish!

Would I go again? Yes I would go there to eat in (with full expectations of an average meal) or for drinks on the deck because it offers such a pleasant outlook however I would never order takeaway from there again.

My score for Grunske's is 2.5/5 ...

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roses20122013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boronia, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Food not very good . Eating area very noisy . Take away green banana prawns good value at $12 a kilo .We bought some and cooked them in garlic and butter ,yum! We had some fish cakes which were not very nice .

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grunske's also viewed

Bundaberg, Queensland
Bundaberg, Queensland
 
Bundaberg, Queensland
Bundaberg, Queensland
 

Been to Grunske's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing