We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”
Review of Takalvan Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Takalvan Motel
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Bundaberg
Reviewed February 29, 2012

We recently spent two nights at the Alexandra Inn which we were very happy with. Room was alright for the price we paid, it was clean, the air-conditioning worked well, it had a huge tv and bed was comfortable. Unfortunately, cable tv was non-existent despite being advertised.

We also dined in the restaurant which was nice. Great steaks although a little expensive. We were also quite surprised when we were turned down when we asked for 'bundaberg rum' in our drinks. Apparently they had run out a few nights earlier. Obviously very difficult to get Bundaberg rum in Bundaberg! Not only had they run out of rum a few nights previously, a few items on the menu were unavailable and they failed to tell us until the moment when we tried to order our meals.

All in all, motel was value for money and I would stay there again. Unfortunately, I would definately go elsewhere for dinner.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peta H, Manager at Takalvan Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2012

Dear Kate785

On behalf of all staff at Alexandra's we would like to thank you for your review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed our new TV's and Beds.

We have looked into the issues you have raised and have taken your comments into consideration and I am very sorry for any inconvenience you incurred in our restaurant.

Should you ever be in Bundaberg again we would love to have you stay with us again.

Regards
Peta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
There are newer reviews for Takalvan Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 120 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2012

On arrival the staff were very helpful and happy to help with our requests for the children. Our room was serviced daily and the meals were devine both breakfast and dinner.

We plan to visit Bundaberg yearly and would stay again if accomodation is available and will be certainly recommending this Motel to family and friends. We enjoyed the comfort of the rooms and the environment.

Thank you to all the staff for making our stay pleasurable and enjoyable.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Booked this on Wotif for a very good price, however was still a bit disappointed with what we got. If staying in Bundaberg again I would look elsewhere.

Pros: Bed was so comfortable with clean and crisp bed linen. Room was very dark and very quite, never heard any other guests. I am pregnant and have trouble sleeping and therefore really appreciated the great night's sleep I got here. Room was a good size, as was the milk for the tea and coffee!

Cons: Check in was basically the lady handed me the key and took my credit card details. No conversation, no helpful hints or explanation of the facilities. When we got to the room there were no towels. When I rang they were brought straight up (issue affected everyone as the linen company was late) but I didn't check them straightaway so did not discover until my late night shower that we had only been given 2 towels, no floor mat, face washer, hand towel. Air conditioner worked well but was noisy. Our undercover park in front of our room was taken by someone else when we got back from the turtles so we had to park up the end in the rain. In the morning a staff member opened our door and started to come in - just said "sorry wrong room" when she saw my husband in bed. Ever heard of knocking? Someone else's hair was in the shower, as well as some dirty marks. 2 people who were hardly ever in the room managed to use up all the toilet paper. Was one of those huge rolls that should have been re-filled before we got there. Need to drive if want to explore CBD, although there are some restaurants in walking distance. Hotel restaurant seemed to only be open Mon-Thurs.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Naomilovestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
proftraveller22, Manager at Takalvan Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2012

Dear Naomilovestravel,

I would like to thank you very much for your candid review. We are also very pleased with our new beds and would like to thank you for your positive comments.

I am so sorry to hear about the other issues you encountered and would like to extend apologies on behalf of all staff at Alexandras. Your comments have been very helpful and we have attended to many of the points you have mentioned already.

Should you be travelling through Bundaberg again, we would love to have you and will strive to ensure that are very pleased with all aspects of your stay.

Kind regards,

Karen
(Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Clean and nice room with all facilities including wifi, swim pool etc.
Good value for money.
Regrettably they forgat to service our room after the first day and we had to go begging for clean towels at the restaurant that night which was a bit strange.
Pay on departure was a little problem as the office was still closed at 8 am.

Room Tip: If you don't like stairs, check if your room is upstairs or at ground level.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billy044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

We stayed here for one night on 3rd September in a family room, which was big and comfortable, I love all the little touches like the shampoo, conditioner, shaving cream etc.. carparking is undercover, there is free WIFI which is great I am with vodafone and it worked great. The receptionist was lovely and helpful, letting us have late checkout on Sunday which we very much appreciated. I would def stay here again if I was passing through Bundaberg again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank l p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

We recently stayed at the reef gateway for a sporting event. The staff couldnt have been more friendly and helpful.

There was plenty of undercover parking space and the meals at the restaurant were really nice. There was more than enough room for the whole family and the room was clean and well presented.

Being so close to town was beneficial, as well as the fact that you could walk to the local sporting field.

Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kirrily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

We were disappointed with our 2 nights accommodation. We wanted a standard room but none were available, so we were booked into an apartment with spa. As it was a Best Western facility, and the Best Western book described the spa rooms as luxurious we felt it would be really good. Luxurious it was not. There were several problems. The light over the dining table was out of order, not just a globe problem, so that part of the room was in darkness after nightfall. There were intermittant loud bangs evenings and mornings which were possibly due to water pipes banging when someone else turned taps on. The TV remote would not turn the TV off or change channels. The bathroom was very dated, with a very old toilet cistern, a scratched and marked sink in the plastic vanity and very old taps. The overflow waste outlet is just in front of the toilet, raised well above the level of the tiles and is a trip hazard. I stubbed my toes several times. The spa bath was too high and as I have knee and back problems could not use the shower which was over the spa bath. It needs a makeover. For a kitchen with a microwave, fridge, full cooker, there was a lack of crockery. There were saucepans, the usual glasses, cups and saucers, 2 dinner plates and 2 tea plates, and no cereal bowls. In the cutlery draw there were some utensils but only 2 dining forks, 2 spoons and 1 knife. Apart from the lack of these items it was a nice little kitchen with plenty of empty cupboards.The bed mattress needed to be turned or replaced as we rolled into the middle. But once asleep we slept well. Free internet was advertised but the signal was too weak to allow it to be used. On the plus side the apartment was spacious, clean, with good linen & plenty of towels. There are large wardrobes in the bedroom. The lounge had a comfortable settee, and a nice large TV. Maybe these problems are due to previous owners. New owners have just taken over and were surprised when I handed them my list of problems they may wish to rectify. The young office staff were very nice about it and apologised. They were also having their own administrative problems. This motel is well out of town and a long way from shops. I feel $165 a night was far too excessive and not good value.

Room Tip: Inspect first.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryannSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bundaberg hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Bundaberg City Motor Inn
0.5 mi away
Acacia Motor Inn
Acacia Motor Inn
#9 of 17 in Bundaberg
59 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bundaberg Spanish Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Charm City Motel
Charm City Motel
#2 of 17 in Bundaberg
100 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sugar Country Motor Inn
Sugar Country Motor Inn
#3 of 17 in Bundaberg
58 reviews
1.3 mi away
Burnett Riverside Motel
Burnett Riverside Motel
#8 of 17 in Bundaberg
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Takalvan Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Takalvan Motel

Address: 11 Takalvan St, Bundaberg, Queensland 4670, Australia (Formerly Alexandras on Takalvan)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Bundaberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Bundaberg
Price Range: $98 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Takalvan Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Takalvan Motel is under new management and we have just completed a full refurbishment. We offer affordable accommodation and friendly service. We are conveniently located just outside of the CBD, on the main street. The property is 300 metres walk to the Bundaberg Base and Mater Hospitals and local sporting grounds. It is the ideal place for business and leisure travellers or families and groups. The property has a range of accommodation including Standard Rooms, Spa Rooms and Family Rooms. The property offers an onsite restaurant, room service, FREE WI-FI in all rooms and a range of Foxtel channels. There is ample undercover car parking and additional parking for large vehicles and trailers. Please note, the restaurant is currently open for dinner Monday to Thursday with room service also available on these days. Room service breakfast is available 7 days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Takalvan Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bundaberg
Bundaberg Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing