We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large Room, Comfy Bed, Good Amenities, Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Adina Apartment Hotel Wollongong
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Wollongong
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Large Room, Comfy Bed, Good Amenities, Great Location”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Lovely apartment on the sixth floor with large balcony.
Air conditioning was precise and responsive.
Bathroom clean, shower was good, although a tad more water pressure would have been good.
No restaurant on site is a little inconvenient, but it is an apartment complex, not a hotel to be fair. They do a "breakfast to go" which is a continental breakfast in the mini bar, but at $12, probably cheaper to go elsewhere.
Not very happy that when I pre-paid on wotif.com for 1 night they took $100 off my credit card and it took 7 business days to appear again. Why can't hotels just take the credit card number and THEN charge it if someone runs away with something? When there's no restaurant on-site, $100 deposit for one night is too excessive.
Parking $10 per night 4 levels down from the hotel.
Room was very clean, bed was comfortable, and a decent selection of FTA and Foxtel channels on the TV.
Happy to stay here again, but please do something about the ridiculous deposit you take on check in for a pre-paid 1 night booking - very inconvenient.
Other than that, no problems at all.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room - can get some street noise from party-goers, particularly on a Fri, Sat or Sund...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lachlan72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,097 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    531
    406
    111
    33
    16
See reviews for
278
413
54
229
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singleton, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We booked into the Medina Wollongong for the weekend 7 -9 September 2012.
When we were booking in one of the guests was complaining about no parking in the hotel basement.
As it turns out a lot of the apartment have been leased and only 2 levels of parking remain for hotel guests.
As our stay was a Friday and Saturday night there was no parking left when we returned to the hotel aftre being out for dinner and we had to park a block awat from the hotel and walk back to the hotel. I then had to go and retreive the car to park outside the hotel to save carting out luggage a block on checkout. Would not stay at the accommodation again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank owalsot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Wollongong was to be our 1st stop in our 2 weeks tour from Sydney to the Grampians. It was a good choice and we arrived at the hotel in 2 hours from Sydney airport which gave us a lot of time to explore the area (Sea Cliff Bridge was beautiful!).

Our one-bedroom apartment had everything that we needed - good sized kitchen, toilet with tub, washer, dryer...A huge supermarket (Woolsworth) was just round the corner and there is a good range of food within walking distance of the hotel.

On top of that, it was clean and felt new. We liked the place!

Only drawback was: Parking is not free and there is a daily charge for vehicles parked within the compound.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sgpoonch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We were on the sixth floor in a one bedroom apartment. It is a very comfortable fully self contained apartment with a large balconey and (our room) had a really great view.I found we slept well all week and weekend noise was kept to a minimum if balconey doors kept closed. The bathroom contains washing machine and dryer, the bath is a good size to soak in and the bath towels are very soft and thick. The location is very central, restaurants were on our doorstep. The weather was really nice to us so we had morning papers with coffee out on the balconey.

Room Tip: do ask for the room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debstar740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren C, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Wollongong, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Hi debstar740,

Thank you for taking the time to review Medina Executive Wollongong. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back next time you visit Wollongong.

Kind regards,
Warren Cullum
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We arrived very early, around 9am, so were far too early for check in. Its a good job we did - our booking wasn't on the computer! They told me not to panic, even though they were fully booked, and they'd sort something out! A couple of hours later, after ringing a couple of times to see if they'd resolved the matter, we were advised that we had a room, had been moved to a higher floor and that we could use the facilities while we waited - this was 1.45pm!
When we got to our room, we were very happy with the room we had been given, but had hoped that due to the run around, we'd have had a nicer view - anyway..... all facilities were great, plenty of tea and coffee making equipment, and a little room to be able to kick back.
We opened the bed settee up, and nearly crushed my fingers in the process. The bed was stuck. When housekeeping came to make up the bed, she managed to release the bed and make it up, but it was not only very uncomfortable, it was also not very sturdy. You couldn't sit on the end of the bed without the legs underneath caving in and the head side raising off the ground (and no I'm not heavy, just an average build normal size woman)
Also, found a glass that was chipped, and cut my lip!
Constantly had trouble with the key cards, and had to have them reset every day we were there. It was especially frustrating when trying to get out of the underground parking, using clutch control and trying to get the damn door to open using a keycard that wasn't responsive - found this more than just a little annoying! It was bad enough just trying to get up and down the lifts! I think if I had been able to find the stairs, even though we were on the 6th floor, I'd have preferred that than spending 10 minutes trying to get the card to work!
Another gripe is the tv in the bedroom. It is fitted into the smallest alcove at the end of the built in wardrobes, and even though it tilted and moved from side to side, I feel that a tv :"arm" that could be pulled out and adjusted would be a better option. If you were sitting on the left of the bed, I found I had to lean half way onto the right of the bed to be able to see it properly!
Also, the tvs for such a modern apartment really should be a little more modern I felt, missing HDMI, and also, in this day and age, a docking station of some kind wouldn't have gone amiss either!
Overall, we had a pleasantish stay at the Medina, and apart from the little niggles, it is a really nice apartment block overall. The apartments are ideally located a block away from the shopping hub, and within 2 of the ocean! Perfectly placed for the WIN entertainment centre which was our main reason for being there!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lellijay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren C, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Wollongong, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Hi lellijay,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are glad that you were happy with your room. However, I was sorry to read that of the issues you experienced during your stay with us. We have taken your feedback very seriously and have investigated all points you raised. If you would like to discuss your stay any further, please do not hesitate to contact me at the hotel.
We hope to have you back at Medina Executive Wollongong soon and display the true spirit of Medina Hotels.

Kind regards,

Warren Cullum
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
380 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

Stayed one night here whilst visiting family and traveling the south coast. Found a really good price for this accommodation on Internet. Found the 1 bedroom unit we had very comfortable and spacious. King size bed very comfy with TV in bedroom as well as lounge, kitchen facilities very good and bonus of full laundry facilities. Parking reasonable at $10 per night. Having stayed in many places in Wollongong over the years and never stayed here because we thought it would be noisy with the location. Surprisingly not as noisy as anticipated being on one of the main thoroughfares of Wollongong. Able to get a good nights sleep with black out curtaining. Located within walking distance of restaurants, supermarkets, city centre and beach/ harbour. Also had a small furnished balcony. Internet available as extra cost. The hair dryer is the only downside as small and not very powerful. A minor issue.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GingerRose63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren C, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Wollongong, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Hi GingerRose63,

Thank you for taking the time review Medina Executive Brisbane. We are glad you found our apartments to be spacious and comfortable. We hope to have you stay with us again next time you visit Wollongong.

Kind regards,

Warren Cullum
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

there was horrible service, we were not happy with the staff at all they were rude and grumpy.they had attitude .parking was a hassle .not coming back here again .not worth my money.the spa had too much chemicals in it ,the jets werent working .the pool water was visibly dirty with things in it like hair.overall not satisfied with service and staff .

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sherri b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren C, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Wollongong, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Hi sherri b,

I was surprised to read that you found our service to be poor, as great customer service is something we pride ourselves on. If you would like to discuss your review further, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at Medina Executive Brisbane.

Kind regards,

Warren Cullum
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wollongong hotels
0.7 mi away
Novotel Wollongong Northbeach
0.3 mi away
Sage Hotel Wollongong
Sage Hotel Wollongong
#3 of 15 in Wollongong
1,420 reviews
2.5 mi away
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
#4 of 15 in Wollongong
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western City Sands
Best Western City Sands
#5 of 15 in Wollongong
235 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quest Wollongong
Quest Wollongong
#6 of 15 in Wollongong
211 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mantra Wollongong
Mantra Wollongong
#10 of 15 in Wollongong
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Wollongong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Wollongong

Property: Adina Apartment Hotel Wollongong
Address: 19 Market St, Wollongong, New South Wales 2500, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Wollongong
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Wollongong
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Wollongong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Wollongong 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Wollongong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Executive Hotel Wollongong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing