We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Museum all by its self”

Hinkler Hall of Aviation
Ranked #2 of 42 things to do in Bundaberg
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Tamborine Mountain, Australia
Level Contributor
602 reviews
278 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“A Museum all by its self”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

This is a fantastic aviation museum to visit, it is dedicated to aviation and has lots of content. It is on the North Side of Bundaberg in beautiful surroundings.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gaile1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    79
    7
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Australind, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Well Organised and Well Presented Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

My husband was keen to visit this place being a pilot himself. Beautiful display of planes. I love the way they presented the history Bert Hinkler's life, very creative. It's also quite fascinating that we got to do a couple of hands on and felt what it was like. I love the garden in front of Hinkler's House of Museum, it's well manicured. It was a great experience to learn the life of Hinkler in aviation. He was a man filled with determination.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieRulesCebu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A good aviation museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

We took our 12 year old granddaughter who found it quite interesting, while we grandparents were keen to learn about Bert Hinkler's role in early Australian aviation. Loved the planes on display, disappointed by the poor quality photos taken by the "Box Brownie" (was there supposed to be a flash?), impressed by the movie about Hinkler.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gympie, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We loved the interactive displays and short movies about Bert's life and achievements. The displays of his aircraft and the old photos were excellent and they even had a computer made up to look like an old box brownie camera that you could take a photo of yourself sitting in one of his planes and then email it to yourself. How cool!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great for history buffs and kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

We took our two little kids and in-laws to the Hinker Hall of Aviation just before Xmas.

It really is an amazing museum where you can not only read Bert Hinkle'rs letters to his sister, mother and father, learn about his flights and see originals and replicas of his aircraft BUT you can also sit in a replica of one of his planes, take a photo with the onsite equipment and have it emailed to you free of charge. The kids loved this.

I thought I knew a lot about Bundaberg's most famous son until I visited.

His house transported from England is next door and also well worth a visit. I hadn't seen inside it for 20 years.

The grounds are beautiful with an onsite coffee shop and working Steam train which you can ride on, on Sundays and school holidays.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mickpeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hinkler Hall of Aviation also viewed

Bundaberg, Queensland
 
Bundaberg, Queensland
 

Been to Hinkler Hall of Aviation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing