We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Winter early bird special” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harbourfront Restaurant

Harbourfront Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 418 Restaurants in Wollongong
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $200
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Harbourfront Restaurant is the Illawarra's premier seafood restaurant. Boasting Wollongong’s most famous and picturesque views of Wollongong Harbour, Harbourfront Restaurant is located on the waters edge, at the beautiful Belmore Basin.Come and enjoy only the freshest local produce and seafood, with our seasonal menu featuring not only the freshest in local seafood, but also angus certified beef, lamb & poultry.Our award winning establishment aims to serve each and every guest with the highest quality service every time.Dine in an intimate and modern setting enhanced by stunning views of the ocean and mountains.We are at your service. Come in and let us spoil you.
Wollongong, Australia
2 reviews
“Winter early bird special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is the second time in the last month we hibernate been in for the early bird special. The first time we thrived. Little early to enjoy the wonderful view and have a pre dinner drink. The waiter was attentive the food was wonderful. The disappointing part was that when the bill arrived we were charged the standard rate even though we ordered from the special menu. After some discussion and being told that we our order went into the computer befor 5pm we were charged the standard price. Eventually we were given he special rate and were happy so happy we decided to take the family of 8 back for the early bird secial. After yet another good meal and wonderful location and service when we got home and double checked the bill it appears we have again been charged incorrectly. I will revisit to is discuss this issue but will have second thoughts on returning and recommending this very good restaurant. Disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    174
    61
    24
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A winter heart warmer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

It was such a miserable, cold and rainy day when we arrived to celebrate my mother's birthday. The waiter was a delight. Sorry I did not catch his name but he spoke to us in Spanish and made us laugh. We had two seafood platters cooked to perfection. It was hard to finish them but we did our very best. Even my 19 yr old son was struggling but determined. The overall atmosphere was relaxed and friendly and a fine dining experience. Looking forward for another occasion to go back. We left cheerful and satisfied despite the bleak winter weather. Thank you.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“They have 'dropped the ball'”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

This used to be my favorite restaurant. Not any more. Was always very expensive but the food and service WERE good. Still very expensive but food now poor. The presentation was abysmal. The brushetta was burnt to the point of charcoal. They replaced it but the replacement was not much better. Sourdough load came without a knife to cut it and no butter or margarine option, just olive oil and no way to serve it, until we requested it. Main were just the peace you ordered with no extras. Then you had to order and pay separately for salad, then separate order and pay for chips. At one point I thought we would have to order and pay for the plate it was on. It was so bad we didn't even look at the desert menu, we just walked out. It was very embarrassing to take a quest there. My former favorite restaurant is not my 'absolute AVOID' restaurant. Very disappointing.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael_edn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect by day and night one to try!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

well today we went to this restaurant immediately felt welcomed by staff atmosphere fantastic! food sensational had the gnocci omg fantastic homemade a must try had the 3 course winter menu for $29 very big serving beautiful presented and the taste sensational well done to harbour front for exceeding our expectations and the staff tas andre a fantastic by far the best restaurant in wollongong!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank emharro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarbourfrontRest, Owner at Harbourfront Restaurant, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Hi emharro,

Thank you for your review, we are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your visit to harbourfront restaurant. Andrea and Tas are great waiters and a valuable part of our team. It is our pleasure to have you at our restaurant and we hope to see you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Harbourfront Restaurant Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

The early bird set only cost 29 dollars per person for 2 courses. Food are tasty, view is great, service is good!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank RickiVV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarbourfrontRest, Owner at Harbourfront Restaurant, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Hi Ricki,

Thank you for your feedback, we are happy to hear your enjoyed your visit to harbourfront restaurant and our Early Bird Menu! We have actually put on a Winter Specials Menu for the cooler months, with more great meal options for great prices too! We hope to have you back at our establishment in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Harbourfront Restaurant Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harbourfront Restaurant also viewed

Wollongong, New South Wales
 

Been to Harbourfront Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing