We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Talk about rush you in and out”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Fuji Yama Tepan Restaurant
Ranked #302 of 437 Restaurants in Wollongong
Cuisines: Barbecue, Japanese
Restaurant details
Cronulla, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Talk about rush you in and out”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Had a family dinner here for my daughter as she loves the show the chef's put on and the eggs they throw. Unfortunately they rush you so badly that each course is untouched whilst another one is served. One would expect that with the prices you charge that one could eat a course before being served another!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Postie1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    5
    5
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Eats”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I went with family and, folks, I hate to say it... But it's teppanyaki. The chef is supposed to perform for you and throw your food to you. It's all a part of the grand experience. It's called "culture". Having lived in Japan, I know what to expect from a hibachi/teppanyaki grill, and this is close to authentic. Other customers who are complaining about this being poor service, not what they'd expected, far from the original... are ignorant, and they need to step out of their back yards and travel once in a while. This was exceptional, but not the best. For a tep restaurant in AUSTRALIA, it exceeded MY expectations. So, pffft.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheryl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towradgi, New South Wales, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Will never go back”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Terrible. Overpriced bbq chuck food at you thing ($250 for 6 including 4 children) the food borders on the uneatable, with the final beef course so oversauced it brought tears to my eyes ( I think it was beef). The fish was acceptable, just, the chicken and rice was bland and the whole "experience" over in 30 minutes. When leaving walked past the downstairs part of the restaurant that looked ok, but I won't try it.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wollongong, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“I hate catching food.”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

food has too much rich sugary sauce and lots of soy sauce. I really dislike trying to catch food that is thrown at you, no need to stain my best clothes.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ManchesterCityFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Used to be great Japanese”
Reviewed February 17, 2012

I used to love this place because I felt it was great quality food well cooked and it spoke for itself.
The tepanyaki was and is great if never exprienced before.
But sadly food is overpriced and no longer represents traditional Japanese food.
It is so heavily sauced it is hard to tell what meat variety you are eating.
I am happy to pay for good quality traditional Japanese food, but this place had lost it way, I would not recommend it.
Paul Leanne

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul_Leanne_M1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fuji Yama Tepan Restaurant also viewed

Fairy Meadow, New South Wales
Wollongong, New South Wales
 
Wollongong, New South Wales
Wollongong, New South Wales
 

Been to Fuji Yama Tepan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing