We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The reception was great but motel dated, tiny rooms, very noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Boat Harbour Motel
Ranked #3 of 11 Wollongong B&B and Inns
Griffith, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The reception was great but motel dated, tiny rooms, very noisy”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I found the lady at reception very obliging & had a lovely nature. That is where it ends. The room was so very tiny with a double bed, single bed, table with two chairs and it was like an obstical course to try to get to the balcony or bathroom. I was book in for two weeks time but have cancelled. I had 7 hour trip next day but was unable to sleep due to party in restaurant that progressed out into the courtyard. This went on until around midnight. Problem was it was not even reasonably priced.......

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susiewrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    53
    35
    10
    14
See reviews for
28
52
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Caloundra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We booked a double room with ocean view for 3 nights. The price we paid was not cheap. The room was large and the view was great. The TV was small and there was no microwave. It was close to everything and clean. Negatives were it was noisy on both nights with functions in the restaurant, and finding a vacant park at night could be difficult due to guests at restaurant taking all the parking. Overall, we were comfortable with our choice both felt we paid too much.

Room Tip: Ocean view was definitely worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nelle173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I stayed for just one night, and found it slightly disappointing. Although the staff were polite,and the room was clean, the decor was very old fashioned, with a stone-aged air conditioning unit. The shower room was tiny, very basic, and in need of a revamp. I felt that $120 for a single was a pretty steep for what was offered. Great location though.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KateR496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed for a few days with family - Great get together as well as a special occasion with the wedding of one of the family. Staff were great - Meals were good and the location is excellent. I know all of the family that stayed there also had a great experience with the friendly and professional staff.

Room Tip: Had a lovely balcony room over looking the harbour and the beaches - Just the best - Considering the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kew, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Lovely welcome. Old fashioned motel. Three floors - lift. Rooms accessed from balcony surrounding indoor courtyard. Fabulous view from room overlooking harbour. Old fixtures and fittings, but what does that matter. Microwave provided - with cutlery and plates. If you don't expect or need top of the range, this is a lovely place to stay. Breakfast in the restaurant is first class. We will definitely stay again next time in Wollongong.

Room Tip: Front rooms have great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank novatotiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed February 16, 2013

I came down here with my family and a couple of other families for the weekend. The reception lady was very rude. The adults went outside in the night time to have a drink and talk only to be sent away by the people who worked there. On the second night, the workers took away the tables and chairs so no one could sit in the outside area. The room was very old. The air conditioner was very old and greasy. It only worked on the fan setting which made it very loud and hard to get to sleep at night. The beds were very firm and not nice to sleep in, not to mention the bed sheets were extremely stiff and thin. The room did not have a microwave and the cutlery did not look like it was cleaned properly. The bathroom was extremely small with no space to put basic needs, the paint on the wall was chipping off and there was no fan which made the bathroom very steamy and the mirror fogged up if not aired properly, after a shower I couldn't use the mirror for 30 minutes after. The whole room smelled like cleaning products which made my things in the cupboard smell, I had to soak my clothes after I got home to get the smell out. Our whole group agreed that this is the worst experience we have ever had at any hotel we have been to and will never go there again. We would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Other than that, the location was quite good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wollongong hotels

Rugby, England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stayed in the Boat Harbour Motel for several months in 1987-88 when I was working in Wollongong, and returning to Oz for the first time in a quarter-century, I wanted to see if the Boat Harbour was as good as I remembered it. I wasn't disappointed! The Boat Harbour has a fantastic location, just across the road from the eponymous harbour. The rooms are well-appointed and comfortable; the restaurant good for breakfast or an evening meal out. The staff on reception are friendly and very helpful - one receptionist put a lot of effort into correcting a mistake I made when making an international phone call, which potentially saved me a fortune. The rooms aren't cheap but maybe that's just the exchange rate! (Aussie dollar to UK pound)

It was a real pleasure to come back to the Boat Harbour.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frostma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wollongong hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Wollongong Northbeach
0.3 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Wollongong
0.6 mi away
Sage Hotel Wollongong
Sage Hotel Wollongong
#5 of 15 in Wollongong
1,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western City Sands
Best Western City Sands
#3 of 15 in Wollongong
240 reviews
2.2 mi away
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
#4 of 15 in Wollongong
269 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wollongong Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boat Harbour Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boat Harbour Motel

Property: The Boat Harbour Motel
Address: Corner Campbell and Wilson Street, Wollongong, New South Wales NSW 2500, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Wollongong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Wollongong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Boat Harbour Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Boat Harbour Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing