We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best Mexican in Wollongong!”

Amigos Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #57 of 437 Restaurants in Wollongong
Price range: $16 - $32
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Wollongong, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“One of the best Mexican in Wollongong!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The food is amazing and the drinks are great too! I've never been able to finish a main by myself so what I would reckon is to have a main and an entree between two!
As for drinks, nothing beats the Sangria.

Price wise, it is on the higher side in terms of food in Wollongong, but the quality and portion size reflects this.

Also on Tuesday nights, they have cheap tacos. You can get three tacos (Chicken, Beef, Pork or one of each) for $10.

Best to make a reservation as they are usually busy.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank edwinkwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    101
    46
    27
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“an hour wait for food and not even busy”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Went here on a saturday night to be seated in probably the furthest possible table out the back. I've been here many times over the years and its very hit and miss. This time was a huge miss. The menu has changed [again! about the 6th time in the past couple of years].
The waitress came and took our drink order almost immediately, turns out pepsi comes in a bottle now, not a glass with ice. So it gets warm very quick [yuk!]. We finally ordered after sitting for 15 mins... 50 minutes later our meals finally arrived (we didnt even order an entree but wish we had as we were starving by then). Waitress completely ignored us so I went to the bar myself to get a cup of ice for my drink as it was warm and sickly after half an hour.
When it did arrive, the chicken was still pink ! Not impressed ! Couldnt even stomach looking at it. I do not recommend ever coming here and I wont be again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank herefishyfishy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
“Great service, disappointing food”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Extremely disappointed with the food. It was not worth the money I paid. The pork in the signature dish "Carnitas" was tough and cold. The Churros was as hard as a rock. Not an enjoyable dinner overall. Great customer service by the staff but that's about it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Orven A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Expensive”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Yeh! very expensive now, not value for money. Very tacky and just out to grab your money. They should concetrate on return customers and not just the alcohol infused mob that were there the night I was last there.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mayw643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One of my favourites”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Love this place, I try something different every time and its always good, we always go in groups to share lots of plates. The Carnitas is just amazing, pork cooked in Coca Cola, yummmm

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank JacksonAndMillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amigos Mexican Restaurant also viewed

Wollongong, New South Wales
Wollongong, New South Wales
 
Wollongong, New South Wales
Wollongong, New South Wales
 
Wollongong, New South Wales
Wollongong, New South Wales
 

Been to Amigos Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing