We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Starr Buffet Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Platform 61 Bistro

Platform 61 Bistro
Ranked #61 of 420 Restaurants in Wollongong
Price range: $15 - $23
Cuisines: Australian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Lithgow
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Starr Buffet Restaurant”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

The kids love this place, they can help themselves as many times as they like. Very nice food.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Aussie333Lithgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    30
    15
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
unanderra
Level Contributor
124 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“bistro beats the buffet”
Reviewed March 4, 2012

I live in the area and have been to the buffet at least half a dozen times.while its all you can eat most of the dishes have been sitting there a while.At $21 a head you dont really get your moneys worth.I would reccommend the bistro which from around $15 is more value and served fresh.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jimiUnanderra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia On Holidays
Level Contributor
164 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“great buffet”
Reviewed February 22, 2012

lots of variety-plenty of seafood.
Good place to take the family.They have birthday cake and photo for only $8 extra.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank cmartin41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbelltown, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Hit and Miss”
Reviewed January 28, 2012

We decided to eat at the bistro rather than the buffet. We have a similar buffet in the area near where we live. I ordered sirloin with creamy garlic prawns. It was pretty good. Husband ordered a caesar salad which was pretty bad. The cos lettuce seemed to be all core, there was a few little bits of bacon and about 5 croutons and hot chicken on top. There was no egg, no tomato and basically it was a pretty poor excuse for a caesar salad. Husband likes anchovies on his caeser and they didnt have any. One of the bistro staff walked past and asked us how our meals were. Its sometimes not a good thing to ask my huband because he will actually tell you the truth. The lady got on the diffensive and basically huffed off.
There are male and female toilets located at the back of the bistro (where tables are) and there arent any doors on the outside of the toilets. So you could be sitting and eating your meal and hear a toilet flush. I am in favour of having no outside doors on toilets because of hygiene but not in a bistro so close to people trying to enjoy their meals.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jodybelinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huskisson
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great value for money”
Reviewed January 9, 2012

nice buffett dinner with great choice and range of food quality and great service

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
Thank mroutdoorsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Platform 61 Bistro also viewed

Wollongong, New South Wales
Wollongong, New South Wales
 
Wollongong, New South Wales
Wollongong, New South Wales
 

Been to Platform 61 Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing