We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a boutique hotel and disappointing”
Review of Alexandra Lodge

Alexandra Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alexandra Lodge
Reviewed February 21, 2012

The pictures and website look good enough, and it was serviceable, but highly disappointing. No reception, difficulties contacting anyone about how we check in were the start. I wouldn't advertise that a continental breakfast was available with only a container of muesli for a cereal selection and having to clean up yourself. Not what I want on a holiday.

Also extent to which the facilities are shared were not advertised on the website - Austar/kitchen facilities/breakfasts. No response in requests for more adequate toiletries. Our king bed were two beds pushed together - something I'd expect at a backpackers. Agree on the stained carpets

Would have been happier if this had been advertised and priced as it actually is. Don't let the photos fool you.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 255100Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 50 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed here for just one night and it served its purpose but I would not want to stay any longer. The room we had was basic and clean enough although the carpets are very stained and the smell of air freshner is not a pleasant one to have floating around all night. It always makes me wonder what terrible smells it is attempting to mask out. I much prefer fresh air.

The facilities are really good with a great clean kitchen in the house, laundry facilities, and lounge area. I couldn't work out the controls to watch the TV in the main lounge though and would have preferred to sit out there for a little rather than being stuck in my room (they are quite small).
I was a little worried about the main door not being locked. My key didn't work that area of the house, only our room.
The outdoor area was really nice although the BBQ really needs replacing.
I worried the speed bumps had ripped out the underside of my car even though I crept over them as slowly as I could.
An ok stay but I wouldn't stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandyqld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peta H, Manager at Alexandra Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2012

Dear Sandy qld,

Thank you for your review. We are very pleased you enjoyed our kitchen and outdoor area.

I can assure you that any issues you have raised have been rectified and we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience.

Regards
Peta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

There is no way this is 4.5 stars! If you can get into your room you will find you have to share it with the ants and fleas... the Continental Breakfast is a get your own with eggs, milk, tea, coffee, cereral and bread, if they come in to top it up. I was there for 10 days and the sheets were NEVER changed. And the picnic area out the back with the bbq is fine if you dont get stung by the wasps living in the area! not too impressed

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gtphase4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peta H, Manager at Alexandra Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2012

We thank all guests for their feed back. It is very clearly stated on our website that we are rated 3.5 stars so I am unsure of the confusion here. As you can understand with the rain that Queensland has been experiencing you can get ants with rainy periods. We are more than happy to deal with any issue our guests have whilst staying with us if we are made aware.
Our guests have been enjoying the supplied breakfast items free of charge which are replenished daily sense we opened and I apologize if something ran out.
Regards Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2011

I spent a couple of nights at this place in a double bedroom. It is very clean, common facilities are also good and breakfast is free. The bedroom relatively is spacious and comfortable. Location is also fine, not too far from the railstation.

Comparing the price and facilities offered with other places in Bundaberg, Alexandra Lodge is good value.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mipontal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2011

My husband and I stayed in the low tourist season and paid for a single room (only $80 in Feb '11), but had the place to ourselves! Breakky included was eggs, toast,cereal and milk etc. The place was nothing fancy to look at but very clean and had a nice eating area (communal) and tv. Had a free washing machine and dryer with powder which was a bonus for us as we are used to paying for all of these in camp ground cabins. Use wotif.com for a good deal.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigoztrip1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank serena m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fhhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bundaberg hotels
0.2 mi away
Alexandra Park Motor Inn
Alexandra Park Motor Inn
#11 of 17 in Bundaberg
137 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bundaberg Spanish Motor Inn
0.2 mi away
Oscar Motel Bundaberg
Oscar Motel Bundaberg
#16 of 17 in Bundaberg
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riviera Motel Bundaberg
Riviera Motel Bundaberg
#10 of 17 in Bundaberg
80 reviews
0.8 mi away
Burnett Riverside Motel
Burnett Riverside Motel
#7 of 17 in Bundaberg
142 reviews
0.6 mi away
Charm City Motel
Charm City Motel
#3 of 17 in Bundaberg
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Lodge

Address: 77 Woondooma St, Bundaberg, Queensland 4670, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Bundaberg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Bundaberg
Price Range: $1 - $2 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexandra Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alexandra Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing