We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pre- show dinner enjoyed by all!”

Harbourfront Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 433 Restaurants in Wollongong
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $205
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Established for over 30 years, we're located on the South Coast of NSW, an hour south of Sydney. Positioned on the water’s edge of Belmore Basin with beautiful views of Wollongong Harbour and our coastline, we offer a unique dining experience. We source some of Australia's most beautiful produce, bringing to your plate the best in fresh local produce. Join us, dine on the harbour for lunch or dinner, 7 days a week 365 days per year.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Pre- show dinner enjoyed by all!”
Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

Needed to have efficient service - which we did receive and were pleasantly surprised by the very tasty and well presented hot and cold seafood platter to share. Lobster morney was a tasty melt In your mouth experience and loved the king prawns. Salad dressing was zesty and the meal was a great way to start the night whilst also enjoying the evening over looking the Harbour

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Caz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    300
    188
    61
    25
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wedding Bliss”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Harbourfront restaurant & team of staff we thank you for creating a wonderful wedding experience for us. The newly renovated premises are exceptional & wedding styling was stunning. The food & service was to the highest of standards. Our guests raved about the food, decor & ambience restaurant provides. Harbourfront has the best views & the setting on the harbour, is the best in Wollongong. The wedding functions team, Danielle & Iman were wonderful to work with, paying attention to every fine detail. Harbourfront food is different to a typical function centre, as you can select from a wide range options, all dishes are very well presented with generous servings. Our guests were so impressed & said the food is delicious! I highly recommend Harbourfront as a wedding venue.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dianna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Birthday Treat that didn't disappoint!”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Over here in Australia from UK. I made the birthday reservation before leaving home and was delighted to have been allocated a window table with magnificent views of the harbour with the added bonus of a lovely sunset over the escarpment as we took our seats. The food was equal to the setting and the craic with the staff added to this memorable evening. I had Scallops with Chorizo to start followed by 'local' Snapper fillets grilled to perfection. My 3 guests all had similar comments to make about their own selections from Zucchini florets to Atlantic Salmon the verdicts were excellent food across all plates. We are now about to make The Harbourfront our New Years Eve venue of choice and will be making our reservation as soon as we can confirm our numbers!
This was a real birthday treat that did not disappoint!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheDoctor1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Star707, Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
500 reviews
263 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 959 helpful votes
“Harbour Views to die for, Great Cuisine on the side!”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Must be the best seafood restaurant in Wollongong, or even along that part of the South Coast. It was raining, we needed to have lunch before an event elsewhere. Let's head for the harbour, we thought. There has to be a seafood restaurant there. Plenty of parking and views to die for. How lucky did we get! This restaurant has enough elevation to make the most of a working fishing harbour views. The restaurant is floor to ceiling glass windows to showcase this lovely location. The interior of the restaurant is totally black and white with clean straight lines creating a classy feel. Strategically places pillars and semi partitioning allows the space to be versatile: can handle weddings, parties right down to intimate and romantic dinner for two. The staff area is separate but visible through an architecturally pleasing see-through arrangement of bars and countering. The menu is pricey but the kitchen delivers on quality on the plate. We both chose grilled Blue Cod served on a bed of caramelized sweet peppers. The fish was fresh and succulent, so delicious. We had a beer and sparkling mineral water with that.We were the second last customers for lunch. We were served last and got a bit crotchety about that because we had a deadline. The waiter, Andreas, was well versed in soothing cranky customers and provided us with a refreshing rocket and pear salad to keep us busy until our order arrived. It soon became clear that they were setting up for a wedding, so we got over cranky quickly and got on with being amazed by how delicious the fish was. Was there anything they could do to make this experience better? Yes. I walked past their front door first attempt to find the entrance. Why? Because it looked like a delivery entrance and the gunk encrusted glass doors desperately needed a good clean. And yes again because even though the loos were classy and tasteful, the floors were strewn with used paper towels and were generally in disarray. I guess they were going to clean them before the wedding reception. Would I go there again. A resounding "yes". After all, you go to restaurants for the food, not the toilets or the front door.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Star707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shellharbour
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely dinning experience”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Good selection of fish and seafood dishes, very friendly staff and a great buzz about the place.
We started with entree tasting platter which was good given us a taste of 3 entree dishes, mains we had two fish dishes both seasonal and fresh tasting. Dessert looked and tasted great.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lance M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harbourfront Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Wollongong, New South Wales
 

Been to Harbourfront Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing