We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as it shoukd be!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Fuji Yama Tepan Restaurant
Ranked #304 of 433 Restaurants in Wollongong
Cuisines: Barbecue, Japanese
Restaurant details
Wollongong, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Not as good as it shoukd be!”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

I've tried this place twice now. I absolutely love Teppanaki and the freshly cooked food you usually expect. My experience with this restaurant is that it is OK however the high quality produce is not used. the steak is chewy, the prawns small. The whole idea of Teppanaki, from my experience, is to have the very best produce in small portions cooked to perfection. Here, the chicken was probably the only thing that was OK. Quality cuts of meat would improve the experience. I may give it another go and re-review.Wwe will see.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank John59Gong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    5
    5
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Waste of money - experience but poor food quality”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

It may be fun to have your food cooked in front of you however you will be paying a premium for rushed service, poor food quality and small serving sizes.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phoebe383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Loved the food & experience!”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I have just returned home from Fuji Yama. I went there tonight (on a Tuesday) for date night with my man. We were placed at a table with 1 other couple around the grill They were far enough away to give us privacy yet during the cooking/show part it was nice to have other people to get involved. YES they throw some food at you but that's the point!! It's not every bit of food just bits & pieces to get you involved. The chef cooks in front of you & does some fancy moves with the knives, salt & peper shakers etc (think Cocktail but with food). The chef part is probably only half hour but that then leaves you with food to eat & time to chat. We chose the 9 course meal for $35, which included miso soup, salad, fish entree, prawns, grilled fish, rice, chicken, beef & um im misding something. It was perfect for someone like me who likes to try a little bit of everything. We walked out full!! Beers were $6-$7. So about right for a restaurant. I would HIGHLY recommend this place. Can't wait to go back!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cronulla, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Talk about rush you in and out”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Had a family dinner here for my daughter as she loves the show the chef's put on and the eggs they throw. Unfortunately they rush you so badly that each course is untouched whilst another one is served. One would expect that with the prices you charge that one could eat a course before being served another!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Postie1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Eats”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I went with family and, folks, I hate to say it... But it's teppanyaki. The chef is supposed to perform for you and throw your food to you. It's all a part of the grand experience. It's called "culture". Having lived in Japan, I know what to expect from a hibachi/teppanyaki grill, and this is close to authentic. Other customers who are complaining about this being poor service, not what they'd expected, far from the original... are ignorant, and they need to step out of their back yards and travel once in a while. This was exceptional, but not the best. For a tep restaurant in AUSTRALIA, it exceeded MY expectations. So, pffft.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheryl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fuji Yama Tepan Restaurant also viewed

Wollongong, New South Wales
Wollongong, New South Wales
 
Wollongong, New South Wales
Wollongong, New South Wales
 
Wollongong, New South Wales
Wollongong, New South Wales
 

Been to Fuji Yama Tepan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing